We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Bayou Smokehouse & Grill
Ranked #6 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Open since 2003, The Bayou offers Authentic Cajun and Texas Cuisine served in a casual, comfortable atmosphere. Outdoor, dog-friendly deck dining in the summer, fireplace dining in the winter. Free WiFi, Children's Menu and Wine Amnesty available. Adjacent Bayou General Store offering Beer, Wine, Locally Made Items, Souvenir Mementos and more. Please see the Bayou Smokehouse & Grill, Banner Elk Facebook Page for Specials, Live Music, Events and area information.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

It was good food. We had chicken, trout, brisket, sampler platter. Everyone was happy. Fried zucchini was very good. Hot apples as well and the sweet potato fries. Prices are reasonable has outdoor seating.

Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    139
    64
    32
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gatlinburg, Tennessee, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“This will be a regular stop”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Our visit was a lunch trip so we ate light. I ordered a black chili quesadilla and my husband ordered the smokehouse burger. Can I just say....YUMMY!! I really loved the addition of the black bean chili on the quesadilla. Very nice change. My husband's burger was crazy huge!

I was pleasantly surprised at the prices, my quesadilla was $7.95 and the hubby's burger was $8.95. Where I come from, this is pretty cheap.

Our server was super nice, the atmosphere was very cool, the food was excellent, service friendly, and the prices are very reasonable.

Oh yea...we'll be here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This restaurant has wonderful food! The vegetables are seasoned nicely, and the meats are as well. It's worth a stop. Staff's very friendly and knowledgable. Although we didn't eat out there, they have a nice outdoor patio.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tasckal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good afternoon trip”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

It was unfortunate that I was not very hungry when I went for dinner. I had a salad and it was huge! We watched people around eating nachos, fried okra and sausages. Everything looked great! It was a rainy afternoon and we were able to sit outside. Wait staff was very friendly. The prices were very reasonable and there is so much on the menu to consider. You will not be disappointed

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rondella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pretty good Cajun!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

It is not NOLA but it will do in a pinch. The fried pickles were delicious and so were the beans and rice. The hamburger, chicken fried steaks, and fried shrimp were big hits with our group. Good place to go with a large crowd (we had 9). Nice selections of beers and friendly service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AM25DN29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayou Smokehouse & Grill also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Bayou Smokehouse & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing