We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Banner Elk”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zuzda - CLOSED

Zuzda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy 194
Description: Locally sourced ingredients prepared in small plates.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A gem in Banner Elk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We took our friends here during our week's stay in the area in August and we truly enjoyed the various tapas offerings such as Coquille St. Jacques, saffron paella, and Zuzdalamari:crispy calamari with marinara sauce. We all tried a bite of each others choices making for an interesting meal with each dish costing less than $11. There are other choices such as filet mignon, grits and cheese, barbecue pork, and buffalo wings. The wine list is ample, ambience pleasing and service excellent. It is open in the evenings through October.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geeann_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    59
    22
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honeoye Falls, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tapas Pleasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Forget the standard menu fare and stick with their tapas offerings. There's something for everyone at extremely reasonable prices. Great service and a cozy atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great variety, great flavors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I dine at Zuzda's regularly and each time we order the same things: Alexis Brie (outstanding!!), Shrimp and Grits, Filet Mignon, and Apple Pie. Together, it's enough food to satisfy us for dinner (although a hearty bedtime snack is required) for about $40 inclduing tip. The ambience is not much to write home about: it's dark, seating can be claustrophobic, and if you're seated near the AC vent, it can be downright freezing. Nevertheless, the richness of the flavors keep us coming back time and again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our favorite place in Banner Elk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We took visiting friends to our favorite spot in Banner Elk and once again enjoyed the extensive tapas menu. With so many interesting selections, it is difficult to make a decision about your choices for the evening. All of our friends return home raving about the food and service. This time I tried three new items and one old favorite, the brie in a wonderful carmelized sauce. The new items were the St. Jacque scallops, salmon in a puff pastry and stuffed portobello. All were outstanding. The two girls in the party shared these four dishes while the men opted to not share their items. My husband had pork pot stickers, the brie, and grilled shrimp.
You can order your items leisurely one at a time if you'd prefer and have time to visit with friends in between. A great place for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandbon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, NC 28607
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food and service terrific”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Six of us, all adults, had dinner. It was the first time for 4 of us. Our hostess had raved about it prior to going so we were prepared for the extensive menu items. It is about a 45-minute drive but we live in a scenic area so that was not a problem, and we would definitely return. All of the following items were ordered: Lamb chop, peppercorn steak, liver, chicken pot pie, filet mignon, and nut crusted mountain trout, shoestring fries, sweet potato fries, and vegetable tempura. Everyone loved what they ordered. I ordered the trout (excellent), I also had the best appetizer I have ever eaten - the gorgonzola encrusted artichoke hearts (fabulous!). Two of us also ordered the kale as I had read really good reviews of the kale, but we both were disappointed, as it tasted gritty and wasn't cooked as well as we liked it. That is the only reason I did not give this 5 stars. The service was impeccable. The atmosphere is really nice, and the restaurant was filled on a Wednesday night. We could not figure out how they could maintain so many items to sell and have them come out perfectly. We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunalei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zuzda also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing