We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over priced- charm of hobby lobby furnishings.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banner Elk Winery & Villa
Ranked #4 of 8 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
asheboro
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“over priced- charm of hobby lobby furnishings.”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The first B&B that my wife have stayed at where there is no one to greet you
and make you fee welcomed.
We walked in the front door found our evenlope with our name on it.
All the rooms are named which is nice except for ours, so wander around until we found the one room with a key and wander in and the found our name on a bedstand.
The rooms clean and quiet. Room was at a comfortable temperature.
Towels and bedding very clean.
The room we stayed at very little natural lite.Had french doors hard to secure.
The room is dark even with all the lights on. I had to steal a lite bulb frm the common
area for one of the bedside lamps was missing onel.
The so called chef prepared breakfast was a denny's quality.braekfast was from 9 to 10am.
don't be late.
The biscuts were reheated from the day before. Which meant they were cold and hard.
Gravy and sausage were cold as they haven't figured out how to keep them warmed.
Coffee was terrible, the strongest and meanest european roast that
ever was poured from a coffee pot.
Over price and completely lacking the charm of a true bed & breakfast.
All the french doors had a tendecy to blow open if not closed properly.
but if you follow the written instructions carefuly and practice they will secure.
To give you an idea how concerened the mangement and owners are of the care
of the villa, It was raining while we were there and nobody came to take care of the
cushions of the outdoor furniture, so they were quite wet and unsuitable for our use or enjoyment.
The immediate grounds look nice but the vines are for show and are very young
look god from a distance in photos but lacking substance first hand.
If you are expecting to be pampered and stay at villa in the middle of wine country
better think of Napa, Sonoma Calif.
We did enjoy a free wine tasting at the winery.
The whites very nice. Chanit nice surprise. The reds they need more practice.
We stayed July 4th and 5th.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joseph g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    20
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
26
141
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This Villa is a beautiful house in a very pretty area. It is very comfortable and the rooms are all very nicely appointed. We were in a large suite downstairs. There are three floors with bedrooms. Since we were the only ones staying at the Villa our night, we were able to peek in to each of the rooms. The ones upstairs all seemed smaller than the others but also less expensive. Each room was decorated with care. All of the bathrooms seemed very similar with nice touches and quality bath products. Our bed was very comfortable with immaculate linens. Their breakfast chef prepared wonderful breakfasts made to order and both he and the housekeeper were extremely friendly and helpful. The winery was open for tasting on our second day there and their tasting room manager was also quite friendly. The wines are very good. The only negative things I can say is that their rooms are fairly pricey unless you get a sale and if you are used to many other B&B's, there wasn't anyone around to sit on the beautiful porch and visit with. We literally had the entire house to ourselves. The tasting room manager, did explain though, that they had recently lost their daytime manager and were in the process of hiring another. All in all, this is a relaxing and quite beautiful villa and we would love to come back again soon.

Room Tip: The suites both have fireplaces and are extremely large. The rooms in the back have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFarley90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2013

For Christmas, our daughter had given us a one night stay at the the Banner Elk Winery and Villa. We were finally able to use it the second weekend of May. We truly had no idea what to expect. We were completely impressed by everything! The accommodations were lovely. The hospitality was warm and generous. And our breakfast was delicious. It turned out to be a little too rainy for the winery tour, but the wine tasting was great!
We will definitely make a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gusleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We arrived at Banner Elk Winery & Villa in the cab of a wrecker, whose flatbed held our car and whose hitch towed our motorcycle trailer. Not the way we intended to arrive; but an accident only 15 miles from this destination made that necessary. From the moment of our arrival and throughout our three day stay, we experienced an excellent, caring staff who went out of their way to be hospitable. In order of our meeting them, Ashley, Cody, Jackie, Alexis, Brandy and Bic couldn't have been kinder or more professional in their respective roles. A special thank you to Jackie who drove me into town to pick up a vehicle. Her breakfasts are incredible and worthy of a trip for that alone. And for wine lovers, this association of vineyards is producing wines that are winning awards throughout the country. The three couples who own this property must be thankful for their excellent staff and we truly do look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulindac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NO where
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is not a business I would EVER recommend anyone dealing with. We were informed our groupon would be extended because everything was booked during the time we were going to use it. Well, when we went to redeem it I was thrown through hoop after hoop. It took four days before I ever received a final answer. Then to top it off, over those 4 days of calling, trying to contact the people there, I had been calling one single persons cell phone. My calls had been screened. I had a feeling this was the case when I called four times in a row then called on my moms cell and got an answer right away. The girl gave it away that she was on her cell phone when she said she pulling into her driveway. The owner is now saying she had no knowledge of the groupon being extended and she was not going to honor it. They offered me a room but for $250-$300 dollars more on top of the $159 that the groupon cost.....we had everything set for $159 so why am I being told I have to pay $250-$300 more beats me! The costumer service with this establishment does not exist in anyway, shape, or form. I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone. Costumers do not come first with this establishment and from reading other reviews it doesn't seem like it ever has!

Room Tip: Don't book here! Best room you will get will be not coming here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AshleyB936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had a "girls get away weekend" at Banner Elk. The accommodations were great. But the BEST were the breakfasts prepared by Jackie!!!! Delicious doesn't even describe how good they were. The wine tasting and tour given by Cody was very informative. We really enjoyed the total trip!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shlubik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed at Banner Elk just one night on the way home from a weekend at a friend's house. Arriving on a yucky, overcast day in March the views of the property were not as pretty but it was easy to imagine them on a sunny summer day. We were shown our room and given information on our stay by friendly staff. They even had a nice binder full of detailed information on the activities and restaurants in Banner Elk. Wish we had been able to stay longer so we could have partaken in the outdoor activities it had suggested. We had asked for a wine tasting when we arrived but there had been some miscommunication since it was a Monday and the winery isn't open its usual hours. They were able to still make it happen for us and the person doing the wine tasting even gave us a bottle of wine on the house because of the mix-up. Plus, all of the wines were very good. Overall the stay was very relaxing. The breakfast was dynamite and the bed sheets smelled really good! The only reason I'm not rating it as excellent is because I still think it is too pricey.

Room Tip: Bordeaux room was a nice size with a large window with a great view. The bathroom with the jacuzzi t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ri7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
2.1 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
11.0 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
451 reviews
10.0 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
116 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lodge at River Run
The Lodge at River Run
#2 of 9 in Banner Elk
14 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 8 in Banner Elk
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banner Elk Winery & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banner Elk Winery & Villa

Property: Banner Elk Winery & Villa
Address: 60 Deer Run Ln, Banner Elk, NC 28604-6138 (Formerly Blueberry Villa and Banner Elk Winery)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Banner Elk Winery & Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Banner Elk Winery and Villa, a luxury bed and breakfast... it's a magical world.Nestled in the awe inspiring majestic Blue Ridge Mountains stands North Carolina High Country's original winery. Come for a tasting and tour, or stay for a week at The Villa, a highly elegant Bed & Breakfast that offers an idyllic setting, luxurious accommodations, and unrivaled service for discerning travelers.The age-old tradition of winemaking made its debut in the region with the establishment of Banner Elk Winery and Villa, the first commercial winery built in Avery and Watauga counties. Banner Elk wines pay tribute to the rugged mountain landscape and capture the delicate nuance and subtle flavors of the fruit. Our vintners produce excellent award winning wines that reflect the unique characteristics of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Whether you are interested in a wine tasting or guided tour, learning more about the art and science of winemaking, or just relaxing with a glass of wine, we welcome you to Banner Elk Winery & Villa.Restore your soul in the ambience of our Tuscan inspired Villa. We offer eight beautifully appointed suites, two with private fireplaces. Each features a king or queen-sized luxury mattress bed adorned in the finest linens and abundant pillows, private jacuzzi tubs, and thick plush robes. Breathtaking mountain views from every window several with semi-private terraces.Wake each morning to a complimentary chef-prepared gourmet breakfast in The Villa before you explore the gorgeous High Country where you can hike, bike, ski, fly fish, or play one of the many championship golf courses. Have a private massage in your suite, or enjoy a visit to Banner Elk's premier spa for additional services. Taste the wine, taste the produce, and taste a bit of luxury. It's the perfect place to relax, re-inspire, and rejuvenate – both inside and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Banner Elk Winery & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing