We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mountain Vacation Ever!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Black Mountain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cheshire Cabin & Treehouse Rentals
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mountain Vacation Ever!!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

After looking at many other places in and around Black Mountain, we found Cheshire to be the most charming and comfortable. We stayed in one of the beautiful tree house cabins at Cheshire! The management team was so friendly and inviting, making sure our stay was so comfy and memorable. We hiked Mt. Pisgah (highly recommend it!) which is a very short drive away toward the Blue Ridge Parkway. Do the trail that has the look out near the hotel up there...the locals know which one We also went up to near by Montreat and did some sightseeing and hiking. If you have children, you must go to the park in Montreat, which is one of the most enchanting parks for kids I've ever seen! So much to do in Black Mountain....coffee shop, shopping, walking around the town. Please go to the Ole Mexican restaurant near the creek and Super 8, but please don't stay there ...we tried on our last trip and the management was not very accommodating to say the least! Black Mountain and Cheshire is one of favorite travels... Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mysticmama111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    6
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We rented woodpeckers hollow for a midweek getaway. Great porch to sit and relax on...We brought our dog with us and it was very pet friendly. Close to black mountain and easy drive to asheville and blue ridge parkway. Would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NalaIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
185 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Four of us went for a much needed girlfriends weekend getaway. First off we thought this was a beautiful place, however, within a short period of time this became quite a nightmare. Not how we had planned to spend our valuable time.
First night I called Blackbeard Realty company that handled the rental about the fireplace not working. They had Bill (very nice repairman) come the next day and he said the fireplace needed attention from the gas company (I wondered if the homeowner perhaps hadn't paid their natural gas bill?). The realtor told me the first night that "most folks weren't using the gas logs" but if I wanted someone to come out then she would call. Why advertise that you have gas logs IF they don't work?
The first night we also realized that we were missing 7 bulbs just in the kitchen and 2 bathrooms. Porch light didn't work. Bill took c/o these for us when he came about the fireplace. We also checked the air filter because we could hear it making a suction noise when the heat came on. It was dark gray and totally covered in dust/mold and must have been a couple of years old. The coffee pot had coffee stains in the reservoir and in the carafe that were from several months of use without cleaning. The bathroom shower curtain was torn and thread-bare with a molded liner. There was also mold in the shower of the MBR. The faucet to the tub in the MBR was literally laying on the tub! The MBR faucet and cold water handle were loose from the sink. The closet door in upstairs bedroom was sitting off laying against the wall. The "single bed" was one mattress on a metal spring frame. Enough said on the blunders of this condo.
When we spoke with realtor concerning these she said that she could move us but would have to charge us the higher price for the only condo she had available. She said that she would remove the $45. booking fee. At this point we had missed several hours of time together shopping, etc as we had planned and we were all quite bothered by this. We put a stop on the credit card. Today, one week later the realty company responded to us removing $100. from our charge. However, considering we had to physically repack 4 people into cars and pack up our food/drinks from the fridge and move to another location and have wasted 5 hours of our precious time over this we do not feel that we were treated fairly.
The truth to the matter is that the condo was not in any condition to rent out and this is where this whole scenario went wrong.
DO A THOROUGH CHECK OF THE PLACE AND BE SURE TO USE A CREDIT CARD IF YOU STAY at Cheshire.
We were moved to Apple condo and it was in excellent condition, however, the fireplace didn't work here either!

Room Tip: Use a credit card and make sure everything is clean and working when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank NC2CUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Cheshire Village is a perfectly designed Traditional Neighborhood Development offering the added bonus of cabin rentals for travelers...this is what every TND should be. The community is right up the road from Dowtown Black Mountain but has its own restaurants which are very good...serving up local fare with a nice environment...dog friendly outdoor seating too!!!

Eddie, in the front office, was very accomodating and understanding of our needs which were addressed with timeliness. The cabins were very nice...well built and appointed...very accomodating. We would definitely return to C Village!
LH and HL (Louisville, KY)

Room Tip: Cabins located near Hwy 9 which can produce some road noise...if you want less noise, request a cabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We were traveling with our two boys (7 & 4) in August 2011 and stayed in Chickadee's Hatch. The cabin was absolutely beautiful and we enjoyed our breakfast on the patio every morning. The village amenities were great too - such a pleasure to be able to take a short walk to grab ingredients for dinner at the market or fresh coffee in the morning. Also, the Village was convenient (5 mins) to Black Mountain (be sure to visit the Dripolator Coffeehouse, 221 W State St, Black Mountain), about 15 mins from Asheville (take the bus tour!), and quite central for mountain hikes at Chimney Rock and Lake Lure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The cabin we stayed in was very nice and the details were gorgeous. We were able to sleep with the doors open to listen to the sounds of nature and get a wonderful breeze while we slept. The restaurants in the village were fabulous and this is only a short drive from Asheville. We were very happy with this stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astrickl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I can't say enough about this little hidden treasure. I spent the weekend with my very best friend in the Woodpecker Hollow cabin and it was perfect. You can just stay in and hang out or walk down to the Firebird or Morning Glory Cafe or easily travel in to town about 2 minutes away and enjoy the friendly people and cute, gift shops. You can get to Asheville in about 15 minutes and it is a very direct route. The owners of Cheshire are more than helpful and friendly. They really go out of the way to make everything so perfect. I typically travel to Asheville every November with some friends and have never come across this little place, but know this will be the place we will stay from here on out. You can't go wrong with this one!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LG216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
123 reviews
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
500 reviews
18.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 65 in Asheville
1,167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Hotel
#4 of 8 in Black Mountain
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheshire Cabin & Treehouse Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheshire Cabin & Treehouse Rentals

Property: Cheshire Cabin & Treehouse Rentals
Address: 7 Cheshire Dr., Black Mountain, NC
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Black Mountain
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cabin & Treehouse Rentals Hotel Black Mountain
Cheshire Cabin And Treehouse Rentals

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing