We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ”

Phil's Bar-B-Que Pit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

My husband has been before and raved about it so we went. Atmosphere is grand baseball caps all over walls and ceilings with license plate decor as well. It works for this place. He got brisket and I opted for the chopped pork sandwich. We both got sweet potato fries as our side which is an up charge but they are good. You have 5 sauces to choose from and the sweet was tasty. I found the meal to be average and my husband gives it an excellent. So I compromised and gave it 4 stars adding some since the atmosphere is nice and the counter staff was friendly and welcoming.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bballfan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    90
    38
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Not the worst BBQ I have ever had, but it's far from the best. The meat was so finely ground it was hard to even tell the pork from the chicken. Sauce was on the table but there was none on the meat when served. It's not worth a second visit for me.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.P.N.C.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Smoky Flavor”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just off Hwy 40 (not far from the Biltmore Estate in Ashville) is a great place to stop for some really good BBQ. We love Texas BBQ and this is as close as I've had in NC. My husband & I both had the brisket - great flavor and not dry. They have several sauces to choose from, I loved the Classic Red (it has a hint of honey).Lots of sides to choose from and very good too. The restaurant is very casual. The most noticeable decor choice is the many ball caps with logos on them & are clipped to the sealing. A little off the beaten path but worth the stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Seriously good BBQ”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I'm picky about BBQ since it's my favorite food. The BBQ at Phil's was seriously good! The sides and sauce were delicious too. I would highly recommend to anyone who likes BBQ to try this restaurant. It's a great casual restaurant where you can just relax and enjoy a good meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conover, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Loved the brisket”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Had been hiking most of the day and wanted a good filling dinner. Had to be a casual type of place as I was coming straight from my hike. This fit the bill. Hard to find good brisket outside of Texas. Phil's did not disappoint, few places in NC have brisket that is even mediocre , Phil's served the best I have found here..

Helpful?
Thank loretta8315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phil's Bar-B-Que Pit also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Phil's Bar-B-Que Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing