We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Beaufort”
Review of The Inn on Turner

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaufort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn on Turner
Ranked #2 of 8 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Beaufort”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Mary was very helpful with info of the area-serves a great breakfast, simple and just enough to get you going in the morning. The location is within walking distance of downtown waterfront-and what a great porch to sit out and relax on when you get back! Mary's artwork alone is enough to make you want to stay here! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeneandDamita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This charming inn, which is tastefully furnished with stately antiques, is within easy walking distance of Beaufort’s beautiful waterfront. The shared spaces are distinctive and inviting, while the sleeping quarters are charming, clean, and comfortable.

Simple and satisfying breakfast offerings include bagels, cream cheese, butter, jam, pastries, fresh fruit, juices, a selection of fine teas, and excellent coffee – served in the Cotter Hurst Gallery which features the distinctive artwork of the warm and welcoming innkeeper.

The tariff is reasonable and fair, and the ambiance is refined and relaxed. We cannot wait to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindenTreeMeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights at the end of May. Had a great time. The B&B only has 3 rooms so it is intimate, private and very comfortable.

We also really enjoyed the art by the owner and her decorating is excellent. The owners are friendly and create a very relaxing and peaceful atmosphere in their B&B.

Location is very convenient; being only a few blocks from the waterfront. (Definitely recommend taking the ferry to Shackleford Island where you can hunt for sea shells or simply enjoy the beautiful views).

Breakfast is continental; so don't expect a three course meal... however I wouldn't let that put you off as we really enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sodgim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

My husband and I spent three wonderful nights at this beautiful Inn. The Inn is so charming and extremely clean. Mary is a wonderful host, she served us delightful breakfasts each morning in her gorgeous dining room. We really enjoyed the conversation with the other guests, over Marys delicious quiches and sausages, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs and coffee cakes each morning. The Inn is located just a few blocks from the waterfront, which has many restaurants and shops. We stayed in Ethan's room which is very comfortable and has a nice bathroom. We also enjoyed the tv room that is just outside of the bedrooms. We are looking forward to staying at the Old Seaport Inn again next year!! Thank you Mary, for sharing your beautiful home with us!

Geoff and Kim Taylor

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kim58204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2010

If you're interested in the bed, this place is fine. If you're interested in the breakfast, forget it!

We enjoyed two comfortable nights here while we visited historic Beaufort, NC and it's environs. Our room was not spacious, but it's an old house, after all. There was plenty of additional lounging area, and we enjoyed relaxing on the second floor patio during the rain. We also enjoyed the use of their wireless network, which was an unexpected surprise.

But, if you enjoy B&B stays because of the yummy breakfasts, this is NOT the place for you. We had the same warmed-up quiches, sausage, canned fruit juice, and packaged fruit cups that the guests from July 2008 must have enjoyed, AND we had it all over again the second day of our stay! Yes, it was breakfast, and in a stretch some might say it's on a par with those free "continental" breakfasts some motels offer you, but it was not at all what we've come to expect at a B&B.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trientje138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldseaport, Owner at The Inn on Turner, responded to this review, 21 August 2010
First of all, I want to thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business. I remember you clearly, you were great guests, and thank you for your compliments regarding the Old Seaport Inn. We pride ourselfves on what we offer as far as quality. We have recently expanded our breakfast menu to offer our guest a change during their two night stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2007

We stayed in the Cotter Hurst room for 3 nights. The room is somewhat small (since this used to be a family home, the bathroom was put in later inside the room), but the bed is fabulous (stearn's & foster) and there's adequate room for 2 people. There's a good size walk-in shower in the bathroom and a ceiling fan and A/C which is nice. The best part was just hanging out with Mary and F.J. over morning quiche, danishes, cereal and great coffee and tea. The second story veranda/balcony is flanked by trees where I watched the birds and drank wine from the great wine shop down the street. Mary has a nice garden surrounding the property and has a studio where she creates most of the art work that decorates the walls of The Inn. We had a relaxing stay for our first B&B experience!

  • Liked — Great breakfast, great owners
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank shadowsmygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
2.8 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
186 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
583 reviews
4.6 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pecan Tree Inn
Pecan Tree Inn
#1 of 8 in Beaufort
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Turner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Turner

Property: The Inn on Turner
Address: 217 Turner St, Beaufort, NC 28516-2140 (Formerly Old Seaport Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Inn on Turner we strive to ensure your stay is most comfortable and relaxing. The recently renovated bed and breakfast boasts transitional coastal decor, luxury linens and exceedingly comfortable pillow top mattresses with fluffy hypo allergenic pillows for an exceptional night's rest. We serve you a gourmet breakfast each morning and a delicious selection of appetizers with wines each evening. Please ...be our guest soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing