We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deli Delight !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaufort Grocery CO

Beaufort Grocery CO
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
237 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Deli Delight !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The name is deceiving because the grocery is the best deli in town. Perfect place for lunch to get a sandwich and beer or wine. Service is good, food is better and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank going5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    120
    54
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Per our tradition, we made reservations to eat at Beaufort Grocery. On the walk from the car to the restaurant I heard people leaving one restaurant because they didn't have anything 'fried.' What they are missing...

This is an annual tradition for us. This time had a shrimp and scallop dish With fresh baby spinach, basil, sundried tomatoes and country ham-champagne cream over cappellini. Wonderful. A wine special suggested by the waitress was simply marvelous, so much so we brought home a bottle. And the Beaufort cheese and fruit appetizer is always something we enjoy. Topped the meal off with a totally marvelous slice of apple pie.

We'll be back and back and back. Never met a meal here I didn't like.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank popsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fresh, Tasty Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Went today after this spot was recommended by a friend. The restaurant was very busy (almost every table was full) and noise levels were high but conversation was still easy. Our server was extremely helpful and efficient. She answered our questions in detail and made suggestions based on our preferences. Fresh fish sandwich of the day was tuna with Boursin and red cabbage slaw. The tuna was seared perfectly, about an inch and a half thick and succulent. The "Carolina Caviar" was a nicely balanced side of black eyed peas, onions, cumin and vinegar.

Looking around the restaurant we saw a variety if other menu selections and the all looked great! We will definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank BlueHorizons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lunch Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

On the recommendation of a friend, we first ate at the Beaufort Grocery several years ago. Now, we are not even tempted by the standard beach seafood and Mexican food places that seem to be everywhere and head straight to the Grocery. Love the fact that the food is fresh and local which means the menu changes regularly. The lunch menu is small and consists of soups, salads and sandwiches.

Two consistent items of note are the excellent sweet tea and the gumbo which is full of chicken, fish and other seafood. This visit I opted for the shrimp salad gougere with a cup of gumbo and fresh fruit. This was the perfect lunch size and taste combo For me. My husband and I shared a house salad, and he had the crab cake sandwich. All good choices, and we didn't feel stuffed. Desserts are devine, but we abstained this time.

Service is over and above. The staff is knowledgable, friendly and well prepared. We've always gotten service with a smile and made to feel like regulars.

Parking is an issue during the season, so be prepared to spend some time trolling for a space on Front St. The nearest parking is for 15 minutes or private.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Just ate dinner here with my wife and 11 month old daughter. Definitely a family friendly place, plenty of high chairs! Had an appetizer which was Greek cheese, baked then covered in brandy and set alight at the table. Need I say more? I followed with steak, my wife had fish, all very good.

Helpful?
Thank RobertMonthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beaufort Grocery CO also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Beaufort Grocery CO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing