We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Historical House”
Review of The Inn on Turner

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaufort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn on Turner
Ranked #2 of 8 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a small historical house in walking distance of downtown. Very well appointed and comfortable common areas. The innkeeper is onsite and very friendly and service oriented - we enjoyed meeting and talking with her. Our room was small but very comfortable. There was a lot of activity the weekend we were there so there was quite a bit of traffic noise. Noise from other guests talking in the wee hours was bothersome. A simple continental breakfast is served.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

We loved our stay at the Old Seaport Inn! The location is wonderful being so close to the waterfront with all its shops and eateries. During our stay the Historical society had their outdoor fundraiser event just a couple blocks down. My husband and I spent a lovely, relaxing evening on the front porch catching the breeze, sipping wine, chatting, listening to the music, and casually speaking with the party-goers as they strolled by. So nice being close enough to benefit from the festivity and still quiet enough to be lulled by the peacefulness.
The room was somewhat small, but pretty, cozy, and most importantly- clean. The bed was so comfortable and provided a great night's sleep. Mary was so welcoming and easy to speak with that we really felt at home. Her art work is great which is all around the house. (I was especially awed by some of her prints. The detail!) We greatly enjoyed the stay and visiting with Mary. Yep, we made a good decision when we decided to go to the Old Seaport Inn. Not only would we recommend the it, we have recommended it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We often go to Beaufort but don't usually stay overnight. But for our 20th anniversary we decided to stay over for 1 night.
There are a number of B and B's in Beaufort but we decided on this one. The rates are lower than others in the area and the location is excellent. Once you park your car you can walk everywhere. Lots of shops and restaurants in the area. 2-3 wine shops also to get some wine to bring back to the room and enjoy..
We spent the day at Atlantic Beach and its a 15 minute ride into Beaufort.
The room was very nice and we had access to the porch where we sat and enjoyed some wine we got at the local shop.
Mary the owner greeted us and showed us the room she was very nice and gave us the key and showed us the nice upper porch where we did spend some time. There are 2 sitting areas in the inn, one up and one down but the weather wasn't to hot to sit outside.
Breakfast was good again as they said bagels and some coffee cake and fruit OJ and the coffee was very good.

We would come here again.

Room Tip: They only have 3 rooms ours was Captain Jacks Room facing the front but its on a back street so its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nevilledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, Owner at The Inn on Turner, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

NEW OWNERSHIP & RENOVATION ALERT: Tripadvisor REFUSEES TO REMOVE. This photo is not part of the Inn on Turner...nfortunately Tripadvisor refuses to remove from our page. Our apologies for any confusion regarding decor or amenities

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed for the Beaufort Music Festival May 10-11 when other B&Bs were charging more than twice the rates than here at this charming artist's house where we had a comfortable clean room and bathroom.

Mary prepares a simple breakfast with coffee, juice, fruit, bagels and cake. If you want the works, it's just a few minutes walk to the Board Walk Cafe beside the water and an all you can eat mega cooked breakfast buffet for under $10. In fact everything is within easy walking distance from the Old Seaport Inn in lovely historic Beaufort.

Off road parking is behind the house beside Mary's studio. The house also has lower and upper decks for sitting outside and a TV area outside the three rooms. On Saturday morning there is a small farmers' market right opposite the B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buenvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldseaport, Owner at The Inn on Turner, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thanks for your great comments. We enjoy all of our guests and look forward to you coming for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

May 10 & 11, The Beaufort Music Festival was held in Beaufort, NC. We have visited Beaufort in the past and have stayed at the "Old Seaport Inn", small B&B on Turner street. While there we walked all over town, including walking to the BMF and back to the B&B easily since the Inn is only a few blocks from the waterfront where the festival was being held. In essence we parked the car when we got there on Friday and had no need to move it before leaving on Sunday. The proprietor, Mary as always was friendly and welcoming, the Inn was very clean, literally, Health dept "A" rating at 100.0%. Breakfast is simple, coffee, tea and juices, fresh pastry and bagels with cream cheese and very quiet setting. Our adult daughter joined us for this trip and was well pleased with the accommodations as well. We will most assuredly return to this place again and again.

Room Tip: We have stayed 3 times in the Cotter Hurst room, though all 3 rooms seem to be of the same comfort a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spike_hotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldseaport, Owner at The Inn on Turner, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Hello....Third Visit, Great Venue. We enjoyed having you again. Especially this visit with your son perfoming at the music festival, how nice your daughter could come as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Old Seaport Inn in Beaufort, NC and had a great experience. Mary, the innkeeper is super hospitable but still gives you plenty of space. The inn only has three rooms making it feel quaint and intimate. The inn itself has by far the very best sheets I've ever slept on and the room was just as charming. The bathroom is a bit small, but perfectly functional. The house itself is only two blocks from Front Street. We parked our car on Friday when we checked in and didn't touch it again until Sunday when we left; a great walking town. Breakfast on their website sounds a bit 'cheap' but honestly, it's the best coffee bagels and pastry there is. I swear there must be something in the water because even with tempting local breakfast joints, we ate at the inn each morning.

We cannot wait to come back and are already planning to get two other couple so we can rent out the whole house.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ethan Room, but the other rooms also seemed nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassidyWeathersby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldseaport, Owner at The Inn on Turner, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Hello.....We appreciate your stay. Your comments about the sheets and coffee couldn't be better.
Getting your friends together to take all three rooms upstairs would be a pleasure. Let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The Inn is clean and comfortable, Mary's art is wonderful, and we loved the choice of classic lines. (Why so many B&B owners feel like they have to make everything "Victorian" fussy with dusty dollies on everything is beyond me- this place was the exception.) Old Seaport Inn is simple, pleasant and has great lighting! Location is excellent. I had some difficulty sleeping as the bed was not comfortable and the plastic blinds did not block the outside light. Breakfast was light (see earlier descriptions) and we couldn't find any place in town that served breakfast. http://www.oldseaportinn.com/

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youngarmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
798 reviews
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Pecan Tree Inn
Pecan Tree Inn
#1 of 8 in Beaufort
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ann Street Inn
Ann Street Inn
#3 of 8 in Beaufort
142 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Turner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Turner

Address: 217 Turner St, Beaufort, NC 28516-2140 (Formerly Old Seaport Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range: £71 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Inn on Turner we strive to ensure your stay is most comfortable and relaxing. The recently renovated bed and breakfast boasts transitional coastal decor, luxury linens and exceedingly comfortable pillow top mattresses with fluffy hypo allergenic pillows for an exceptional night's rest. We serve you a gourmet breakfast each morning and a delicious selection of appetizers with wines each evening. Please ...be our guest soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing