We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monte Vista Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Super 8 Black Mountain(Black Mountain)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Black Mountain)
US$92
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East(Asheville)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road(Asheville)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
133
47
23
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
47
23
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal arthistoric hotellobby areahardwood floorsyogurtfor salecontinental breakfastpublic spacesoutside patioresident caton displaymain buildingkind of placesmall hoteldowntown black mountainwedding partybed was comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

If you enjoy fine dining,sipping wine by the fire while engaging in conversation [with a guitarist in the background],the Monte Vista is the place to be.If you value supporting local business-visit the wine shop or "ole timey" hardware.One can park your car at the Monte Vista and tour the quaint town without moving the car. The Berliner Kindl-has the best bavarian food and selection of German beers you could ever ask for.If the big city is for you, Ashville is only 12 miles.For us,sitting on the veranda with the resident mascot,Monte the cat is the retreat I value.Thank you Sue and Barney for your genuine hospitality and undertaking the monumental task of restoring the Monte Vista to her former beauty and elegance !

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a night on our recent driving tour of the VA, TN, and NC mountains. Black Mountain is about 10-15 minutes east of Asheville, NC. We found the place literally as we drove by. The innkeeper, Sue, greeted us cheerfully and welcomed us to the hotel. They currently have 4 rooms renovated with more soon to come. The room was large, clean, and comfortable with its own bathroom. It did not, however, have in-room control of the HVAC. It was a bit warm so we closed the 2 air registers and opened the windows which cooled the room for excellent sleeping conditions (outside temps in the high 30s).

The lobby area is large and comfy with several seating areas and a large gas fireplace. Intimate by night and filled with natural light by day, it is an inviting space. The bar is just several steps away and equally delightful. There is also a good-sized restaurant off of the lobby but we did not eat there and so cannot comment other then to say it is visually up to the same standards as the rest of the common area (very nice).

We truly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend the hotel to others. We wish the innkeepers great success as they continue their renovations.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishfliesjets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Late lunch on a gorgeous Autumn Saturday afternoon. Delighted by the contemporary yet classic feel of the new renovation. Comfortable seating in a sunlight and art filled room. Tasty food, have been searching for a Sweet Potatoe Soup recipe to match theirs ever since. Varied and affordable menu. Yummy sweet tea. Great service and one place in Black Mountain to get a mixed drink. Wish I hadn't been driving...a spot by the fireplace on a leather chair or on the patio near a heater would have been a nice spot for a drink. Will go back soon, hear they have a great Thanksgiving seating.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Great and affordable. Newly remodeled it is nice on the inside and out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My fiance and I had planned on having our wedding reception at the monte vista. We met with the owner/event planner and had our date "set in stone." We had discussed menu items, decoration, etc., and everything seemed to be great. Only a few weeks after we were told the date was ours, we received a phone call from the owner/event planner and were told that we could no longer use this date as another wedding wanted to change their date to ours. The other wedding had originally been planned for the day after ours, but they wanted to switch to our date. Instead of the owner telling the other couple they could not use our date because it was already reserved, she told them it was fine, and left us without a wedding reception, on our wedding date, after we had already sent out save the dates. Totally unprofessional, unfair, and not right! I feel bad for the other couple, and hope the same thing does not happen to them!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank patrick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews