We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Good Service”
Review of Sorrento's Bistro

Sorrento's Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Sorrento's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: This is an upscale bistro with a strong accent for Italian. This family business involves 3 generation of family owned and operated, with the 30 year anniversary approaching. We thank all of our local customers, and look forward to the new ones.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Food and Good Service”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Recently had dinner at Sorrento's with three other couples. The food was great and our waiter did a wonderful job. No mistakes at all. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Banner Elk.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    109
    39
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good dinner, a little noisy”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had dinner with another couple and all enjoyed our food. One person had salmon and said it was the best she'd had in a long time - a surprise in North Carolina.

Others had Italian basics as we like to taste the same dishes in various Italian places to see which ones are everyday dishes and which make you sit up and pay attention! We agreed that they were above average.

There weren't many people eating inside when we arrived, so it was quiet, but as the evening
progressed and the restaurant filled, it did noisy - our only complaint.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keepingcool2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian food”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

While parking is a bit of a challenge, this place has it all. Great ambience, servcie and food. All Italian dishes we tried were outstanding. We visit Sorrento's every year during the holidays and can't wait to go back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I was in Banner Elk for a wedding and suggested Sorrento's for lunch as I had read pretty good reviews of it. The restaurant itself is very attractive, adorned with local artwork. Our waitress was friendly, but very confused. She brought the wrong drinks and entrees out to the wrong people. I ordered the Italian salad, which was a basic salad with whole slices of peperoni and huge pieces of prosciutto on top. I expected these meats to be chopped up into smaller bites. It was not bad, just strange. The Italian subs were edible, but were served with a bag of Lays potato chips. For the price, you would expect a fresh side item, not something you could get at Subway.The food was not bad, but definitely not worth the price. Perhaps dinner is better!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveleur2700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Holly, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food was great!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Nice ambiance....great setting. Recommend the spinach/ artichoke appetizer! Server seemed new at the game but he tried hard....that's all I can ask. Other than that...it was a great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorrento's Bistro also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Sorrento's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing