We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What happened to the downtown?????” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmont Historic District

Belmont Historic District
Ranked #5 of 19 things to do in Belmont
Attraction details
Concord, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What happened to the downtown?????”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

A very disappointing day. The usually very personable lady who owns Blythe Gift shop had the door locked when my friend and I approached and as we were leaving as she opened the door and announced "You can come in, I don't like to keep the door unlocked when I'm here by myself"!!! How was one to shop if she is going to keep the door locked whenever she's by herself; this was at 10:45 am on a Thursday morning! So disappointed to see the vacant shop windows, at least two had closed since our last visit of one year ago. We did buy a coffee at the local cafe but didn't feel like staying around for lunch so we went back to Concord for lunch in a more bustling, "open for business" atmosphere!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanneG812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
206 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Belmont is a beautiful little town ! So many things to see & do! A beautiful walk downtown! Old historic homes & building. A place to come and spend the day take beautiful pictures visit old homes & railroad cars! Spb

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, friendly, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

At the Caravan coffee shop the very friendly young lady, who is studying to be a teacher, told us about each restaurant.
We choose Stringbeans - fresh food (the meat & fish are on display), good prices.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gypsyfeet39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The town that came back to life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

When the textile industry fled overseas a few years ago, Belmont was left a ghost town. They have come back to life in a big way and seem to be doing things right!

Very pleasant to stroll down Main Street during the day or evening. A great park for the kids and families, nice affordable restaurants and pizza places. The antique/consignment shops offer hours of browsing for unusual treasures and clothing. There is even an ice cream soda shoppe and upscale clothing boutique. That, along with the mansions of former mill owners and managers create a wonderful small-town atmosphere. Just wish the Belmont General Store had been able to continue in business!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mizram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Downtown Belmont Rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Downtown Belmont is not only historic, but ALIVE! All store fronts are open and offer everything from antiques to the latest fashions. The restaurants are all well priced with tasty treats for whatever you are craving. An Art studio and Spy (survalience) necessities shop rest along the cobblestone walkways. There's always a crowd walking alone, with friends or with their children and pets. The stores even have thought to have water bowls along the sidewalks for our furry friends to take a break ... It's a beautiful place to visit and to live.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belmont Historic District also viewed

 

Been to Belmont Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing