We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and filling and the right Price”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China House Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Banner Elk, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good and filling and the right Price”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

My last visit to China House was to pickup a takeout that I had called in. As always, my order was ready when I arrived (10 minutes) and one order is enough for my wife and I so that cuts in half the already good price. At lunch time their all you can pile on buffet is very popular with the locals, especially construction workers who can get their fill for the best buy around. The dining area is fresh and clean and your order is cooked fresh and quickly. They serve a large selection of chinese favorites that will surely fill you up.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MtnMan7863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    22
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banner Elk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Value”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

I have been a China House fan for two years now. The staff there works very hard. I never eat Chinese buffets, I think all are disgusting. But for a quick and tasty take out dinner or lunch this is my go to. They literally have the best fried dumplings I've ever had, even at upscale places. I always get their sesame chicken combination. Their egg roles are the only Chinese-style egg roles I like as well. If you're looking for a place with an atmosphere, definitely don't go here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okeechobee,Florida
Level Contributor
339 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Same story as before”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

My family and I were staying at the Blue Ridge Village and went to Food Lion to pick up some groceries. We decided to grab some lunch and our first pick Bella`s was closed, so we chose Chinese over Subway`s . If your just in the mood for Chinese it`s alright. It`s got all the regulars and the egg drop soup was good, but nothing special.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ErininOkeechobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average- at best...”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Maybe one should not look for quality Chinese food in the NC Mountains or maybe we are just spoiled by some outstanding Chinese restaurants back home. We have given China House several tries and the food is average- at best. Nothing memorable and no favorites... Doubt we will ever go back. The price is affordable but we've had better food and quality in mall food courts. The restaurant gets a C for atmosphere and cleanliness. If this eatery closed- doubt many would miss it. (Interesting that Bella's Italian is nextdoor and exceeds expectations and China House falls so miserably short...) Our recommendation would be to try some of the other local restaurants and wait until you return home to get your fix of Chinese food. This is below average "fast food Chinese". Don't waste your time or money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCPackof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naples, fl
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Turn left or right please”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Went to Food Lion and suddenly had a craving for chinese food after seeing their sign, my bad.
The restaurant had an all you can eat buffet for lunch, which to my experience usually means
lots of really bad to mediocre food at a low price but appeals to those who are only looking to fill their stomachs. Did not follow my own advice and ordered a meal for takeout (General Tso chicken and veggie fried rice). The salt level in the rice made it taste like a salt lick and the chicken was overly breaded and boring. Price is cheap but hardly worth it.
Strongly suggest that you turn right into Subway or left into Bellas for a much better meal, that you will appreciate and not be sorry later.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beechbum530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China House Restaurant also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to China House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing