We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monte Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monte Vista Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bahama, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Had a great time staying @ the "Monte Vista". So friendly, talked to the owner Sue and I think together we solved the problems of the world....no TV's....great...talked to more people in the lobby of the hotel then I have in years. We all hung out and drink a glass of wine. Staff very efficient and friendly. Ate dinner there which is something I never do..eat in a hotel I am staying at. It was delicious and inexpensive. $5 glasses of wine...need I say more? I would go there just to eat. Stayed weekend of 5/17-19..rained like cats and dogs..so spent a lot of time inside the hotel. Nice relaxing weekend. Would stay there again....in a heartbeat...no I don't know these people and will probably never go back (I was there on horse business) but if I do this is where I will Stay! Paul & Patty

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the second floor and it was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    38
    18
    11
    4
See reviews for
35
97
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

This property has a feel of a B and B instead of a hotel. The service starting with the owners and all the staff was excellent. The food at the restaurant was very good and the eating experience was enhanced with local musicians performing for 3 hours on Friday and Saturday. The hotel is beautifully decorated with different artist works displayed. We loved the outdoor space also and found it very comfortable and relaxing. We definitely would will return and recommend this charming hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acudoc018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Our friends from Black Mountain suggested this place after a night downtown Asheville. The rooms were clean and peaceful with nicely finished decor. The lounge and restaurant were lovely. A real treat for something that is local, historical, and very comfortable. I hope to visit again soon! A perfect nights sleep!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiddlingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Carteret, NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

This hotel has been beautifully renovated. We were upgraded to a king room which was very roomy, light and airy, with wood floors and lots of windows. The bathroom had a retro feel with its black and white tile, but conveniently updated to 2013 standards. The bed was comfortable and the linens were well above average. There were subtle reminders which remained of bygone days, such as the glass door knobs, but nothing about this place is overwhelmingly antique. The lobby was tastefully decorated with art work and some pieces by mountain craftsmen, and was comfortable without creating a "lodge-like" atmosphere. The entire hotel had an open, spacious feeling and was exceptionally clean. The lounge / bar opened onto a lovely courtyard at the back of the hotel, and there was also a large porch on the front. The location is a short and easy walk to downtown restaurants and shops. We were only in Black Mountain for an overnight stay, but look forward to returning to the Monte Vista in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarshHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Walking through the front door of this lovely old hotel gives immediately the feeling of being at home. Only it 's better as one does not have to lift a finger. I stayed here about a year ago and happy to learn the careful renovations continue; none of the ambience of the "old days" is being lost. The dining room was not open the night I stayed, but the hotel is a couple short blocks from restaurants and shopping (see separate review for The Trailhead.)
My room was large and was very clean, bed comfy, a/c/htg easily adjusted. This is a wonderul place to stay while exploring a small mountain town as well as the Black Mountain Range as did Andre Michaux in the late 1700s on one of his plant expeditioins. The Blue Ridge Parkway is also nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mac2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Market, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We visted the beautifully renovated Monte Vista Hotel during the weekend of April 27-28,2013. What a wonderful job owners Barney and Sue have done. On arrival, we had a glass of wine and listened to the music being played in the beautiful lobby. We enjoyed looking at the artwork displayed in the lobby and in the hotel restaurant, the Palate. Speaking of the Palate, we had two amazing meals there. On Saturday evening we had steak and salmon which were perfectly prepared. On Sunday, we had what they call "Sunday Supper" . Our suppers consisted of the best fried chicken we ever had and roast beef you could cut with a fork, including salad, fresh vegetables, homemade biscuits, and homemade desert. What a find! Made from scratch dinners and very reasonably priced. Best meals we had during our five day visit. Kudos to the chef! We will definitely go back to the Monte Vista on our next visit to the area in the Fall.

Paul and Donna K, New Market MD

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DP5815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stopped at the Monte Vista in the 1990s and it was like walking through a time portal into an earlier era. And it wasn't quaintsy-waintsy -- it was authentic. We had a delightful time! But if people are unconsciously expecting to have 50-inch flat-screen TVs in their bedrooms, a pulsating showerhead, and a coin-operated snack machine just outside their door, they WILL be disappointed and should head for the nearest Holiday Inn. Me, I loved it just the way it was.

I'm glad to read that it's still doing well and I hope to stop in again before too long.

Room Tip: Pick the one that you find most charming.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#32 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
8.1 mi away
Days Inn Biltmore East
Days Inn Biltmore East
#31 of 63 in Asheville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Vista Hotel

Property: Monte Vista Hotel
Address: 308 W State St, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3411
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Black Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Black Mountain icon. Experience this delightful town in an atmosphere of local art, history and the pure love of the mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Monte Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing