We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shackelford island!”

Crystal Coast Lady Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: #1 Tour Company - The M/V Crystal Coast Lady is a 100' All Aluminum Motor Yacht that is USCG Certified and inspected for up to 265 Passengers! We have full ABC permits, a galley on each deck, and 4 restrooms on board.Tours run 7 days a week and include: 1/2 Day Family Fishing, Shackleford Banks Wild Pony and Dolphin Scenic Tours, Historic Beaufort Waterfront Cruises, Brunch, Lunch & Sunset Dinner Buffets, Wednesday Wine Tasting Cruises, and Dolphin Watches! We also specialize in unique wedding packages,special events and private charters.
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Beautiful island, lots of shells and a friendly captain too! Everyone who goes to Atlantic beach should try this!

1  Thank KATHY3716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Owner at Crystal Coast Lady Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

We are excited to hear you had a great time on our Shackleford Safari. This is a new trip we are offering this year, and are glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to having you aboard again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Seafood buffet was ridiculous and we felt totally ripped off! Never again. Boat trip was in the river not the ocean & was a joke as well.

1  Thank MeanLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Owner at Crystal Coast Lady Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Our Seafood cruise features peel and eat shrimp, grouper, and mahi, and the buffet price works out to $11.50 per person, which we feel is quite reasonable. Our scenic cruises cover 15 miles roundtrip, and we sail along the waterways of historic Beaufort and Morehead City, as well as the back bays of Beaufort. We do not sail in the ocean, nor do we claim to, because that would be too rough for our passengers. We are sorry that you felt this way about your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Took the dinner cruise 8/22/14 The tour itself was good, but the dinner was so so, Shrimp had little flavor, Mahi Mahi and Grouper were supposed to be "blackened" but were just steamed with a bunch of spice thrown on. Beans were out of the can type, roll served was typical from a grocery store kinda like a small hamburger bun. Salad was ok a bunch of lettuce and a dressing. Served on cheap plastic plates. I believe they could do a much better job in preparing the food. Quality was just not there for the price!

Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Owner at Crystal Coast Lady Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

I'm sorry that you felt this way. The fare for a 2 hour cruise is $25. The paid was $36.50, so $11.50 for shrimp, grouper, mahi, salad, and rolls with tea is extremely cheap. The blackened mahi & grouper are grilled with seasoning, and minimal blackening is used so it is not too much for all. The salad includes tomato, onion, Romaine lettuce, iceberg lettuce, and a spring mix. The plates are made of styrofroam and used on all dinner trips to keep everything clean and neat. The shrimp are steamed with Old Bay. I am sorry that you felt this way. We will continue to monitor and improve all of our cruises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We went on this cruise with family tonight. Overall it was a pleasant experience. However, a few things could have been done to make it better. Drinks both upstairs and downstairs for one. Bugs were pretty bad and humidity was high. They certainly can't control that but some sort if citronella or bug deterrent would have been nice. The food was good but lukewarm and the flimsy paper plates made it challenging to take food to other places on the boat. The gas smell was pretty bad if you stayed towards the back of the boat.

Overall it was ok. A one time deal for me. Staff was kind but did not necessarily go out of their way. May have just been a down day. The distance from upstairs to down where the food was is a bit tricky and it would have been nice and tip worthy if the staff had brought refills upstairs.

Not totally disappointed, but not overly impressed either.

1  Thank brad l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were recently in Beaufort, visiting some friends. They recommended this tour for us and we are so glad we went! We went with our seven-month-old and a 12-year-old on the lunch cruise. The crew were very helpful, especially with helping us get the baby (and the stroller) on the boat and to our desired seats on the top. The food was delicious, the views were stunning, and the price was incredibly reasonable! The knowledgeable captain gave a great tour with wonderful narration, it was so interesting to learn the local history. We would highly recommend this tour and will probably take it again sometime!

2  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Owner at Crystal Coast Lady Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you very much! It was a pleasure serving your group. Having passengers like yourselves makes our trips that much more special. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crystal Coast Lady Cruises also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Crystal Coast Lady Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing