We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A time-machine”
Review of Monte Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monte Vista Hotel
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A time-machine”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stopped at the Monte Vista in the 1990s and it was like walking through a time portal into an earlier era. And it wasn't quaintsy-waintsy -- it was authentic. We had a delightful time! But if people are unconsciously expecting to have 50-inch flat-screen TVs in their bedrooms, a pulsating showerhead, and a coin-operated snack machine just outside their door, they WILL be disappointed and should head for the nearest Holiday Inn. Me, I loved it just the way it was.

I'm glad to read that it's still doing well and I hope to stop in again before too long.

Room Tip: Pick the one that you find most charming.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    40
    19
    13
    5
See reviews for
40
103
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed here to attend a wedding at nearby Lake Eden. Charming historic inn, but overpriced for what you receive. Rooms are small, no television, no coffee. Included breakfast is minimal to say the least. Sunday brunch, not included in price, was sub par and extremely overpriced. The only saving grace is that you can walk downtown and enjoy wonderful little restaurants that are reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulF305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne C, Owner at Monte Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
The Monte Vista is a historic hotel circa 1937 and has been recently renovated. All guest rooms have new , quality bedding, furniture and up to date baths. We do not have televisions but have complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel. Most guests find that the lack of television adds to the peaceful and historic feeling of the hotel. We are now fully air conditioned.
We offer each guest a light continental breakfast every morning and coffee is available starting at 6AM.
Our restaurant, Palate is open for dinner from 5-9PM and on Sundays from 11AM until 9PM, a Sunday Brunch of Home made Quiche or 3 egg Omelet with fresh fruit, potatoes and homebaked biscuits is available for $8. We also offer our 'Sunday Supper' of fried chicken or roast beef, mashed potatoes, vegetables and buiscuits- only on Sunday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

On Friday morning my husband ask me, " how long will it take you to get ready for a road trip"....having heard this many times over the last 30+ years, I said, "10 minutes". With just the clothes on our backs and a small over-night bag, we were off into the Wild Blue Yonder....i.e. the North Carolina Mountains. We settled on Black Mountain for the small shops down town and friendly people (the towns folks and travelers both). We were pleasantly surprised to find the Monta Vista open (new owners Sue and Barney ?? and a massive renovation done by them). We immediately booked two nights and settled in for wine, good food, good conversation, cool nights- warm atmosphere around the crackling fire with a bluegrass Art Event on Friday night and a husband/wife musical team called the Blue Moon on Saturday night (they were our personal favorite because they sang and played many 60's songs by our favorite teenage artist- Neil Diamond, Pasty Cline, The Beatles, Johnny Cash, Buddy Holly..etc...All wonderfully done) I even ask Sue ( owner) "if" she would allow me to wash my only outfit in her washer/dryer...I wasn't really prepared to stay two nights anywhere. She offered to do it herself and added she'd leave the washed and dryed items at my door when ready....And she did...At no charge! I offered-she refused! Since we are former guest from years ago, we were so glad to see the new life this wonderful husband and wife team has breathed into this wonderful old historic building. Everyone in town seems to appreciate their efforts too from the comments while shopping Saturday. In closing, we love this old building, and now that Barney and Sue have worked their magic on it- it is now "our" new favorite vacation destination for all those future impromptu "mini road trips" my husband is so famous for. See ya there! You can bet when we do go again, it will incorporate a Saturday night "just" so we can enjoy hearing the Blue Moon again. kelton & Victoria

Room Tip: I enjoy a room on the second or third floor for the views of the mountains. These are the only rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queen_of_the_road_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed here for a night while attending a concert at Pisgah Brewery. What a delightful surprise. The staff was warm, welcoming and helpful. This is a great location in relation to the town and the brewery. An easy walk to Black Mountain which is a cute mountain town, nice restaurants and small shops. The room was small but comfortable with all needed amenities. Very clean, bathroom a good size, shower has good water pressure. Great lobby with big chairs, fireplace, tables - nice bar area. Big front porch to sit and relax. We are already planning a return trip in the spring.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mammamea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Just spent the weekend in Black Mountain on a house hunting trip. Stayed over at the Monte Vista and found it warm and welcoming. It's also a short, easy walk to the many shops and restaurants in town. Contrary to a review I had read, there IS free wi-fi and it worked just fine. No TV, it's true, but you won't miss it. The hotel lobby is beautiful and the staff friendly. Our room on the third floor was clean, bright, well-decorated - in a word, perfect. If you're looking for a refreshing change of pace from the rat race, take a day or two to relax in Black Mountain and chill at the Monte Vista.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCLegalBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed here in late December 2012 on an impromptu road trip. This historic hotel is nicely redone, not fancy but clean with new furniture. The lobby is gorgeous, open and spacious and they feature a rotating selection of local artists. We would definitely stay here again, it was a welcome change from the major chain hotels. The only downside would be a spartan breakfast spread, but again it was not a major chain and it was good, basic breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WT_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We went to the NC mountains for a weekend of shopping for local crafts (Toe River Arts Council tour), and found this hotel on line. It's a nicely restored historic hotel in the heart of Black Mountain (a nice small mountain town) but convenient to I-40. The owners are friendly and helpful. There is nice locally made artwork on display throughout the hotel common areas. Location is great -- walking distance to restaurants and shops. Our room was spacious, bathroom remodeled in classic style and immaculate. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant, but we enjoyed a freshly cooked breakfast (included in the reasonable daily charge). There is free Wi-Fi, but be aware there are no televisions if that's important to you. Good guitarist played in the lobby lounge in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgbenjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
516 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
0.3 mi away
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Vista Hotel

Property: Monte Vista Hotel
Address: 308 W State St, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3411
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Black Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Black Mountain icon. Experience this delightful town in an atmosphere of local art, history and the pure love of the mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monte Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing