We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed up experience”
Review of Pecan Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pecan Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2012

pro : the location one block off the port, the great restaurant in front, the "front desk lady" : a character, the breakfast, the bikes you can use for free
Cons : the owner, just walking along in the house, the air conditioning, too cold (we got flu) and nothing that can be done according to the owner.........
inside and outside everything need a big refreshment

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

This was one of the pricerier places we stayed during our recent North Carolina trip. It was dissapoitingly tired. We paid an extra $50 dollars for the large king room, but the mattress was well worn and did not provide a good night's rest. Also the breakfast provided, while nice, was continental, self-serve - not what we would expect for the most expensive B&B in town.

The inn-keepers were great - attentive, but not intrusive and the location was great.

Room Tip: Skip the king room for a better night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lga311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This bed and breakfast inn was truly a surprise. The setting, one half block from the main street on the waterfront in a residential area, was tranquil. The inn was beautifully restored with comfortable rooms, bathrooms and great views. Plenty of porch space to sit outside reading, talking or having tea/coffee/breakfast, and take in the sweet air. The breakfast was different every day, with fresh-cooked pastry, fresh fruit, a selection of coffee and tea, plus the chance to eat alone or with company. Two bikes were available for touring the nearby streets and exploring the diversity of homes dating to the 1700's. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCtxplt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Greeted warmly by innkeeper and our every need was met throughout the weekend. Great bed! Breakfast was delightful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salidago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Pecan Tree Inn is a great choice when staying in Beaufort. Our room, #4, was spacious and comfortable and the whirlpool tub was a nice addition. The only suggestion I would have would be to update the tv to a larger flat screen. The breakfast was adequate and as advertised. Coffee is available 24 hours which is also a nice touch.

We were serenaded all night by the tree frogs, very relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrampaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We enjoyed The Pecan Tree B&B very much. It was a very well-maintained historic home in Beaufort. The accommodations were excellent as were the breakfasts. If we ever go back that way, we would certainly want to stay at the Pecan Tree, and if any of our friends are ever going over that way, we would tell them about the Pecan Tree and our good experience there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broadus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Pecan Tree Inn for one night after our wedding in one of their suites. It was a great place to stay and the owner and keepers were great to work with. I could certainly stay there again!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DB100_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
2.9 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
225 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
789 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
663 reviews
4.6 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pecan Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pecan Tree Inn

Address: 116 Queen St, Beaufort, NC 28516-2214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range: £104 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pecan Tree Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Crystal Coast Getaway, Beaufort, North Carolinas most popular and romantic B&B since 1991, the Pecan Tree is in the heart of the Beaufort Historic District, just a few steps from the yacht harbor and across the street from Beaufort Grocery Co. and Blue Moon Bistro, with in walking distance to restaurants, shops, museums and the famed historical sites. Renowned for its hospitality, the Pecan Tree has seven gracious rooms and ample porches for rocking and socializing. Open year-round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Pecan Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing