We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUMMY YUMMY”

Black Mountain Bakery
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“YUMMY YUMMY”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I LOVE THIS PLACE! Their cookies are my favorite! Whenever I am in town I have to visit. The atmosphere is great and staff is so friendly and welcoming!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kathymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Black Mountain, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bakery Business of Atmosphere and Dedication”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I've been to cafés in France, England, Spain, Portugal, Germany, etc. but my heart lies within the American community of creative coffee and pastry houses. When I'm back in my hometown, I like nothing more than to spend my mornings and afternoons, in the heat of Summer or the chill of Winter, enjoying the cool sweet tea or hot coffees (respectively). Of course, no visit is complete without at least sampling the pastries (lemon squares, apple strudel, and the blueberry turnovers are distinct favorites). In the end the BMB is a bakery, not a café, so the coffee is great (but not the best- that's the Dripolator), but if it's baked, they beat anyone else hands down all the way to downtown Asheville (especially since they supply almost half the other food spots in Blk. Mountain). Perhaps my favorite part of any visit I make to BMB is the atmosphere of the bakery- it's no party house, but laughter is a common occurrence . It's not still in the wind, but silence can always be found in the back room or at the outside tables. The Bakery is what you make it, everybody knows that. At least, once they make the trip. ;)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not coming back!”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I don't like food or the atmosphere. Nothing on the menu is unique. Their Food is bland and atmosphere is abysmal. The Black Mountain Bakery feels like a homeless shelter or soup kitchen when you step inside. They need some cots in the back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JuicyPoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great for coffee and dessert”
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

I was very surprised to read single bad review on this place. I rotate between 3 area coffee shops and I go to this one at least twice a week. The coffee is super and my wife loves it because they have at least 2 flavored coffees daily. It is funny people complain because I know for a fact several Black Mountain restaurants get some or all of their baked products here, including the #1 rated place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTraveler48962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We will be moving to the Black Mountain community soon and one of the things we have been asked as we explore this lovely community, is "Do they have a real bakery". Boy howdy! They do. We met the owner, Stacy, who happens to be an extremely friendly and warm individual. We purchased a couple of Cinnamon Rolls for consumption later that proved to be wonderful! Looking forward to sampling many more of her delicious wares!! Have fun on your New York visit, Stacy!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Mountain Bakery also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Black Mountain Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing