We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tabitha was a delight! Bayou smokehouse and grill was awesome!”

Bayou Smokehouse & Grill
Ranked #6 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Open since 2003, The Bayou offers Authentic Cajun and Texas Cuisine served in a casual, comfortable atmosphere. Outdoor, dog-friendly deck dining in the summer, fireplace dining in the winter. Free WiFi, Children's Menu and Wine Amnesty available. Adjacent Bayou General Store offering Beer, Wine, Locally Made Items, Souvenir Mementos and more. Please see the Bayou Smokehouse & Grill, Banner Elk Facebook Page for Specials, Live Music, Events and area information.
1 review
“Tabitha was a delight! Bayou smokehouse and grill was awesome!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Tabitha gave the most amazing service ever and was very helpful with everything! The bayou food was excellent! They have so much to offer! The fried pickles are amazing! We will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilyyleeannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    140
    64
    32
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I'm from New Orleans and should know better”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Am I crazy, why do I go these restaurants that are themed after Louisiana and Texas expect to get great New Orleans food? It's silly, you're in the North Carolina mountains. We went here for lunch and I ordered red beans and rice with sausage. They were very average and the sausage was almost non existent. For North Carolina they were okay. I asked for some Tabasco and the waitress said, "some what?". They did have Crystal hot sauce so that was good. My wife got a hamburger and it was good. The service was fine and the waitress was good. If you want to get a hamburger and a beer or two, this is a good place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ken711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best family-friendly dining experience”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The menu has a great selection of cajun-style food or barbeque if you prefer... Although there is indoor seating, we chose to sit outside at a table on the lawn because we were able to bring our dog and there was a grassy area for kids to play. The ambiance of this place was so memorable and the food was fantastic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Felicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clayton indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best burger in town”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

When traveling we always like to get recomendations from the locals to see what is popular in the area. We were assured that even though the name sounded cajun, there were many other choices on the menu and the food was good. So glad we gave it a try. The weather was beautiful that evening so we chose to eat on the patio. The atmosphere was relaxed but the service was not. Our waitress made sure we had everything we needed and kept our drinks filled. We all chose to have burgers as suggestion of our hotel desk clerk. Best burger we have had in a long time. The food was so good that we returned a second time during our 4 night stay. The seafood and the country fried steak was just as tasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pettaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An utter and complete waste of time and money”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Poor service. Charred meat, canned sides small, dried out portions oh.. Did I mention the service? Practically non existent. The price for the combo plate is laughable. Again, did I mention the service? Never in my day have I ever left less than a 25 percent tip on a bill. Tonight, this server, for whom we were evidently an inconvenience, received 4 bucks on a 50 dollar check. Lesson learned. Just because a place is open late doesn't make it a viable option.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stagecenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayou Smokehouse & Grill also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Valle Crucis, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Bayou Smokehouse & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing