We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room for a great price.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sugar Ski & Country Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here. They have a really nice pool and hot tub area which is really nice when your sore from skiing all day or from walking around in ski boots. The rooms are spacious and clean and are very nice and at a good price. The staff was friendly as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darthvader0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Unit 213 was very clean and updated. Master bed was super nice. I was a little disappointed because I thought being on the bottom floor you would not have many stairs and could walk right off balcony out door to ski. You had to go down 2 small flights of stairs, but we were within easy walking distance to Big Red. I did not like however that we had to get into the car and drive to purchase our lift tickets and to rent gear. If you have your own gear will not be a problem, you can just board or ski to lodge, and get in a free ride.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Loriejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We recently stayed at this location and I agree with previous reviews about the room being old, dated and dirty. The bath mat in the bathroom was disgusting, dust and dirt was clearly visible on window ledges, and wall paper was peeling throughout the unit. The ski in/out is only applicable to more advanced skiers as the run is an intermediate. No real views of the ski runs, but the snow making equipment could be heard throughout the night. What really annoyed me is that the rental rate is $100 a night for the unit we stayed in (10-501) but by the time a "damage protection fee" of $45 and a "processing fee" of $49 was added on our costs were significantly more than we had planned. We never used the wood burning fireplace as you had to purchase the wood for an additional fee.

Also, be warned that this property is at the top of a very steep hill and chains or studded snow tired are required according to the flashing sign at the base of the hill. This information was not clearly communicated to us, and it appears that the folks who manage the property are accustomed to ignoring the signs as when I addressed it with one of the hotel staff the response was "oh, that's just Sugar Mountains little warning sign". Really? I'm grateful that the weather cooperated with us and our little front wheel drive Escape was able to make it up and down the mountain without an issue but it was a nerve wracking drive up and down the road leading to the property.

I won't come back to this facility. I think there are more economical options elsewhere with better amenities for families.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank sosatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarSkiCondos, Manager at Sugar Ski & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Sorry you found this Economy unit not up to your standards. Regardless of the décor and age of the furnishings, you should have found it clean. We are not a hotel but privately owned condominiums...each with different owners who have different styles. We are very upfront about our location at the top of Sugar Mountain on the intermediate ski slope, Big Red. I too am glad your Ford made it up and down without any issues. The price we charge does reflect our excellent location on the slopes with access to our indoor heated pool, sauna and hot tub. Thank you for letting us know of your concerns about this unit.

Hope Harvey
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

For ski-in and out, a great location. If you have little kids or beginners, you won't be able to take advantage of it since the run is Big Red which is an intermediate difficulty run.
Each unit is privately owned so you're experience will vary. Our unit was dated and dirty. It might be so old that it's impossible to get clean but we even had to rewash the clean dishes and cups.
We are a family of 6 so unit 621 had a queen bed in one room and 2 bunk beds (4 beds) in the other room. The upper bunk beds were not made so I had to climb up there and make the beds myself. The rooms had cathode ray TV's, cable. No wifi. There was free wifi available in the "lodge" area. They have a small ski rental office but with limited equipment. Never tried the indoor pool. Checking in and out was no hassle. Will try a place closer to base camp next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarSkiCondos, Manager at Sugar Ski & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hi,

Thank you for alerting us to the issues in the condo before you left property last week. Our Property Supervisor did address with the housekeeping staff who apparently worked a little to quickly in that unit after a long rental before you. No excuses...our apologies. Thank you for pointing out the convenience of the location for intermediate skiers.

Hope Harvey, Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have stayed many times @Sugar Ski & CC & have found it to be quite a lovely area for all seasons. We prefer unit 324 (2nd floor unit w/a least amount of steps which is good for family) with its lovely accommodations & decor. The kitchen is very well equipped with all the essentials & then some. It is a very clean, neat, home-like unit. The location is perfect for the mountain views, ski slopes & convenience to the amenities of the club house. Only a short walk to the pool, hot tub, sauna & tennis courts. The staff (office & maintenance) being on property is a great plus should an unexpected problem arise. They are so personable & helpful in every way. I highly recommend this unit (324) to all. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dianegreene625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom unit over the New Year's holiday and loved it. It is great for the kids to have their own room and a kitchen to make our own meals. The units are a bit older and the kitchen needs to be updated, but the unit was great overall and very functional. We had a great view from Building 8 and, although we didn't ski, we enjoyed watching everyone else. Only other complaint would be the constant buzz from the snow blowers. Became background noise at some point, but it can be quite loud.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jason1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My mom and I went up to stay for 2 nights recently and had a really fun experience. The day we arrived it was still snowing from the last storm so we got stuck there. Unfortunately once we got to the resort & checked in, we realized there were wasn't a restaurant on property. Fortunately, Arlene the night staff member saved us with junk food. Kind of like a time share. Kitchens, ironing boards, etc. No food. Views are apparently good but it was foggy the whole time we were there. Ski in/ski out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdamSellsAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
2.0 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
11.2 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
635 reviews
13.1 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
12.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 18 in Boone
412 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#9 of 16 in Blowing Rock
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Ski & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Ski & Country Club

Address: 100 Sugar Ski Dr, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7145
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range: £72 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Ski & Country Club offers privately owned condominiums for rent. Ranging in size from efficiency to two bedroom/two bath units, we have a clubhouse on property with an indoor, heated swimming pool, sauna,hot tub and a computer room with a desktop with internet access for use during your stay as well as a desk with wifi available for you to use your own laptop. During winter months, Ski Country Sports operates a ski and snowboard rental shop Fri-Sun and on holidays for your convenience in our lounge area. Our two bedroom units are ski in/ski out on Big Red and all units have foot path/walking access to the main run on the slopes at the Sugar Mountain Resort called Upper Flying Mile. During the summer, our elevation at 4900ft brings cool breezes. Sugar Mountain also has a series of hiking and mountain biking trails available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sugar Ski & Country Club Hotel Banner Elk
Sugar Ski And Country Club
Sugar Ski Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing