We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! Crowded But Fun, Good Food Too!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella's

Bella's
Ranked #8 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Give in to your cravings. Bella's Italian Restaurant & Bar of Banner Elk, North Carolina is here to offer you New York Style pizza and other authentic Italian cuisine. Choose from our large wine selection, the finest in Italian wines. Enjoy our sumptuous Italian entrees, affordable food and relaxed atmosphere with your family and friends. Sit at the bar or the high top tables and enjoy your favorite sports game with a beer or cocktail and one our delicious appetizers. Our professional staff will gladly attend to your needs in our spacious dining rooms. We will provide you with prompt and courteous service, making your dinner with us a great experience.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wow! Crowded But Fun, Good Food Too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Thursday night, Fourth of July Eve stopped at Bella's after food shopping. Short waiting line, packed restaurant, nice homey place though. Lots of locals at the bar and waiting for seating, cozy bar and friendly staff. Obviously good food and service from the comments I overheard at the crowded bar tables. Seating is tight but everyone seems happy here..patrons and staff. Simple Italian fare from pizza to veal and chicken dishes with pasta. Very busy so it took a while to get our meals. Worth the wait. No hesitation about going back here though.. without a second thought. Great little place for families or couples, try it. It's well worth your while. No disappointments.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tvkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    129
    48
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food for the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

There are not a lot of good restaurants in the Banner Elk area especially if you are used to Charlotte or another larger city's food. That being said, Bella's is a good choice for the area. The pizzas are good, the kids love those, and the entrees are good and reasonably priced. So far I haven't found any food to swoon over in this area but this is a safe bet.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NCFoodie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We wanted pizzas to take to the free concert in the park in Banner Elk. After seeing the terrible reviews for the other convenient place, I ordered from Bella's. What an excellent choice! I called at noon and asked to have the pies ready at 6. At 6, they were hot and ready.

Checkout was a bit difficult; the place was mobbed on a Thursday night (the night before Independence Day, however) and while the hostess stand had the pies, the bar had the tab. Confusing, but not insurmountable.

The pizza was delicious. The pepperoni was a bit saltier than I'd have liked, but it didn't really detract from our enjoyment. Two medium pies served five of us (two are HEAVY eaters) to where we couldn't eat any more.

(Imagine our surprise when we got to the concert, and found that Bella's had a stand right there. We were still happy to have our own pizzas!)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KBA1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Big portions, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This place was recommended by several people so we tried it. With 10 people we waited about 15 minutes as there was another large party. The server was quick and took our order for appetizers. The mozzarella sticks were standard, but the fried mushrooms were great.

The kids ordered a cheese pizza and it was the best part of the meal. The various pasta dishes that we tried were huge, but not any better than the average Olive Garden fare.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilysfriend98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Twice in one day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived in town and met friends at Bella's for lunch. I ordered a ham sandwich, which was very good, but the pasta dishes looked so good we returned for dinner. Only here a few more days, but hope to eat here again before heading home.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mer986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bella's also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Bella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing