We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience in Every Way”

Artisanal Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Artisanal Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hwy 184
Durham, NC
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An Experience in Every Way”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had dinner at Artisanal on 10/26, the last night they were open before closing for the winter, and we are so very glad we made it and didn't have to wait until spring! This is a top notch experience in every way: decor, attentiveness of wait staff, variety of menu, extensiveness of wine list, hospitality of hosts, attention to detail. Our server could not have been better. Everything about the food, from presentation to portion size to taste, was just perfect. Our group had four different entrees, and shared bites of all, and there wasn't a lesser choice in the bunch: "butter steak", veal, lamb, and grouper. The appetizers were especially appealing and beautifully presented. Yes, it's expensive, but really worth the price. Valet parking is a nice touch. Even the decoration in the ladies room carried through the haut rustic theme (in a good way, fear not!)

I have read here on Trip Advisor that some people had a problem with the reservation system but we didn't experience any. Be sure to reserve well in advance, especially in high season, as they book quickly. I believe there is outdoor dining available in the summer but on a cold October evening I can't imagine anyone opting for it. I hope the owners enjoy their time off and come back in the spring, ready to entice us with new menus and flavors to try! Go there for a special experience, you won't regret it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EllenRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    17
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurinburg, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A meal you will never forget. About a 30 min drive from Blowing Rock but worth the trip. Service was great under the watchful eye of LeeAnn. Calamari as we have never had it and we are from the coast!! I had the duck and wife had the grouper. Both were to die for. Only downside was Oct 26th was the last night of the season. Check wevsite for reopening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurinburg, NC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth the ride”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I have been blessed with the opportunity to experience several of the top restaurants in "food" locales such as Charleston, San Fran, Napa/Sonoma, Asheville and more. Pleased to add Artisanal as one of my top 10 dining experiences this evening. Excellent service with unique presentations of common ingredients such as the shrimp, calamari, grouper and duck that were passed around our table as is the common practice with our good friends Ken and Ginny. I can't accurately describe the meal due to the complexity of the ingredients in the presentation but I highly recommend. Excellent wine list so don't worry about the lack of corkage fee option. Thank you Mark and Heather for the guidance

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank one_of_seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Is there a better restaurant in Western North Carolina?”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I'm not sure there is. My wife and I had been fans of the kitchen talent of Artisanal when they were back in a strip mall center in Tyne Castle a few miles from the current location. Never had a bad meal there and had many sensational ones including a memorable New Years Eve dinner and wine tastings. But the décor provided no framing for the artwork in the kitchen. At its new digs in the hillside outside of Banner Elk the picture is now complete. Sensational food. Sensational setting. The location on rolling green hillside with brook traversing the backside outdoor eating area is unique in itself.The horse stable/barn theme is well executed with great looking woodwork and artwork. Amazing wine cellar that would be great for a private function. Wait staff attentive, knowledgeable but not overbearing. The food: as good as ever. I had a lamb tenderloin with accompaniment of vegetables and dumplings with a side of deep dish baked cornbread that was out of this world. My wife had a veal tenderloin that was also delicious. Same great sweet/sour calamari they had at the old site which is a unique dish often copied but never executed as consistently as it is here. Nice but pricey wine list. Overall expensive but worth the splurge. Truly a unique dining experience for this region and this state.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing Restaurant with Fabulous food, service and rustic charm. ”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

This chic, charming and rustic restaurant resembles a barn. However from the moment you walk in the door you are embedded with southern hospitality and elegance. The high ceilings and the wood detail further add to the experience. You are dining here not eating so sit back, relax, and take in the ambiance. The jazzy music is that of Frank Sinatra and Micheal Buble and only further adds to my previous point.

There were 7 of us and the service was impeccable. Our table dined on fish and the presentation was gorgeous. The flounder, snapper, and tuna were all delicious and prepared with the vegetables of the season. We also sampled the calamari which was unique and great. I enjoyed the pair salad as well. For dessert, the bread pudding and the doughnuts were both wonderful.

The portions were nice and very adequate, but not for the meat and potatoes hungry man. The meal was pricey but more than reasonable for a 5 star restaurant.

Make reservations early. We made our reservations 1 MONTH ahead of time and we were only able to get them for a Thursday. You must walk outside and see the fire-pit and hear the babbling brook!

Helpful?
Thank MustangRoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Artisanal Restaurant also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Artisanal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing