We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy position off interstate. unfriendly staff”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Black Mountain
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We were disappointed with this hotel. We were told it was within walking distance of the small town of Black Mountain, true, except the walk was along busy roads and across interstate junctions. View of the mountains, well yes, if you peered through the motel and burger signs.
The staff were all either disinterested or unfriendly. We felt we had been overcharged, as several extra taxes had been added to the bill, not found in other motels visited.
We loved Black Mountain, but would avoid this and all other Comfort Inns in future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aliarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2010

Have stayed at this Comfort Inn twice and both times, the rooms were very clean. For the "mountain view rooms, I'd avoid 111-117 and 211-217 as they're are near the pool and the pool gate is very loud when it shuts. Also, rooms 117/217 are right by the vending room so I would imagined the ice machine is very loud.
Cont b'fast included but all items are wheat based so celiac-diets won't be interested.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FinlayTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed here to meet up with relatives for a rafting trip. The hotel was located very close the relative in Black Mountain so the decision was made for us, but we were really pleased with the Comfort Inn. Their housekeeping staff is amazing. I felt that the room was super clean. It had a mini fridge (also super clean) and microwave (didn't use it) inside the room for added convenience. The beds were very comfortable. I took naps both days we were there. The sink/vanity is separate from the rest of the bathroom, which worked out well. I could primp while my husband was showering with no foggy mirror. The free Wi-fi worked very well and it was nice to have a little table and seating area in the room. Overall, a great experience and we will definitely stay there again when we return to Black Mountain to visit family.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swankyforless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

The hotel is situated nicely in Black Mountain (there's easy access to a grocery store, gas and fast food, if that's important to you). It's just down the street from downtown Black Mountain (walking distance, maybe a minute drive), where there are a lot of cute shops and eateries.

The hotel itself is pretty average. The room appeared clean, but I did find someone's promissory note behind a chair, as well as two photos in the coffee basket, so I then questioned whether the room had really been cleaned.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thompskr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My husband and I just returned from a last minute 1st time trip to Black Mountain, NC. We had never been to the area before and had no idea what to expect after checking out the online reviews we booked a hotel in Asheville wary of booking this Comfort Inn. When we arrived in town early we asked to see a room at this location since it was located in the town of Black Mountain. The front office clerk was friendly and helpful and let us see a unit that was already cleaned and available. Since we were traveling with our small dog we asked to see a unit in the back of the hotel. The front side faces the mountains and we knew it would be busier and noiser. Upon inspection of the room we realized the reviews we read before taking our trip were obviously old and not up to date. This Comfort Inn room was spotless and tidy clean. When I went to the front to ask the rate if we stayed for 2 nights. The rate I paid was only $80 per night plus pet fee $25. I did receive a AAA Carolina discount of 10% off the $80 since I have a AAA Carolina card. That discount is nice. There is a small pool but at least there is a pool. Laundry room is on premises along with business center. Continental breakfast is included which is handy if you like that. There are so many wonderful places that have breakfast you may not want that. For the pet travelers: We learned: Most restaurants....if the restaurant has outside seating.....such as My Father's Pizza & Pasta which is a very popular Italian restaurant in town. You can bring your dog. One person would wait in line inside for the table for your name to be called for the outside seating. The other would wait outside with your dog (or some people wait in the car with the dog and call each other) then when the person waiting is seated then you can come in through the outside gate with your dog. How nice is that? I suppose not so nice if you are not a dog friendly person but we are so we did not mind. This is how most restaurants work. Don't miss Ole Guac & Oak House for Lunch you won't regret it. Just ask anyone working the front desk, they will happily give you directions to any of these locations. Make sure to pick up a map of the town from them as well. Oh, and don't forget Kilwins for dessert............

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzie2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

The Comfort Inn was a pleasant surprise - clean, updated, and comfortable. I enjoyed watching the sunset over the mountains. It is in a great location near town and across from a grocery store.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nctraveler5108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

They just renovated several rooms, we stayed in one. Everything was clean, fresh, and comfortable. The only downside is that it is just a tad too far to walk into town (just under a mile...not a very nice walk, but there is a side walk). However, there are plenty of chain restaurants right next to and in front of...as well as super market. The owners/managers are very nice and really seem to care about their hotel and guests.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalGypsy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
547 reviews
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
11.2 mi away
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
18.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 585 State Route 9, Black Mountain, NC 28711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Black Mountain
Price Range: £69 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Black Mountain
Comfort Inn Black Mountain
Black Mountain Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing