We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope to return soon”
Review of Inlet Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaufort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inlet Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hope to return soon”
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The Inlet Inn is a great place. I think I would pay just to spend the night on the balcony!

My wife and I stayed at the Inlet Inn for a couple of nights in late June. The location is perfect, within easy walking distance to a number of shops and restaurants, and other attractions around Beaufort.

We stayed in a water front room on the second floor. The room was larger than I expected, and it was very clean. The private balcony is large, with two rocking chairs and a table, and it looks directly onto the water.

There is also a nice small garden with a sitting area in the courtyard. The people (staff) were friendly and helpful.

My only complaint was that you can't really get the room dark at night. Even with the shutters closed there is light from the street that fills the room. This may be more of a personal quirk that wouldn't bother anyone else. It certainly didn't bother my wife.

This was our first stay, but hopefully, not our last.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lordnelson1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    100
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
56
142
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Just got back from a trip to Beaufort, NC. Stayed at the Inlet Inn and we loved it. Perfectly located, spaciously clean & comfortable rooms, and a great private porch to watch all the happenings in the port. The only complaint we have is the sheets were not as soft as we are used to but other than that, everything was perfect right down to the lavender scented soaps. Our breakfast was brought to our rooms each morning by the cheerful staff. Breakfast consists of large muffins, bagels, cream cheese, jellies & orange juice. You can make your own coffee in the room or do as we did and go across the street to the coffee bar at Queen Anne's Revenge to order coffee to bring back to your room. We ate breakfast on our porch. The Inlet Inn is a great place to stay in Beaufort and we are looking forward to going back again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarheelgirl715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
179 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We only spent one night but would have loved to been able to stay longer. We had a king room on the first floor, waterfront. Would have preferred to be on one of the higher floors, but this was nice as you could look right out on the water. The gal at the front desk was very helpful and let us look at a couple of rooms. The room was nice, with extra seating and a fireplace. Breakfast is served in your room. The bed was a bit firm for me. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. We stayed in a 2nd floor waterfront room. The room was great. It looked like it was brand new. They may have updated the room recently or else they take very good care of the rooms. It was bigger than a regular hotel room with a nice sized balcony facing the water. We had their breakfast delivered to the room. It was really fast! Nice warm muffins, Bagels and Orange Juice. The location was the biggest reason we chose the Inn. It is right on Front Street and we enjoyed walking through town during the day and going out to eat each night without having to worry about driving. We will stay here every time we spend the night in Beaufort.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mit43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I have been coming to the Inlet Inn during my business trips at Cherry Point and Morehead City for the last 14 years.
It has always been my home away from home and the owners appreciated my patronage during the winter months as well as referring their cozy Inn to others.

A bit disappointed during my last trip and did not feel the appreciation from the new owners or the friendliness from the newer owners. Hopefully they will understand that it is us business travelers that generate revenue during the off season, when I travel there the most. Also they do not have any idea of how many people that I have recommended to their Inn not only for business but for a nice weekend get away.

Would like to see the Bed Spreads that have been there since I can remember be changed out. But like everybody else, I am sure the owners are watching their pennies.

I will recommend it to friends right now, but may have to change my mind, later.

Signed, A Sales Lady

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Saleslady49673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Cozy old fashioned hotel in charming location. Offered spacious and nicely decorated room, although the bathroom needed a little brush up. Front desk welcoming and extremely helpful when needed. All in all a more than pleasant stay. Worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanschenKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

The hotel has spacious rooms, ones on the 3rd floor could easily accommodate the family of 5. However, since the balconies and the view are the best feature I would definitely advise getting a smaller room with a balcony. Furniture and decor is old, and bedspreads looked like they have around for a while. The fact that much of the room/bathroom had chips, rips, scraped and various damages made the room look uninviting. Upon check in we found a crawling cockroach in our room, which pretty much killed any desire to use a coffee maker. We loved sitting on the 3rd floor balcony, off the common area ( where the continental breakfast is prepared) but the first night we crossed paths with 3 other roaches ( not pretty). That sort of killed our desire to partake in the offered breakfast, which was prepacked tasteless carbs anyway ( there are couple coffee shops and breakfast places 1 minute walk, much better even if not free). Person at the front desk was not concerned about the roaches ( yes, I know they are palmettos, aka water bugs…still cockroaches) and said they even they spray they cannot get rid of them. We spent 3 weeks in the hotels of the coastal south and had no problems with bugs elsewhere. Whatever they are doing it is not stopping the infestation. Now, the staff was super nice, hotel pretty clean otherwise and location to explore Beaufort unparallel. Evenings on the balcony listening to the live music drift in from the local restaurants and the island of mustangs just a little boat ride away may make it all worth it. He hotel did have unique charm and If this place is ever renovated it would be a gem. BTW, rent bikes…so much fun!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCLAN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghotio, Owner at Inlet Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
The palmetto bugs (yes they are in the roach family but not cockroaches) are a problem throughout Beaufort -- and most of the coastal South. They can and do get into everything from the lowly shack to the two million dollar home on Front Street. These guys live outside but because they can both fly and run very fast they occasionally get on our walkways or into a guest room. Our guests naturally like to open the doors to enjoy the view and the sea breeze. The palmettos naturally take this opportunity to come in for a vist. Their presence has nothing to do with cleanliness or housekeeping. We and our exterminator do our best to keep them out and most are found on their back with their dying feet toward the heavens. However, they don't die instantly and occasionally a guest has the unfortunate opportunity to see one on the run. We appologize for this and certainly do everything we can to keep it from happening. So, sightings of live ones are rare, but regretably, they do happen in spite of our best efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
2.9 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
4.5 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pecan Tree Inn
Pecan Tree Inn
#1 of 8 in Beaufort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inlet Inn

Property: Inlet Inn
Address: 601 Front St, Beaufort, NC 28516-2209
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaufort
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned waterfront hotel in downtown historic Beaufort with great views of the harbor. We have 36 rooms divided among three floors. Our first and second floor waterfront rooms have king beds and private balconies to relax and enjoy the warm summer breezes. Some of our first floor waterfront rooms have wood burning fireplaces for the chilly winter months. Our third floor rooms have two queen beds and a large bay window seat perfect for watching the wild horses and traveling mariners. We also have some non-waterfront rooms as well as one room with a king bed and two twin beds, but with no balcony, perfect for larger families. Included with your stay is a small continental breakfast with warm muffins, bagels, and orange juice with coffee upon request. We deliver to your room or breakfast can be enjoyed in our third floor widows walk lounge. However don't hesitate to try many of our great downtown Beaufort dining locales, all within a few blocks of our location on the waterfront. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inlet Inn And Conference Center
Inlet Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing