We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes you feel right at home...”
Review of Red Rocker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Rocker Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2012

What a lovely place ! I am picky about my B&B's but this is at the top of my list ! This B&B looks like something out of a Norman Rockwell painting. The owners, Doug and Jenny, are very accommodating no matter what you need. Grab the newspaper sitting on the coffee table in the front room and sit in your reading chair with light overhead and listen to the fire crackle. Grab a homemade cookie that Jenny makes herself anytime you would like it or a cup of coffee or complimentary sweet tea in the frig. Take a short walk to the quaint little town of Black Mountain and have a cup of coffee on a couch in the coffee shop, do some shopping at an old fashioned hardware store (that has everything!), eat authentic German food or great pizza or have a nice lunch at the Veranda Cafe. Don't forget the actual red rockers on the front porch where you can sit and watch the neighborhood go by....or check out the beautiful mountains all around you. Take a short ride to Montreat and enjoy Lake Susan. Ride to Lake Lure or Chimney Rock State Park. Your room will be clean and cozy when you get back....no matter which one you choose of the 17 themed rooms (with your own bathroom!). We chose the Azalea room. Smell food cooking in the kitchen downstairs while you sleep....Enjoy a fantastic homemade breakfast and you will beg for a copy of their cookbook or at least a take home bottle of Jenny's homemade apple or pumpkin butter. Oh....and those biscuits and pumpkin bread.....just amazing. Have dinner there in the evening and choose from a great menu at a reasonable price, white tablecloths and 10 homemade desserts ! The hummingbird cake was to die for....What more could you ask for on a B&B getaway? We will be back....

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buckeyes46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

Outstanding dinner menu and breakfast buffet! A wonderful, comfortable place to stay or have a celebratory meal. The innkeepers have such warm hospitality and are terrific chefs. We love their cookbook too! This is a favorite place to meet with extended family for a special meal. We also enjoy this small mountain town as a fun place to wander through antique shops, the used book store, or to do some serious hiking on nearby trails with breathtaking views. Highly recommend!

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank storybookfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

A visit to the Red Rocker Inn in Black Mountain is like an occassional visit to a relative's home. The town of Black Mountain is full of pleasant shops and small museums, even the old hardware store is an entertaining stroll. Great place for a weekend, with nearby Asheville and close access to the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Grandfather Mountain area.
But the Red Rocker Inn is the real reason we keep going back to Black Mountain. The inn has very comfortable, very clean and nice rooms - each one is distinctive in a homey, mountain inn style that leads to an understated "just right" effect. Most are very quiet, especially the rooms up on the third floor. No TVs or phones, but if you must be stay connected, they do have a wireless network, etc.
The food at the Red Rocker is excellent. People rave about the supper options and especially their desserts, but I think that breakfast there is my own personal favorite. Lots of variety, backed up by whatever you want. Starting with early morning coffee on the porch - there really are red rockers out there! - followed by biscuits and bacon and varieties of omelets and French toast and... yummy good.
Doug and Jenny Bowman do their innkeeper parts just right, friendly and nice and welcoming, but never pushy. They and their inn offer an experience that feels to me very much like visiting your favorite aunt and uncle when you were a kid.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teacher64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Red Rocker for a few days. This B & B is in a cute little neighborhood that is walking distance to town. We were delighted with the owners (and their family) who help them run the place. Incredibly clean room, scrumptious food and quality service. Would definitely recommend this one!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gonnaflyhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

and we were pleased we did. its clean, friendly, and everything you could ask for, these people were born to run a B&B. wonderful breakfest buffett and an even better diner in the resturant tho a somewhat limited meneu. whatever they do, they do very well.
my only complaint, be it a small one----carpeted bathroom.
i would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mix9142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is a beatiful bed and breakfast. The food is great. The breakfast buffet is the best you can imagine. The owners who run the bed and breakfast are very nice and welcoming hosts. The B&B is very quiet in a very beautiful setting. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Although we were only able to stay one night at the Red Rocker Inn, it was a wonderful stay. The Inn is beautifully decorated, quaint and cozy. Our room was lovely, clean and quiet. We had dinner Saturday night in their restaurant, and it was truly a 5 star experience, beef tenderloin - cooked to perfection, and the biggest, fluffiest piece of coconut cake I've ever seen! The breakfast buffet was fabulous with breakfast casseroles, homemade muffins, homemade biscuits and gravy, homemade granola, fruits, etc - everything was delicious. Located in the beautiful town of Black Mountain, sitting out on the porch rocking in the evenings, our waitress even came outside and sang to us with the voice of an angel ! Doug and Jenny, the hosts, couldn't have been more helpful. We will definitely be back, the sooner the better!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Suzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Black Mountain hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Hotel
#4 of 8 in Black Mountain
218 reviews
1.2 mi away
My Place Inn
My Place Inn
#5 of 8 in Black Mountain
9 reviews
0.8 mi away
Black Mountain Inn
Black Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Black Mountain
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rocker Inn

Address: 136 N Dougherty St, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Black Mountain
Price Range: £75 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Rocker Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Rocker Inn is an 1896 Victorian Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the charming town of Black Mountain, North Carolina. Newly made renovations enhance the elegance of this beautiful inn. Each guest room features private in-room bath, AC, and free Wi-Fi. Most rooms have king or queen beds. One room has two queens. Several feature fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Afternoons see complimentary fresh homemade cookies, coffee, and tea Buffet breakfast is included for house guests. And don't forget to plan for dinner as well. Our casual fine-dining restaurant is open nightly except Sundays. The menu features grilled rib-eye steaks, crab cakes, mountain trout, roasted stuffed chicken and more. Save room for one of our many home made desserts! You may want to visit the nearby Biltmore Estate, drive the Blue Ridge Parkway or challenge yourself at Chimney Rock Park. Plenty of shopping, hiking, antiques, music, art and historic attractions are all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Rocker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Rocker Hotel Black Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing