We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food; Very Excellent Service”
Review of Las Cazuelas

Las Cazuelas
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Good, economical, family-style restaurant with very fast service and authentic Mexican flavors
Restaurant details
Description: Good, economical, family-style restaurant with very fast service and authentic Mexican flavors
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Good Food; Very Excellent Service”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I'm visiting friends in the Black Mountain. They took me for Dinner last night for -- of all things -- Mexican food at Las Cazuelas on State Street.

We were a group of nine, and everyone enjoyed their meals. The service was outstanding -- I didn't hear our waitress say 'no' to anyone's request.

She told me that they would make me whatever I wanted, so I ordered the Vegetarian Fajitas (they had the most different stuff listed), and had them add Mushrooms and Pork Tips (adios, Vegetarian). I really, really enjoyed it.

Also, my friends knew to ask for the 'special' Salsa. It was Bean-based, with just a small spicy kick to it.

Everything was reasonably- to low-priced (I'm used to South Florida pricing), and the service was quick and friendly. My dish, with tax was $12.27. And I got to practice my Spanish with the waitress.

I'm not sue that I would get on an airplane specifically to eat here, but the next time I visit my friends in the Black Mountain area, I will ask to stop by again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigRich5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marion, North Carolina
2 reviews
“love”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

by far the best mexican food around! friendly service! not far from downtown! in summer the outsiding sitting is great!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mary8523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic, Fresh, Delicious!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was a delightful find! The service and staff were Mexican and spoke Spanish almost exclusively. They did manage to answer our questions and understand our orders, but it was an interestingly authentic experience. They had Spanish TV on the stations.

But the food was outstanding. Completely fresh; it was just diced and chopped and had a wonderful flavor. Lots of food given, and wonderful service.

The decor was authentic as well.

I would highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jade4mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, large portions”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

On our annual Camp Rockmont trip we visit Las Cazuelas. We always get plenty of great food. The kids enjoy too.

We went with a large group and they did a great job checking out or multiple tabs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trusted-advice-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good authentic Mexican”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We love Mexican food and Cazuelas is good. Outdoor patio is nice but wished they hadn't allowed smoking on patio. Otherwise it's a great place to get a beer or Margeurita and dinner :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KenKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Cazuelas also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Las Cazuelas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing