We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled; This is NOT a B&B”
Review of Inlet Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaufort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inlet Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled; This is NOT a B&B”
Reviewed 30 March 2008

From the outside the Inlet Inn looks like a quaint B&B, but don't be fooled. Inside it's a Holiday Inn. The price is good for a large room but there is no dining room for guests. Rather, you call on the phone in the morning and a maid delivers a tray with a pitiful "breakfast" to your room. We thought B&B meant a breakfast of eggs, bacon and homemade baked goods. What we got was a miniature bagle and a muffin--both the kind that you buy in large quantitieds at COSTCO or a grocery store. Even the orange juice was low grade processed stuff. You make your own coffee in your room.

On the plus side the location is on Front Street, the road that skirts the shore, so very convenient. At least the towels were fresh and not ratty like I've seen at other hotels. The bathroom floor was hairy, however. When I called 0 for room service I got no answer so I went down to the front desk. The attendent had me call back Barbara, the maid, from the parking lot as she was leaving. They call this service?

If you want a Holiday Inn at a Holiday Inn price, the Inlet Inn will work. If you want a real B&B, look elsewhere.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — The "breakfast"
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValGal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    109
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
59
155
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2008

My husband and I wanted a weekend getaway, and were already close to Beaufort - we drove through town and were visually impressed by the Inlet Inn property and location. We walked in and were able to book a fabulous room on the spot for an incredibly reasonable price. The room had a microwave and mini-fridge, beautiful large bathroom and semi-separate kitchen area and a large sleeping and lounging space with a grand woodburning (must buy logs from front desk) fireplace, large windows overlooking the waterfront (we were a stones throw from it) and marvellous french doors onto a balcony that was sunny and warm, even in November. It was quiet, well appointed and we'd go back in an instant.

  • Liked — the room was a joy to be in and continental room service breakfast
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherwrighteous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skaneateles
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2007

Week 4 of a 5 week roadie, we continued to find small-town America. In case you haven't noticed, most of USA is a giant strip mall.

Not so in Beaufort. First the Innlet Inn; a medium sized property located on the waterfront of this seacoast Village. Somebody spent some money building this, it's steel & concrete, refreshingly sturdy and quiet. Good looking as well. Our room was spacious, clean and had a balcony facing the water. Reasonably priced, I might add. Everyone we met was friendly and enthusiastic and proud of their hotel.

Better was the Village of Beaufort. Blacbeard the Pirate apparently hung around here, his lore and souveneirs are everywhere. There is a Marine Museum and hands-on wooden boat shop. By the way, it's Bo-fort.

Big doings in Beaufort; they voted the old Mayor out and the New One in. We particiated in a heated debate between the 'Old Guard' [read: No changes] and the Young Bloods [Bring it on]. Since we live in a small town, we were right at home.

All said; go to to Beaufort, stay at the Inlet, eat seafood!

  • Liked — location, oversized room
  • Disliked — marginal WIFI
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tonicurtis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2007

Subject: Inlet Inn & Conference Center
Location: Beaufort, North Carolina, United States, North America
Title: Skip it
ID#: 7851460

The Inlet Inn is past its prime. Its location is perfect -- across the street from the docks and ferries -- but it needs a massive infusion of cash and elbow grease. The view from our 2nd- floor room w/balcony overlooking the water was great and to me was the only redeeming aspect of the inn. Peeling pant on the bathroom walls that had been painted over, dirt on one wall and an AC unit that sounded like an ice machine crushing ice in the middle of the night made the stay less than stellar. I would not go back.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the rooms need updated big time; more than just a bucket of pain thrown on the walls
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Inlet Inn for one night on a short getaway to Beaufort. ( We live 3 hours away in Elizabeth City).

We spoke to the hotel on the phone to make the reservation and they were very friendly. They explained the difference between the rooms, the pricing, and told us that since our room was empty the night before we could check in anytime from that morning on. Unfortunately we weren't able to arrive until late afternoon, so we couldn't take advantage of the offer of an early check-in.

We booked a King room on the first floor facing the water. The room was very spacious and had a seating area with a sofa and coffee table. There was also a recliner in the corner of the room. The furniture appeared to be new and was a soft microsuede fabric. The room had a wood burning fireplace (the wood was available at the front desk for a fee), a coffee pot with coffee, and a small refrigerator with ice. It was very nicely decorated and very clean. The bed was comfortable (not too hard or too soft) and had a lovely large pine headboard. There was also a big closet in the room and the dressers had plenty of storage space.

The room opened up onto a covered balcony with two rocking chairs and a small table. We had a lovely view of the waterfront and the boats. It's a great spot to enjoy breakfast or a sandwich from the Beaufort Grocery which is right across the street from the inn.

I noticed other reviews commented on the musty smell in the room. Our room smelled very nice and there was even a dehumidifier running in the corner. There was also a note asking guests to please leave the doors to the balcony shut since the air in Beaufort is very humid and can create moisture problems in the room. I'm suspecting when the previous reviewer visited that there may have indeed been a problem with moisture/mildew but the management has since addressed it.

The only down side was the bathroom. Although it was clean, it was small and in need of updating. The tile appeared rather old, the walls were just painted solid white, and the bathtub had some chips/scratches that someone had attempted to paint over. It didn't seem to match the rest of the room in my opinion.

Included in the rate is a continental breakfast delivered to your room. You can call for it anytime between 7:00-9:30. It consisted of orange juice, toasted bagels with jam/cream cheese, and muffins. We received two bagels, one blueberry , and one carrot muffin. They were warm and quite tasty.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect and within walking distance of restaurants, the historic site, and the Old Burying Ground cemetery. The view of the waterfront is lovely and the room was clean and comfortable. I was also impressed by the friendliness of all the staff that I encountered.

My husband, who is a private person and is not much of a breakfast eater, was pleased with staying at the inn. However, I felt that for the price, which was just over 150.00 including taxes, I would have preferred one of the many bed and breakfasts in town that offer a gourmet breakfast and more amenities.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bayhilltrucking2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2006

We were at the Inlet Inn for 2 nights in a waterfront third floor room. The view was great and the room was large & very comfortable. This room actually smelled very good as my 13 yr old commented. The entire property seemes very well maintained and clean. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Tips/Secrets — A week might be too long there unless you're good at entertaining yourself.
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bekindtoanimals7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2005

Stayed here because of great reviews on this website. Big mistake. Our room reeked of mildew so much that it made our eyes water. Too late to look for another place and most were full anyway. Bathroom sink was all cracked and cracks had blackened. A/C unit on the balcony belched hot, smelly air onto the balcony, balcony table had a shoe print on top of it. Whole place is very old, tired and in need of major maintenance. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
2.9 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
197 reviews
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
623 reviews
4.5 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
264 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#4 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inlet Inn

Property: Inlet Inn
Address: 601 Front St, Beaufort, NC 28516-2209
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaufort
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned waterfront hotel in downtown historic Beaufort with great views of the harbor. We have 36 rooms divided among three floors. Our first and second floor waterfront rooms have king beds and private balconies to relax and enjoy the warm summer breezes. Some of our first floor waterfront rooms have wood burning fireplaces for the chilly winter months. Our third floor rooms have two queen beds and a large bay window seat perfect for watching the wild horses and traveling mariners. We also have some non-waterfront rooms as well as one room with a king bed and two twin beds, but with no balcony, perfect for larger families. Included with your stay is a small continental breakfast with warm muffins, bagels, and orange juice with coffee upon request. We deliver to your room or breakfast can be enjoyed in our third floor widows walk lounge. However don't hesitate to try many of our great downtown Beaufort dining locales, all within a few blocks of our location on the waterfront. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inlet Inn And Conference Center
Inlet Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing