We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Palate

Palate
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“WOW”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Tried the Palate with some unease since the "Yelp" reviews were not that good. Since me and my partner were staying here lazy won the day. Boy were we glad we did, The food was excellent! Service was great! Prices with in reason. The music very enjoyable. We will eat and stay here again on future trips.
James and Kevin

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jameskevinmem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Has great potential, but something is missing”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Loved loved loved the food. The bartender was nice, but unprofessional talking about her home life/problems to us. Another waitress also in on the conversation. Only several tables in there. The inside is beautiful! Seems like a nice place like this would have a full-time manager on staff overseeing the business. We sat at the bar, as the restaurant felt cold and unwelcome like a nursing home cafeteria. The owners have a great chef, but something's missing with the waitstaff and professionalism. We will definitely be back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MountainGirl828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swannanoa, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere & food at Monte Vista Hotel, Black Mountain, NC”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

What a treat to combine a lovely setting in a newly remodeled historic hotel, local music and wonderful food - all under one roof! Try the Grilled Vegetable Sandwich on parmesan focaccia bread. Everyone at our table raved about their food. The acoustic duo played music you just had to sing along or dance to.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Val T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceeded expecations; great food.”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My compliments to the chef at the Palate. We were there for Valentine's Day dinner with friends. Everything we had was outstanding. I loved the take on traditional chicken and dumplings -- using gnocchi. The shrimp and grits were terrific. And deserts? Perfect. It's a surpirse to find food this good in a hotel...but then the Monte Vista is no ordinary hotel. Congrats to the new onwers on an exceptional job on both the hotel and the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marija b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Why is this place not absolutely crowded?”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We live in Asheville, just down the road from Black Mountain. We've been to every good restaurant many times which is why you can trust my reviews of Cafe Azalea, Chef Mo's,
Limone's, the Admiral, and all the rest.

Just ate at Palate (okay, the name is idiotically pretentious) for the third time and I'm surprised that the place has very little business. Small menu, good wine list, great service. The restaurant is part of the historic Monte Vista Hotel in quiet Black Mountain.

Highly recommended. The Sunday Dinner fried chicken is the best.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BasicBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palate also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Palate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing