We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off-season stay”
Review of Pecan Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pecan Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I stayed one night in late December in the Blue Room. The room and inn were excellent as was the service by host Dave. We would definitely return for another stay. Dave went out of his way to help us find something we were looking for in the neighboring town of Morehead City. The inn and its surrounding area are very historical, so lots to see even in the middle of winter.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank djewell48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We've stayed at the Inn four times now, and cannot think that we will ever stay elsewhere. The house is old and magnificent. The owner does a great job in keeping it up. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing, and comfortable place to stay in a quaint seaside village, this is the place. You can explore all of Beaufort by foot, and access to ferries to the outer banks are a short drive. I recommend the boat to Shackleford Banks to see the wild ponies and enjoy miles of beach all to yourself. Do yourself a favor, and slow down and relax here. We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Stay upstairs if possible, in one of the rooms with the second floor porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spitfirelvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable place to stay in Beaufort, this might be a place to stay. Our room had a comfortable bed but the bedroom itself was a bit tired. The breakfast was ready early and hearty enough to get you through the day. They were very helpful in accommodating a special foods need. It was a short walk to the water and the shops and restaurants. This is a very convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a great place to stay in Beaufort - about half a block from the waterfront shops, bars and restaurants. The room was very nice. The antique furnishings make it seem like you have stepped back in time (well, except for having wireless)! My only minor quibble was that the room was not quite as dark as I prefer because of outside lighting. The breakfasts were excellent. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Beaufort suite is very nice with a king-sized bed and jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Pecan Tree Inn is my favorite place to stay in Beaufort. It is located in a perfect spot near the water and within walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants. The only thing you will need a car for is to get to Atlantic beach and the aquarium if you want to head to the touristy part of the area. They have boat rides to see the wild ponies and sunset cruises that leave just around the corner from the Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We just enjoyed our third annual visit to this great b&b, steps from the Beaufort waterfront and a bunch of great restaurants. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, and 'continental breakfast' does not do justice to the amazing fresh-baked pastries, fresh fruits etc prepared by the Inn manager and offered each morning in the pleasant dining room. I highly recommend the Pecan Tree. It's a perfect blend of privacy and hospitality

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13cwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The rooms are nice, the innkeeper is more than cordial, and the breakfast includes some very delicious homemade pastries. Most importantly, the location is excellent. The inn is situated in the heart of Beaufort's historic district--all the major attractions and restaurants are in walking distance. Moreover, the Pecan Tree inn has a pair of old-school Schwinn bicycles for guest use.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMDedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
2.9 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
220 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
781 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
659 reviews
4.6 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pecan Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pecan Tree Inn

Address: 116 Queen St, Beaufort, NC 28516-2214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range: £110 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pecan Tree Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Crystal Coast Getaway, Beaufort, North Carolinas most popular and romantic B&B since 1991, the Pecan Tree is in the heart of the Beaufort Historic District, just a few steps from the yacht harbor and across the street from Beaufort Grocery Co. and Blue Moon Bistro, with in walking distance to restaurants, shops, museums and the famed historical sites. Renowned for its hospitality, the Pecan Tree has seven gracious rooms and ample porches for rocking and socializing. Open year-round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pecan Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing