We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place to visit”

Beaufort Historic Site Old Burying Ground
Ranked #3 of 36 things to do in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool place to visit”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Well worth your time but get the guide book first. Info posted next to entrance gate. A small donation is suggested

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    67
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cool and interesting”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I love cemeteries so this was a must stop for us. Go to the local historical society and get the map for a $1 or it won't mean a thing. There are marked graves and the map gives a history/story for those. Very interesting and some are heart-wrenching - I connected with some just from the stories. The old stones are awesome and the low hanging trees create an ambience AND a cool place to spend about an hour due to the shade. Great place to take pics too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suemidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The pinnacle of past lives”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I have long enjoyed visiting old cemeteries when I find a new town. There is something sacred about visiting the intersection of park, eulogy and history in such a beautiful space. Old trees hang low, providing a dark, cool shade on the hottest day, and iron gates mark the exits of the grounds. We found several family plots for Duncans, my own family name, giving me a special sense of kinship to the place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fleet_Parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gives you a historical perspective”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

You get a real sense of how old Beaufort is when you visit this cemetery, and a perspective on what people's lives were like even a century or so ago. (One family in particular I remember--they lost their 25-year old son in the Civil War, and he was only one of two surviving children. They had lost five others as infants and toddlers.)

Our group had a guided tour; unfortunately, the tour guide that took half of our tour wasn't very dynamic (or willing to share much beyond the basics). The other half of the tour had a much better experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mlj59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beaufort Burying Ground”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a must-visit site. It was interesting to see the headstones, walk the sandy paths within the brick walls, see the names of those buried long ago. It's interesting just to walk through but is even better when you get one of the programs and seek out the headstones that are deemed most interesting by surveys of previous tourists. I'd visit every time I go to Beaufort.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HikerGirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beaufort Historic Site Old Burying Ground also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Beaufort Historic Site Old Burying Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing