We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read the Information Carefully and Be Prepared for Noise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sugar Ski & Country Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Reviewed 31 January 2010

The condo 10-401 was clean but very small. The electric heater was loud and the room was either too hot or too cold. The snow machines at the top of the mountain are extremely loud and run all night long. The description lead us to believe we were slope side which was true, but we were at the top of the slope. That makes a difference in deciding where to stay if you don't have snow tires, 4-wheel drive, or chains, all of which we didn't have. Fortunately the road is well salted and the weather was good. The skiing from the top is too challenging for a beginner so we ended up having to drive to the bottom to ski anyway. The steps and walkways weren't very well maintained and covered with snow. We didn't use the pool facilities and really couldn't figure out how to get there without putting on all the winter gear and boots and schlepping up there to swim.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HomeSchoolMom3_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2010

We stayed in an efficency unit. It was small, but comfortable. The price was reasonable & being slope side made it convenient.

My only caveat to that is you are slopeside at the top of a blue (intermediate) ski run. So if you or someone in your party is not up to skiing at that that level, you will need to get to the bottom of the mountain to ski the green, beginner slopes. The drive down is not a short one, so the convenience will be lost.

We did not have problems with the ski rental in the lobby & it was very convenient for us. Also the folks working there were very helpful, especially when we needed to exchange ski boots for our son.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank SRO5220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

If you want really good skiing then you need to go out west. However if you are in the Southeast and don't want to get on a plane this is a good option. After reading the reviews I was very concerned I made a terrible mistake. Sugar Ski & Country Club are condo's that are owned by individuals. So every condo has a different decor. The one we stayed in was a two bedroom. It was clean, had hot water, right on the slopes, and the kitchen had all the essentials. One thing that bothered me was you could not use the washer and dryer-only in the summer. Did not quite understand that. Not a big deal since we were only staying 3 nights. They must of made some management changes. Melissa at the front desk was very accommodating and nice. Tory who was the girl who worked the Ski Shack. She was knowledgeable and the prices were the exact same as they were at the base of the mtn. The downsides are as follows: 1) Extremely loud being at the top of the mtn and listening to the snow machines all night. 2) If you are good skier it is great to leave your room and go down the mtn. However if you are not a good skier you or have small children you have to drive down to the base. You can only get lift tickets at the base of the mtn. 3) There was a lot of snow that had fallen and they did a great job keeping the roads clear. However since we did not have 4-wheel drive we had to pay $150 to have a local shop put chains on our car. In a nutshell if you are a fairly good skier and don't have kids, this is a good place because you can go right on the slopes. If you have kids and don't like noise it is better to stay at the bottom of Sugar Mtn.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marygizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

Accommodations were comfortable - very southern, eccentric decor. Good views and slope access. Resort shows its age in places.The pool and sauna area left something to be desired. Would recommend, especially for cash strapped college students

Ski rental shop in the lobby would have been convenient except that the owner is a shameless grifter. Rent at sugar mountain instead. We could tell he was peeved when we declined the daily charge for rental insurance. Sure enough, on returning the skis he assessed us $15 dollars for a 'scratch' he found. We went and checked it out - the skis had no more than the normal wear and tear from a dozen rentals - no 'damage'. We told him we would dispute the charge.

The credit card bill came and the jerk charged us $20 instead! He just makes up prices as he goes along. Avoid his shop - Sugar mountain offers better equipment and better service, plus it's right by the ski area so you don't have to haul everything around.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank donromani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarSkiCondos, Manager at Sugar Ski & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

Sugar Ski & Country Club is pleased to have partnered with Ski Country Sports for the 2010-2011 ski season. This professional outfit has been in business for 25 years and offers some of the best ski and snowboard rentals on the mountain. Also, for the first time, day lift tickets are being sold in limited numbers from our ski rental shop in the Sugar Ski Clubhouse. We are delighted the shop is fully staffed and open on the weekends to further make Sugar Ski your one stop lodging choice for skiing at the Sugar Mountain Resort.
Hope Harvey, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

I just returned from a picture perfect weekend getaway at Sugar Ski. I stayed in #434 which is right on the Red Slope at Sugar Mtn. Ski Resort. The view was fantastic as was the overall experience of staying in a condo vers hotel room. The decor of this unit was very inviting and reminded me of being in a country cottage. The appliances looked brand new and the furniture was very comfortable. My Son had the time of his life and I can't wait to get back up there!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jeff-WS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We booked with the onsite persons at staysugar.com for unit 623. We booked a king but when we arrived it was actually 2 twins pushed together. The furnishings were rough but that was OK. What was not Ok was unsanitary conditions and false advertising that it was a king. We found blood on the mattress and the beds stunk! Screen door was broke required full effort from grown man to move it. When we complained both the maintenance and housekeeping staff came up and agreed with us. We did not hear back from the rental front office so my wife called again and they were nasty with my wife. So we left and will not ever return to the area ever. The overall community of ski & country is pretty run down. There were ants and bugs crawling around the pool area. you could say that it is the community and our unit were the areas that that paint has forgotten and time has beaten up on.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JAFOinWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Loved staying here. The buildings are all individually owned so we rented ours through a local rental place. Its right at the top of the 'Big Red' slope and the ones we always stayed in you could walk out the door and on to the slope.

  • Stayed: March 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Thank AppyRIch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
2 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
11.2 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
646 reviews
13.1 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#6 of 18 in Boone
415 reviews
12.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 18 in Boone
416 reviews
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Ski & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Ski & Country Club

Address: 100 Sugar Ski Dr, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7145
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range: £69 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Ski & Country Club offers privately owned condominiums for rent. Ranging in size from efficiency to two bedroom/two bath units, we have a clubhouse on property with an indoor, heated swimming pool, sauna,hot tub and a computer room with a desktop with internet access for use during your stay as well as a desk with wifi available for you to use your own laptop. During winter months, Ski Country Sports operates a ski and snowboard rental shop Fri-Sun and on holidays for your convenience in our lounge area. Our two bedroom units are ski in/ski out on Big Red and all units have foot path/walking access to the main run on the slopes at the Sugar Mountain Resort called Upper Flying Mile. During the summer, our elevation at 4900ft brings cool breezes. Sugar Mountain also has a series of hiking and mountain biking trails available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sugar Ski & Country Club Hotel Banner Elk
Sugar Ski And Country Club
Sugar Ski Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing