We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Room, Convenient Location & Friendly Helpful Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Black Mountain
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean Room, Convenient Location & Friendly Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

My husband and I just returned from a last minute 1st time trip to Black Mountain, NC. We had never been to the area before and had no idea what to expect after checking out the online reviews we booked a hotel in Asheville wary of booking this Comfort Inn. When we arrived in town early we asked to see a room at this location since it was located in the town of Black Mountain. The front office clerk was friendly and helpful and let us see a unit that was already cleaned and available. Since we were traveling with our small dog we asked to see a unit in the back of the hotel. The front side faces the mountains and we knew it would be busier and noiser. Upon inspection of the room we realized the reviews we read before taking our trip were obviously old and not up to date. This Comfort Inn room was spotless and tidy clean. When I went to the front to ask the rate if we stayed for 2 nights. The rate I paid was only $80 per night plus pet fee $25. I did receive a AAA Carolina discount of 10% off the $80 since I have a AAA Carolina card. That discount is nice. There is a small pool but at least there is a pool. Laundry room is on premises along with business center. Continental breakfast is included which is handy if you like that. There are so many wonderful places that have breakfast you may not want that. For the pet travelers: We learned: Most restaurants....if the restaurant has outside seating.....such as My Father's Pizza & Pasta which is a very popular Italian restaurant in town. You can bring your dog. One person would wait in line inside for the table for your name to be called for the outside seating. The other would wait outside with your dog (or some people wait in the car with the dog and call each other) then when the person waiting is seated then you can come in through the outside gate with your dog. How nice is that? I suppose not so nice if you are not a dog friendly person but we are so we did not mind. This is how most restaurants work. Don't miss Ole Guac & Oak House for Lunch you won't regret it. Just ask anyone working the front desk, they will happily give you directions to any of these locations. Make sure to pick up a map of the town from them as well. Oh, and don't forget Kilwins for dessert............

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzie2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    53
    25
    10
    10
See reviews for
41
35
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

The Comfort Inn was a pleasant surprise - clean, updated, and comfortable. I enjoyed watching the sunset over the mountains. It is in a great location near town and across from a grocery store.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nctraveler5108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
various
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

They just renovated several rooms, we stayed in one. Everything was clean, fresh, and comfortable. The only downside is that it is just a tad too far to walk into town (just under a mile...not a very nice walk, but there is a side walk). However, there are plenty of chain restaurants right next to and in front of...as well as super market. The owners/managers are very nice and really seem to care about their hotel and guests.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalGypsy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2008

$ 90.00 / night for what??? I was afraid to touch the bath tub and the room smelled like entirely too much air freshener was used to cover up some other smell.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UkieGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Black Mountain hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

We visit Black Mountain every year and usually stay with family, but this time needed to stay at a hotel since so many family members were in town for a Fourth of July reunion.

We booked the Comfort Inn since it was near downtown and just about the only chain motel in town. The rate was about $140 per night for a standard, two-double bed room that included a small refrigerator and microwave.

The room was about what you would expect for a motel built about 15 years ago - outside hallways where you can pull up to your room if you're on the ground floor. There was a note on the table informing us that they had problems with the paint in the tub/shower and that they were working on fixing the peeling paint.

The only negative I have to mention is the front desk person, who happened to be the assistant general manager. Not exactly a friendly person - he barely spoke a word during both check-in and check-out and seemed to be rather disgruntled, though I'm not certain what about.

The breakfast was about what you'd expect at a Comfort Inn - nothing exceptional or worth noting other than we liked the waffle maker.

A new Day's Inn has been built west of Black Mountain near the Holiday Inn (where we've happily stayed before) so we might try that one next time we need a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2008

We were at this motel for five nights, looking for real estate in the area. The rooms were dark and a bit grimy - absolutely no ambiance, though we were in what was called a "suite". The desk staff was helpful, professional and quick to help out when needed, but the fact that they were often needed did little to enhance our stay..frig didn't work, coffee-maker didn't work, bathtub dirty, etc.
Room rates for B&B's in the area weren't much highter than what we paid, and next time we'd definately try one or go a bit farther west to another motel.

  • Disliked — dark, unpleasant room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LULU60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee mountains
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2007

My family booked a night at the Comfort Inn to attend a family wedding. I was really unsure what I would find. We were pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly, check-inn speedy, and the rooms newly renovated. Well, newly renovated except the shower which had an odd coating on half the shower stall. Not a problem, just looked weird. The rooms were very clean and had a micro-fridge and a room safe. I would stay here again. Here is the kicker though.....the room was 149.00 per night plus taxes and fees. I have stayed in some really nice places for this price or less. I am not sure how they can get this price, but I thought it was too high. The motel was fine though so don't be afraid of it.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cstiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Days Inn Biltmore East
Days Inn Biltmore East
#32 of 63 in Asheville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
18.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Asheville Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 585 State Route 9, Black Mountain, NC 28711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Black Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Black Mountain
Comfort Inn Black Mountain
Black Mountain Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing