We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very charming inn...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cedars Inn & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaufort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cedars Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 9 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very charming inn...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our first time at The Cedars Inn. We enjoyed meeting Jenn & Steve....Steve is an awesome chef and Jenn was very helpful in making sure our stay was very enjoyable. While keeping its historic charm....the inn is very light, airy and clean. Our room was fabulous....and I loved the shell decor! Dinner at the restaurant was one of the best we have had in Beaufort. We plan to visit again very soon. Thank you Jenn & Steve.....we had a wonderful time!
Lauren & Jim

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    6
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We enjoyed another stay at The Cedars!! Jenn is a lovely, gracious hostess and attentive to all of our needs/request. Steve is a fantastic chef - our dinner was outstanding. Enjoyed the fresh grouper and vegetables as well as the baby kale & barely fried oyster appetizer.
Such a treat to stay in this beautiful inn with the bonus of the terrific restaurant on site. Makes for a perfect getaway to Beaufort.

Room Tip: Don't forget to enjoy the upstairs porch - a grand setting for a glass of wine and good book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventurerNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have now stayed at the Cedars Inn every year since it reopened and consider it the highlight of our visits to Beaufort! The inn is beautifully decorated in restful sea tones and there is a room suitable for every traveler. We have gone there by ourselves, taken over the inn for a family reunion, and celebrated birthdays there. The inn's warm, welcoming atmosphere is a tribute to Jenn and her staff who have always done everything to make us feel truly at home. Nothing is better than sipping coffee or a glass of wine on the balcony - a true Beaufort tradition! The inn is tucked on a tranquil part of Front Street, but within easy walking distance of all the shops and activities. Dinner at the restaurant is not to be missed! Life truly doesn't get better than this!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a very special kind of place. The surroundings are historic and quaint. The daily courtesy glass of wine is a special touch that we enjoyed while sitting on the second story balcony. Jenn is very friendly and helpful with information about the surrounding area. We enjoyed sailing and kayaking which departed from the waterfront right down the street. The Cedars Restaurant is THE place to eat. The dinning was excellent and not rushed. We chose Beaufort and The Cedars over flying south to Florida or the Islands and were very happy with our decision to stay there for 5 days.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryNCDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I am rather particular and I must say that the Cedars exceeded my expectations! Before arriving, I received confirming e-mails and a phone call. Jenn was very responsive and accommodating with our fluid plans. She went above and beyond to make us feel like special guests even before we arrived.

Upon our arrival, we were warmly greeted. The atmosphere at the Inn was charming… lovely, congenial and relaxing…it is very well maintained and our room was tastefully decorated, quiet, meticulous and comfortable. The restaurant was delightful…the breakfast (homemade granola, yogurt and muffins) was wonderful and the dinner menu was amazing…very creative and appealing… the meal was outstanding!

Jenn and her staff are exceptionally warm, welcoming and helpful. The service on all fronts was impeccable - very gracious and very attentive. All made helpful suggestions to make our stay more enjoyable…they took time to provide lots of detail about interesting things to see and do based on our interests. Truly very friendly and always ready to go the extra mile to make our visit especially memorable and pleasant! Many thanks, we will return soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betterinmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were fortunatel in finding a vacancy at the last minute for our overnight stay before catching the Cedar Island ferry. We were warmly welcomed with a glass of wine which was much appreciated. Unfortunately we could not take advantage of the interesting dinner menu as the restaurant was closed on a Sunday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldtravellerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This inn was extremely disappointing! First...don’t be fooled....it is not a B&B. The breakfast was a muffin and unripe fruit. We asked for coffee to be set out early so we could come down and get a cup when we first woke up, but it was stone cold. No one-cup coffee makers in the room. There is no way to get hot water for tea or hot chocolate in the evening, nor ice for a cold drink. No snacks or complementary extras of any kind.

Second, they claimed to have wi-fi available. We were on the top floor and neither of us could get a signal for wi-fi during the three days we were there.

The room was cute and clean, but nothing to rave about. There is no sitting area or other place for inn guests to be other than their room. The entire downstairs is devoted to their restaurant.

The clincher, however, was that I forgot my cord for my iPhone charger when I left...I called the next day and asked them to ship it to me. I gave them my address, but was told that some one would have to get back to me to decide “what we were going to do about this.” I never heard from them again, and never received my cord.

They seem to be all about the restaurant...not the guests in the inn. when we checked out, we mentioned several things that we thought would improve their service...we were told that we should just find someplace else to stay. Believe me, we will!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gansett91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn M, Manager at The Cedars Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
I want to thank you for staying with us and I apologize that you were not happy with your visit. I wanted to clarify on few of the comments that you made. Yes, it’s true we are not a B&B because we are an INN. As for the hot water, per our fire codes we are not allowed to have coffee makers in our rooms. However, we do offer ice, water, and complimentary wine to our guest. There is Wi-Fi in all of our rooms and the password is in a binder that is in every room. My staff and I do not have a problem mailing items that we find left by guest in the rooms. Again, I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
2.7 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
4.4 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pecan Tree Inn
Pecan Tree Inn
#1 of 9 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedars Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Cedars Inn & Restaurant
Address: 305 Front St, Beaufort, NC 28516-2124
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Beaufort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing