We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Home”
Review of Ann Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ann Street Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Donna is a gracious and generous hostess, and we will definitely visit again. Ann Street Inn is the epitome of what one would expect from a great B&B; delicious breakfast, clean and comfortable room, interesting conversation on the front porch, privacy when desired, and within walking distance of everything! Thank you Donna, you are a gem! Mary Beth and Roy

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Ann Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

Miss Donna is amazing! Her house should on the cover of southern living magazine and she cooks amazing breakfast and in my opinion has the coolest front porch in Beaufort. I was only going to stay one night but I loved this place and the town so much I decided to stay another. There is plenty of small shops, cafes, bars, and restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jziemba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Our stay at the Ann Street Inn made our first trip to Beaufort, NC, the perfect getaway. After reading about America's #1 Small Town in a national travel magazine, we decided to celebrate our third wedding anniversary here. We stayed in the Duke of Beaufort room, which was so beautifully and tastefully decorated, with lots of natural light, a jacuzzi, and access to the second story front porch with rocking chairs that were perfect for afternoon reading and relaxing. The food was wonderful (the curried fruit and fresh-squeezed orange juice were AMAZING), and we loved never having to drive anywhere, as the inn is within walking distance of Front Street and bikes were available to guests as well. Donna and Joe were so hospitable, and we will definitely be back to the Ann Street Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlessnerPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was our first trip to Beaufort and the Ann Street Inn, we did alot of research before deciding on the Ann Street Inn. AMAZING!!!!, So glad We chose it.

Donna & Joe,

Thank you for opening up your beautiful home to us. We are looking forward to our next visit with you! Breakfast was awesome and we met some really nice people!

Dianna & Anthony

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iamrizzbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was our second stay at Ann Street. We love Beaufort, so we have frequented it for many anniversaries. We have stayed at 2 other B&B's in Beaufort, but we'll never stay anywhere else but Ann Street Inn. Our room, Duke of Beaufort, was very comfortable. Loved opening the door to the porch and smelling the salt air. Donna is so much fun! She feels more like an old friend than the hostess. Most other B&B's that we have stayed at are "stuffy" feeling and we feel like "guests". Not here, Donna and Joe make you feel right at home. The breakfast is out of this world. My husband requested the same breakfast that we had last year and Donna was eager to please. Never had fried grits? - ask for them! They are awesome! We plan to swing by and say hi to Donna and Joe this summer on one of our trips to the coast. Once you visit, you'll want to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We recently celebrated our wedding anniversary in Beaufort, NC and stayed in the Duke of Beaufort room at the Ann Street Inn. The room was a touch smaller than it appeared on the website, but was very clean, which isn't always the case at B&Bs. The location was a couple blocks off of the main street, which made it very quiet, but also a quick walk to everything in town. The breakfast Donna served was nice each morning as well (more home cooking than chef quality). I'd definitely recommend our room to others looking for a nice, quiet getaway in one of my favorite cities in NC.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnm35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Donna Babington, Ann Street Inn's owner, was a wonderful hostess. Not your typical hostess, either, as she was quick to make us feel welcome and amongst friends. 

Our bedroom, the Duke of Beaufort, had it's own private bathroom that even came with a jacuzzi. The size of the bathroom was nearly half the size of our bedroom...more than enough room for a bathroom. Our bedroom also offered a door to the second floor front porch ( for this trip, it was too cold and windy to appreciate this feature of our room. )

Come 9:00, breakfast was served. Plenty of hot food to choose. Having cooked professionally for 20 years, I was happy to eat Donna's fried grits, egg and sausage casserole, and baked apples and pineapple. There was also fresh strawberries and sliced quick bread. Her food was filling and perfect for such a cold day. It was around 26 F early that morning....face numbingly cold. Despite the weather outside, the Inn was pleasant. In the first room off to the left, there was a gas fireplace. It quite pleasant to sit and relax in this room.

During our stay, we met all of the other guest. Everyone was friendly. There was plenty of good conversations, and some really good laughs...like the story about Ivan, the handyman and the still swimming tuna salad.

Being that it was February, Beaufort's off season, our room rate was discounted, definitely a plus.

The restaurants are easily within walking distant. Despite some recommendations to try Beaufort's Grocery, or Aqua, and even Stillwater's calamari, we decided on Queen Anne's
Revenge. We ordered bruschetta with pesto, French onion soup, and San Pelligrino water.

If you believe like the locals, "After visiting Beaufort, you'll want to buy a home here." If you need a second opinion, stay at Ann Street Inn and decide for yourself why the locals feel this way.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
3.0 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
204 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
634 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
4.7 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
265 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann Street Inn

Address: 707 Ann St, Beaufort, NC 28516-2217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing