We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Stepping into a Washington Irving Tale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banner Elk Winery & Villa
Ranked #4 of 8 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
1 review
“Like Stepping into a Washington Irving Tale”
Reviewed 13 May 2008

This was our son's wedding, and the whole wedding party, including parents, got to stay at the Villa. It is a sprawling house with 8 large bedrooms, all different, each with a luxurious private bath with whirlpool tub. All rooms have huge windows with views to die for. From the memory-foam mattresses and elegant comforters to the spacious, well-equipped marble-tiled bathrooms, these rooms are tranquil retreats that evaporate any stress caused by people or events. The house has many gathering areas so you can socialize with others and drink coffee or wine. Each morning breakfast is served in the common diningroom. Cindy, the Villa gourmet chef, fills the house with the aroma of her homemade pastries, omelets, delicious breakfast meats, fresh fruits, granola, yogurt, etc. Every morning something different is served. Dede, the hostess, is on site to see that you have everything you could need. The little village of Banner Elk is quaint and wonderful. I cannot imagine a better place to stay in the mountains of North Carolina.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank mspatinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    20
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
26
141
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greesboro, NC
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Alicante Barrel Grande Fireplace Suite for our fifth wedding anniversary. The experience of the winery, the our suite and the entire villa was wonderful. We would highly recommend staying for a weekend. The villa is very quite and extremely well decorated. We plan on staying at the villa again in the future.

Dede is a wonderful hostess and a lady of her word. The breakfasts that were prepared were excellent. We also enjoyed the conversations Dede and with the other couples who were also staying there as we ate.

As I was making reservations the April/May discount that I had found online made the pricing lower than was stated on their website. As I spoke to Dede over the phone about this she said that this deal was from a couple years ago and was no longer valid.

However, she said that she would honor the pricing since it was still posted on the web. I fully expected that she wouldn't honor the pricing because there are alot of businesses that would have just said sorry our mistake. In today's world she made a very classy business decision as we had decided to stay at the current posted rates anyways.

When coming to the villa please read the directions provided on the website. My GPS took us there by taking the shortest route which in the mountains is not always the best. Do not depend on your GPS around Grandfather Mountain either.

My wife and I had a great weekend hiking on Grandfather Mountain, visiting Blowing Rock and most of all having a relaxing getaway.

  • Liked — Very nice and comfortable.
  • Disliked — My only complaint was with the weather. We weren't able to enjoy sitting outside.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TRKGreesboro_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2008

Blueberry Villa is a must stay when you are in the NC mountains. The setting is breathtaking, the inn is beautifully decorated but the icing on the cake are Dede and Dick, your hosts. We stay almost exclusively at B & B's and the Blueberry Villa rates a perfect 10.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank zoeursula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2008

I was able to book the Alicante room last minute on Saturday morning. Cindy, the innkeeper, was in the middle of making breakfast, but took the time to take the reservation. After hearing I was vegetarian, she planned a wonderful veggie strata which she served the next morning with country ham biscuits-thus also appeasing my carnivorous boyfriend. The room is huge with high ceilings and to light the fire in the fireplace you just flip a switch on the wall. The best part though is the winery across the driveway! Once inside, we were greeted warmly and asked to join the ongoing tour given by Dick (the vintner) himself. All the guests at the tour were invited “backstage” to view the process and receive an interesting explanation flavored by a few of Dicks stories of how these astonishing NC wines came to be. It was informative but not stilted, and Dick even set up an amp in the main room floor so a guest could play classic rock on his guitar while we sat together and brought on the evening. There was plenty of wine to be tasted-watch out for Dick though, he pours with a heavy hand…

  • Liked — The winery out back, the lush furnishings in the home.
  • Disliked — Is a bit expensive, one night costs over $300.00.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Spacegrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2008

The Blueberry Villa is a truly lovely B&B. The breakfasts were delicious the rooms were beautiful. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. For a stay in mountains this is a great place just a few minutes from downtown Banner Elk.

  • Liked — The rooms were beautiful
  • Disliked — Bathroom floors cold in the winter
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank theedge73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
2.1 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
11.0 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
453 reviews
10.0 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
357 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lodge at River Run
The Lodge at River Run
#2 of 9 in Banner Elk
14 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 8 in Banner Elk
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banner Elk Winery & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banner Elk Winery & Villa

Property: Banner Elk Winery & Villa
Address: 60 Deer Run Ln, Banner Elk, NC 28604-6138 (Formerly Blueberry Villa and Banner Elk Winery)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Banner Elk Winery & Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Banner Elk Winery and Villa, a luxury bed and breakfast... it's a magical world.Nestled in the awe inspiring majestic Blue Ridge Mountains stands North Carolina High Country's original winery. Come for a tasting and tour, or stay for a week at The Villa, a highly elegant Bed & Breakfast that offers an idyllic setting, luxurious accommodations, and unrivaled service for discerning travelers.The age-old tradition of winemaking made its debut in the region with the establishment of Banner Elk Winery and Villa, the first commercial winery built in Avery and Watauga counties. Banner Elk wines pay tribute to the rugged mountain landscape and capture the delicate nuance and subtle flavors of the fruit. Our vintners produce excellent award winning wines that reflect the unique characteristics of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Whether you are interested in a wine tasting or guided tour, learning more about the art and science of winemaking, or just relaxing with a glass of wine, we welcome you to Banner Elk Winery & Villa.Restore your soul in the ambience of our Tuscan inspired Villa. We offer eight beautifully appointed suites, two with private fireplaces. Each features a king or queen-sized luxury mattress bed adorned in the finest linens and abundant pillows, private jacuzzi tubs, and thick plush robes. Breathtaking mountain views from every window several with semi-private terraces.Wake each morning to a complimentary chef-prepared gourmet breakfast in The Villa before you explore the gorgeous High Country where you can hike, bike, ski, fly fish, or play one of the many championship golf courses. Have a private massage in your suite, or enjoy a visit to Banner Elk's premier spa for additional services. Taste the wine, taste the produce, and taste a bit of luxury. It's the perfect place to relax, re-inspire, and rejuvenate – both inside and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Banner Elk Winery & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing