We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good stay”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Black Mountain
New England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Pretty good stay”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

TripAdvisor is totally irresponsible in their inability to change the name of a motel or restaurant. I know one that has changed its name twice since listed here. This is a Quality Inn. Now, on to the review....

The parking here is very good. The woman at check-in was a little snippy, but that was minor since everyone else (and they have a lot of employees) was nice. The room itself was big with a love seat and queen-sized bed. The Heat / AC is set by an exact temperature you choose so it does not run all the time. This can be bad if you have noise to drown out. You can run the fan full time, but only with reasonable outside temperatures.

The TV is 32” and takes a long time to come on. Don’t keep pushing the power button, or you’ll never get it right. A measly 30 or so channels were a disappointment.

The bathroom was the biggest problem. It is tiny with a lot of broken spots; it needs to be redone. The sink had good counter space, which I depend on. Very little light came through the curtains, and the noise level was good despite being across from a truck stop and the interstate. The Wi-Fi was excellent, as was the breakfast.

I had a problem with the room, and several staff members worked on and off all day to correct it. While I would rather not have a problem, I appreciated the amazing effort. I will stay here again.

Scooper47’s top tips: 1. To be on the safe side for noise, try to get a room in the back. I was not able to.
2. They will run the safe scam on you so be sure to have it taken off your bill before you hand over your credit card at check-out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooper47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    54
    26
    10
    11
See reviews for
43
35
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
206 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Black Mountain's Quality Inn is a great alternative to finding an Asheville hotel. As summer approaches every Asheville podunk hotel/motel jacks their prices up by a good $80-100 over their standard rate for Friday or Saturday night but this Quality Inn in Black Mountain is a good alternative at just under $95. Its about 15 miles to downtown Asheville or you can enjoy fabulous local restaurants nearby and shopping. (Its almost a mini Asheville) The QI has great QUEEN beds and quiet rooms. Our standard room had two queens, a frigerator, and a microwave. The beds were comfortable to me but other family members found them a bit soft. I recommend a stay here anytime. My only minus is that the breakfast was not so good on food quality, layout and eating area; the coffee was yuck. I would plan on going to the nearby breakfast grill restaurants for morning fare. BUT it was nice to get some very fresh popcorn for an evening snack. Parking can be a real challenge if you are on the back side of the motel. All doors face outside but this is a quiet and safe area so we did not find that to be a negative. Quality Inn in Black Mountain is a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side since the back parking lot is a bit crowded and you cannot drive ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeNC070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night and we were pleased with this hotel. I was concerned by some of the other reviews but I really liked it. Great location to many restaurants and sight seeing. Very close to downtown Black Mountain. It's now a Quality Inn. Staff was very nice both on the phone and in person. We'll stay here again when we come back to this area! Great shower too!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

In town for a week for business training conference at Ridgecrest. This Quality Inn has no major deficiencies and is adequate. Great location just off I40, across street from Ingles supermarket/Starbucks and several fast food locations. Phil's BBQ is one block away and central Black Mountain is just .5 mile away. If you are one to not like older hotels where some of the caulk is missing in the showers(I.e) then not for you. Microwave and fridge in rooms and everything works. Breakfast consisted of microwave sausage patties, yogurt, cereal, toast, bagels, waffles, fruit, hard boiled eggs, coffee and juice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mule8654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We just needed a place to perch before a morning rendezvous in Asheville, and the Quality Inn was more than satisfactory. Conveniently located off the interstate and just a few blocks from "downtown" Black Mountain, it had all the amenities and was comfortable, reasonably priced and far enough from the train tracks so that the walls of the room did not shake each time a train went by!

Room Tip: Our room faced the back parking lot, so we had no views of the mountains, but you can get your fill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nini807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quitman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It was too late to go to another hotel!
Prior call directly to hotel to verify sufficient parking for truck and boat trailer, we were told oh yes plenty of parking. That is not the case - we had to go next door to park after getting permission from that business. The hotel host was rude when we ask where we should park - he really didn't care and he couldn't get off his personal call on his cell phone to help us or talk to us. Walkways and stairs were dirty with spilled food & drinks. Room smelled bad - I think the bed linens were clean - I sure checked it out before sleeping in it. Extremely noisy with trains nearby & people walking along the outside walkway. When we were ready to check out - the doors to that area was locked - the hostess lady hollered through the door needing to know what we wanted. She let us in - never said one single word to us.
Do not recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Black Mountain hotels

Newport, NC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our second stay at the Black Mountain Comfort Inn...and we'll be here the next time we come to town. The rooms are clean, comfortable, roomy - the staff is excellent and friendly - the breakfast, while predictable, has fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, waffles, sausage, eggs, bagels, toast...etc...coffee 24/7, popcorn 24/7 - free Wi-Fi - more than enough channels on the TV - plenty of parking - right off I40 - and nicely located in the great little mountain town of Black Mountain. We like to ride the motorcycle up here, and they were extremely accommodating of our motorcycle, truck and trailer. There are stores and restaurants close by...all you need for a comfortable stay. Right now, they are changing from a Comfort Inn to a Quality Inn...and renovating, but we weren't inconvenienced at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moreauak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
11.2 mi away
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 585 State Route 9, Black Mountain, NC 28711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Black Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Black Mountain
Comfort Inn Black Mountain
Black Mountain Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing