We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay in Beaufort”
Review of Beaufort Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaufort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beaufort Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Set at the end of a leafy and charming street, by the water's edge and within strolling distance of the centre of lovely Beaufort, the location of this hotel is ideal. The rooms are well appointed and nicely furnished, and come with balconies and rocking chairs in which to relax.

We found the people who run the hotel to be friendly and charming and thoroughly enjoyed our two day stay here. I was actually close to rating our visit a five star affair and the only thing stopping us doing so was the breakfast. I have read several negative comments re the breakfast they serve here and wonder if the owners should drop the "famous breakfast" claim from their literature, as this perhaps raises expectations a tad too high.

Certainly if I was asked in advance to outline what a "famous breakfast" might include, I would likely list a selection of fresh fruits; cheeses and cold meats; sausages and hams and a choice of egg dishes. The reality is that the breakfast options here are limited by the microwave and, apart from French toast, the only hot item is the breakfast pie. As quiches go this is actually pretty good, and was fine for a couple of days, but I can't imagine having it every day for a week, and would certainly be craving some scrambled or poached eggs, or perhaps an omelette.

But back to our overall impression of the Beaufort Inn. It is areally nice hotel run by nice people and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

The room was great with an enormous modern bathroom. Good in house restaurant and great location. The service is efficient and concierges very helpful. However, if you like to read in bed the lighting is poor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanUReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Don't waste your time with this company. The staff is not competent enough to complete your reservation. You might find yourself without a room on the day you need it. The owner is rude at best. Save yourself and book elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We chose this hotel due to reputation appearance and location. There was a large group of people staying the same weekend as us (appeared for a wedding). Staff did not seem prepared for number of people at breakfast. But the worst was Saturday night when people were loud on the 3 rd floor. Beer cans everywhere. Someone riding a bicycle on the 3rd level. Knocking on our door several times throughout the night. No hotel staff available after midnight to notify. We paid between 300-400 a night! And this us what we got. When letting management know the next morning, NO mention of compensation or refund for the night of any kind. Based on this, could not recommend as there are quite a few other options in the area that we would stay the next time. Very frustrating because we are sure those partying all night did not pay full price due to the wedding party.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lasjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaufortInnNC, Owner at Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

I read your review and was very, very surprised. This whole Inn was booked for this wedding party since last October of 2013. If you were not part of the wedding party - we should not have taken your reservation. And they did not get special rates - we do not give special rates on weekends. We were extremely shorthanded Saturday morning and the wedding party knew this and actually helped the staff out - which we were very grateful for. I am sorry you stayed this particular weekend as it was a fun weekend for the wedding party - we did get lots of compliments from them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A lovely location, right on the waterfront in Beaufort and easy walking distance to the town's main street. The rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast choice is a little limited, but the 'breakfast pie' is really tasty. I really enjoyed the outdoor spa in a nice secluded corner of the property. A colleague who had stayed there several times hadn't noticed it before.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zotsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Welcoming reception, great location just at the waterfront. Nicely appointed rooms, not brand-new but well kept and balcony with great view over harbour. Breakfast is served by friendly staff. Restaurants are nearby. Overall definitely recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Roadtoholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaufortInnNC, Manager at Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Beaufort Inn, and her in Beaufort. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I spent Easter weekend at the Beaufort Inn and it was our first visit in several years. We had a waterfront room with a nice porch although it was too cold and rainy to use. Large room with a king-sized bed, microwave and good size refrigerator. Comfortable arm chair and plenty of light. The only disappointment about the Beaufort Inn is the breakfast, which I have always found to be a little lacking. Very convenient location to downtown restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the water. In good weather, you can sit on the porch and watch the boats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaufortInnNC, Manager at Beaufort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

We are glad that you came back after several years and stayed with us, and that you enjoyed your stay her in Beaufort. We do appreciate your feedback on breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
2.6 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
220 reviews
6.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
659 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
441 reviews
4.3 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort Inn

Address: 101 Ann St, Beaufort, NC 28516-2101
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Beaufort
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range: £68 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaufort Inn is the perfect place to relax in historic Beaufort, NC. We are located right on the water and in the heart of the historic district. During the day you'll enjoy walking down the streets lined with historic homes and beautiful gardens. You can pick up the perfect gift in one of the unique shops or enjoy fresh local seafood at one of the cafes or restaurants. You'll enjoy relaxing in the rocking chairs on your private balcony where you can watch the boats come in and see amazing sunsets or unwind in our extra large hot tub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing