We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good”

Banner Elk Cafe & Lodge
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Banner Elk, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

They have a large menu, the food is always consistently good and a great atmosphere. We always take our two giant Shiloh Shepherds there and they welcome them with open arms and immediately bring them large bowls of water. Great place friendly staff and a very nice owner.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    200
    74
    25
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penn Yan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Quaint Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Our waitress was great and very attentive. The BBQ and Cheese Burger tasted great. Their desserts are really good. Actually the desserts were the favorite part of our meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeoMarthaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Frozen food, bad service, food comes out at different times”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The menu is HUGE, but it's because it's not fresh and obviously all frozen...nothing you can't get at Applebee's. The service was bad, 10 minutes to get a cold chai tea, though all our server was doing was gossiping loudly. Our guests salad came out about ten minutes before our burgers came out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Mtn, NC, USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Local and glad they are!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Always open, it seems, and ready to feed you. Lots of options on the menu(s). Yes, pleural since they also serve from The Lodge Expresso Bar and Eatery, to take your pick or from both. Daytime cooks offer good quick food then evening Chef(s) really lay out the spread, so to speak. They also have daily specials, one my wife likes is pinto beans and cornbread.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank naturalcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Must stop for Banner Elk!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Banner Elk Cafe is on my top 5 burgers of all time...and I have had a lot of burgers. Going to school at Less-McRae, the cafe was my spot to go as a local at that time. Now my wife and daughter love to go when we are in town. Les has done well with this place and hope to get there soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PROPAGANDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banner Elk Cafe & Lodge also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Banner Elk Cafe & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing