We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, but not a Bed and Breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaufort Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaufort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beaufort Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Milton, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Charming, but not a Bed and Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The reviews posted list this as a Bed and Breakfast, but let me be clear: unless you are a senior citizen and used to eating an English muffin or store bought Danish for breakfast, this is not a B&B. I'm from New England where a B&B/innkeeper cooks a fresh breakfast for you, not a college kid toasting up a piece of complementary toast. There were three things to choose from on the breakfast "menu": breakfast pie, cereal and toast or croissant. You were served coffee and juice per usual.

As for the Inn rooms, it has it's quintessential charm with each room balcony fitted with rocking chairs that looked out over the docks and waterway. The Inn still uses real keys which felt sort of "old world". The rooms were clean and average, but not like northern Inns I've been to. Our room had little fridge.

The service was good and the staff were pleasant. I've travelled quite a bit and have stayed a both budget bad luxury Inns and hotels and I'm surprised by the five star reviews given from other reviewers. I consider this an average establishment.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 310, which faced the waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    86
    25
    5
    16
See reviews for
58
144
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This charming place has the hospitality of a fine bed and breakfast AND the privacy and modern conveniences of a national chain hotel. The staff, room, food and view all contributed to our wonderful mini- vacation.
Check-in was delightful with rooms ready early - when was the last time that happened to you. Check out was equally pleasant. During one evening we chatted with the "night manager" (my term, not his) and he was wonderful. We would return just to chat with him.
Breakfast each day was a nice surpass. SO MUCH BETTER than those "breakfast bars at the chains! They also gave us great tips about bars and restaurants. Thanks again!

Room Tip: I don't think there are bad rooms since the rooms without a view are less expensive. Our rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hikerws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Sitting in the rocking chair on our balcony overlooking the Beaufort inlet and drawbridge. Savoring the afternoon treats of BIG chocolate chip and oatmeal cookies. Enjoying our morning breakfast of Katie's Breakfast Pie, coffee, juice, yoghurt. Perfect location for everything Beaufort with a welcoming, family feel. Ask for a room facing the inlet. Katie (owner) gave us excellent recommendations for the Historic Homes tour. If you are there for the tour (late June each year), don't forget to enjoy a delicious lunch ($5.00 per person) at the Episcopal Church on Ann Street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkFrancefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Found this place through AAA book, so glad we detoured through Beaufort! Staff is exceptionally pleasant and helpful, rooms are outstanding. The feel of a bed and breakfast with the comforts of a hotel. Within walking distance of all activities and restaurants. A great place and town to just relax. Highly recommend staying here if you travel through this area!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pj O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here while on business in Beaufort. Usually stay at another place, but the internet was really bad there last time, so tried the Beaufort Inn on the recommendation of a colleague. This is a small hotel right on the Gallants channel away from the bustle of the downtown area, but within easy walking distance. It's very relaxing to sit outside and watch the fishing boats. The rooms are dated, but very clean. The breakfast includes a couple of hot choices as well as pastries, fruit and yogurt and is served. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I was there during the week and it was very quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the waterfront have great views of the channel and fishing boats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My family spent two nights in a room with two beds. The rooms were clean, a little small, and alright. The beds were on the hard side and the AC was a bit noisy. The balcony was nice, especially since there was usually a cool breeze. The breakfasts were a bit nicer than the typical hotel breakfast and included a breakfast pie or french toast, yogurt, danish, stewed apples, and choice of juices. The fitness room equipment was a bit run down, especially the elliptical unit. The swings next to the water were a nice place to relax in the evening or morning. The hotel is located in a nice part of town and a quick walk to the historic sections.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zautman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed twice at the Beaufort Inn and both times the Inn was clean with good service. The rooms are a little dated but, clean and the location is hard to beat! You can walk to local restaurants and shops. The free breakfast the Inn offers is great, I really enjoyed it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Capt Jot O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
2.6 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
6.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pecan Tree Inn
Pecan Tree Inn
#1 of 9 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort Inn

Property: Beaufort Inn
Address: 101 Ann St, Beaufort, NC 28516-2101
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Beaufort
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaufort Inn is a first class facility with 40 well appointed rooms and suites. It's just a short walk along streets lined with Historic Homes and Gardens, near all the shops, restaurants, and rich history that Beaufort has to offer. View a wide variety of fishing trawlers, sail boats and the most amazing sunset from your private balcony with the red rocking chairs. At Beaufort Inn you'll experience a present and past you won't forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing