We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay!”
Review of Pecan Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pecan Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

What a great location....just enough off the main drag to feel residential---perfect spot. Very clean and neat, great parking, and lovely grounds. Two restaurants right across the street. I'd return, and would encourage friends to do so as well.

Jo Anne S.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blountstreetadvisors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to get a room at the B&B Pecan Tree Inn in Beaufort, North Carolina. It is centrally located in this wonderful seaside town - across the street from two very fine restaurants, and walking distance to everything else you could possible want. The owners - Sherry and Dave could not have done anything more to make our stay perfect. Sherry and Dave bake fresh and provide a substantial breakfast fare. We will definitely stay with them again when we are back in Beaufort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Pecan Tree Inn B&B on Queen Street and have definitely decided we will never return there again.

The inn does have some features that are positive. For one, it has adequate off road parking. It allows you to get your car off a very busy one way street.

It was clean.

And, I believe it is the closest inn to the main street where most of the action takes place. It is no more than a two minute slow walk to the intersection where you can go right and visit all the stores, or, you can go left and book a ferry ride or some kind of water and boat ride. Or, you can go straight and get breakfast.

That is about it for the positive.

Our room turned out significantly smaller than the impression given by the picture on the internet. That didn’t bother us as we have encountered that before. However, if you are “mature….up in age….or old like me”, you might consider not getting the Blue Room. The top of the bed sits a solid 35 ½ inches up from the floor and we found no step stool to help get in. We did find a wicker type stool but if I stood on that thing it would have folded in a second. The bed was comfortable, once we managed to get into it.

The negative. And, the very disappointing.

Our first morning we go down and there is nothing hot or faintly warm for breakfast.

There is fruit, cereal, bread, banana cake and some kind of egg kuchen (cake) plate. I touched it and it was cold, not room temperature as the owner tried to convince me, but cold. I know cold when I touch cold. I made it clear that this was not satisfactory and asked if there was a Waffle House anywhere nearby where we could get a hot breakfast. She indicated there was a restaurant that served breakfast right at the intersection. That is where we had breakfast.

The next day we came down and one would think they would find something hot to eat considering the day before. You know, please the customers. Nope. The same cold….actually colder this time when I stuck my finger in it… egg kuchen. There were some kind of buns under a towel but I didn’t test them and we just left.

We went once again to the breakfast place we ate at the day before. As we settled in the waitress asked if there was anything else she could do for us. I told her to make up a nice plate of hot food and take it to the B&B we were staying (I did not say the name) so they could see what a proper breakfast looks like. She started laughing and actually said, “Oh, I bet you are staying at the Pecan Inn aren’t you? We hear that all the time about them.”

It is obvious the management of this establishment only cares if the check clears and nothing about the satisfaction of their guests. We have stayed at other B&Bs in Beaufort and had great breakfasts. And considering we were the ONLY guests there how hard would it have been to make a decent breakfast? Over $350 and a cold egg dish? Really?

Room Tip: Ask bed heigth.....ask if you go somewhere else for breakfast can the room be less costly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank richinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubuisson, Owner at Pecan Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

I am truly sorry that the writer did not enjoy his stay with us. Contrary to his assumption, we do care very much about giving our guests good value and making their stay in Beaufort one to remember warmly. We take criticism seriously and, over the 12 years of our ownership, have made a number of improvements as a result of comments by guests. The Pecan Tree has operated successfully for more than 20 years, and we continue to look for ways to get better.
Apart from the height of his bed (a four-poster with a thick mattress) and perceived inadequacy of the footstool, the the heart of the writer’s complaint is that we served him the continental breakfast as advertised. This is the same kind of breakfast that, for over 20 years, Pecan Tree guests have been enjoying and returning for. It is not country ham and grits and gravy. Nothing wrong with that – we like a country breakfast now and then as much as the next person – but for various reasons, the Pecan Tree has always taken a different direction.
We take breakfast seriously. We seek out and serve the best fresh fruit. We bake from scratch every day, maintaining a repertoire that is continuously improving – occasionally with a recipe shared by a guest. The fresh apple kuchen which the writer declined to sample is one of those recipes. (If it was cooler than room temperature, that was our mistake.) Another house specialty is our scones, served warm from the oven. Guests frequently ask for the recipes, and we gladly oblige. Had the writer investigated “some kind of buns under a towel,” he would have found freshly baked scones.
In reflecting on this critique of our breakfast, I find myself feeling a little like a Ford dealer whose customer was disappointed that he wasn’t offered a Chevy.
Like any successful business, we are always trying to do a better job of what we do. We listen to our customers and we respond. We also take some comfort from knowing that of 90-plus TripAdvisor reviews, all but a very few are extremely positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Very friendly staff; Dave & Sherry. Room was spacious, clean and had two person Jacuzzi. Comfortable bed. The breakfast is not gourmet, but it is good enough to start off the day. There is on site parking and it is within walking distance of all the fine restaurants in Beaufort (Bowfort).

Room Tip: This place was built in 1866. If your room is a little chilly use one of the extra blanket they prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BILLB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Staying during a cool spell in December, we found our room uncomfortably cold and the common areas quite warm. There is no separate temperature control for the room. Considering the high pricing of the rooms, the continental breakfast provided seems cheap. We stayed here before, some years back, and my recollection is they then provided a full breakfast with some kind of a warm egg main entree. The location is great and the room seemed nice considering the age of the building.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2ndfiddletoher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I stayed one night in late December in the Blue Room. The room and inn were excellent as was the service by host Dave. We would definitely return for another stay. Dave went out of his way to help us find something we were looking for in the neighboring town of Morehead City. The inn and its surrounding area are very historical, so lots to see even in the middle of winter.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank djewell48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We've stayed at the Inn four times now, and cannot think that we will ever stay elsewhere. The house is old and magnificent. The owner does a great job in keeping it up. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing, and comfortable place to stay in a quaint seaside village, this is the place. You can explore all of Beaufort by foot, and access to ferries to the outer banks are a short drive. I recommend the boat to Shackleford Banks to see the wild ponies and enjoy miles of beach all to yourself. Do yourself a favor, and slow down and relax here. We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Stay upstairs if possible, in one of the rooms with the second floor porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spitfirelvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
2.9 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
230 reviews
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
10.5 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
796 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
669 reviews
4.6 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pecan Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pecan Tree Inn

Address: 116 Queen St, Beaufort, NC 28516-2214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range: £80 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pecan Tree Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Crystal Coast Getaway, Beaufort, North Carolinas most popular and romantic B&B since 1991, the Pecan Tree is in the heart of the Beaufort Historic District, just a few steps from the yacht harbor and across the street from Beaufort Grocery Co. and Blue Moon Bistro, with in walking distance to restaurants, shops, museums and the famed historical sites. Renowned for its hospitality, the Pecan Tree has seven gracious rooms and ample porches for rocking and socializing. Open year-round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Pecan Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing