We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch Spot”

Clawson's 1905 Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 41 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Have a question? Find our email address under restaurant info and we'll get back to you ASAP. Clawson's 1905 Restaurant & Pub is housed in 108-year-old brick building at the center of lively and beautiful downtown Beaufort, North Carolina.From Clawson's famous Seafood Bisque to crab cakes to rotating local seafood features, Clawson's food is always homemade. Deli meats are fresh sliced daily, and our 1/2 pound Angus Burgers are hand pattied every morning. Even our burger buns are baked fresh in house! Don't leave town without a quart of one of our homemade dressings or side items.Clawson's Pub, an extension of the restaurant, serves the same full menu and offers eight rotating beer taps and dozens of bottled options. Clawson's loves craft beer and features a North Carolina brewery each month year round. Join us for free beer tastings on the first Friday of every month. Clawson's strives to provide a fun, casual dining experience in a comfortable atmosphere. Call us today for reservations, or see our website for our daily features and draft beers.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Set in an old Post Office, the setting is very unique yet also very comfortable. Wait Staff extremely nice. Make sure you start with the onion rings and I love the broccoli salad side.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelSchnelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    234
    95
    43
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent a rainy, cool day in Beaufort, and very much enjoyed the warm atmosphere of Clawson's. Was a mix of tourists and locals for lunch. I had the grilled mahi sandwich (nice to have grilled, instead of fried), and chose the cheese grits as a side (also nice to have a choice besides fries). Enjoyed both of them, especially the grits. Husband had a burger, and said it was also very good. Had a very good server, and a nice booth. Reasonably priced for lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dec49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownedbylabs
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Beaufort favorite!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I love Clawson's! This history and atmosphere just can't be beat. While it isn't on the water, the food makes up for it. Everything I have ever ordered was extremely tasty. My favorite is the seafood bisque! Also, when you order an entree salad, it comes with the most amazing banana bread you will every taste. Just wish they would bring back the oyster topped salad! It was my fav! At least they have many other options I enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ownedbylabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“simply amazing”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I had the best scallops I have ever had at Clawson's, I wanted to lick the plate clean, loved the tin ceiling and the staff was great so friendly when in Beaufort we will go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and food”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We ate at Clawson's twice for lunch while in Beaufort. Both times we had wonderful service -- really exceptional! The food was very good. Our favorites were the onion rings and the seafood bisque. The bisque was creamy and tasty, full of shrimp and scallops. The burgers were excellent, also. If we were in the area longer we'd definitely try it for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joansch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clawson's 1905 Restaurant also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Clawson's 1905 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing