We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Landmark of kindness”

Coach House Seafood and Steak
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Landmark of kindness”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The title indicates that this landmark in Black Mountain deserves a little respect and kindness.
It has withstood the test of time.
Now down to the facts:
Yes, lots of FRIED foods, fish and such.
Salad came from a bag which may have come from the local grocery store.
Steak was just flaccid, no flavor, not cooked correctly, and looked just like my wife's Bistro Stake?
The ceiling was dirty, peeling and cracking.
The service was very friendly and efficient.
With so many other options in Black Mountain it appears that the Coach House could use up grading, and offer other options other than FRIED.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carylumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Local Landmark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Here is an example of a survivor. They were serving seafood back in the 1960's and are still serving seafood in 2014! Many folks appreciate the "fish camp" style of eating seafood, which is what us locals grew up on. The Pisgah Fish Camp, Fishhouse, Calabash Seafood, Don's Fish Camp and the Coach House were the standards here in Asheville and Buncombe County.
At certain times, mostly in the evening hours, the food at the Coach House can be overcooked, however, if the owner is in the kitchen, which is often the case during lunch hours, your seafood will be perfectly prepared.
It's no wonder that their catfish is one of the customer favorites. It has no muddy taste which means the flavor cannot be compared to anything that was caught in that foul smelling French Broad River.
This is certainly the best and the only fish camp that has passed the test of time. How many Red Lobster restaurants can back that one up? Serving our cheddar biscuits since the 1960's?; not likely.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lot of food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

3 folks in our party and we all chose a seafood dish. A lot of food!! It was fried, vegtables fried, we all felt stuffed and not wanting fried food again. It was ok, would not return. or at least not order seafood again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maureen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“steak was delicious, tender!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a great waitress and the vallue for our dinners was very good. Well rounded menu. We ordered the steak and asked for no salt and the chef accommodated us. The waitress shared her information on local beer from Ashville and it was great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1708Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coach House Seafood and Steak also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Coach House Seafood and Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing