We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-in-one”
Review of Red Rocker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Rocker Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This trip, we are traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway from Fancy Gap VA to Linville Falls & on to Ashville. The Red Rocker was our stop before going on to Ashville. What a find! We had picked the Inn for its accommodations, but what a surprise in their restaurant. Not just for breakfast which was over the top but what a great dinner. Fried green tomatoes to die for.
Great menu. One of the first things we do when going into a new town is visit the visitor's center to found out about where to eat. Of course the visitor center gives you a list of all the places in town and said they all are great. We were however given inside info that the best for dinner was the Red Rocker (they did not know we were staying there). For us to stay eat and relax this was the place.

Room Tip: We like first floor. All in the back very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hi! We're so glad you enjoyed your dinner while here at The Red Rocker Inn. Did you know that our chef happens to be our daughter? We think she does a great job and our guests seem to think so too. We hope to see you again, but green tomatoes will be out of season soon, so you might hurry!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Red Rocker Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

Spent the holiday weekend for Labor Day at one of the best short holiday getaways we have ever had at the Red Rocker. The staff is incredible, the rooms fresh and quite, even in an old pre 1900's house. More importantly, the food is to die for. We ate every dinner meal there we could. My wife and I have traveled the world extensively, and this is the best B&B we have had the pleasure to stay in. So much so, we booked season passes for the Biltmore, and are returning for Thanksgiving. The family is humble and gracious, and they make you feel at home, only draw back, during football season, it is a real small TV, lol, for the guys.

Room Tip: Love the Blue Ridge, will stay in that room again, but stepping it up for T-Day to The Attic, the mo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCLOVE62161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Could not have been better. The room was outstanding, the was great, the owners were there to make you feel at home. The inn was beautiful, the landscape was well kept. The food in the morning was great and well prepared. The food at night, was outstanding, great selection.

Overall outstanding visit. We wil be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is our favorite Bed and Breakfast. The innkeepers treat you like family and you feel like home. The breakfast is so delicious that you don't have to eat for the rest of the day, but go take a long walk and be prepared for a dinner that is most outstanding. Dinners are a separate fee and well worth it. Some rooms may be a bit small for some people, but there are larger rooms. Nice rockers on the front porch too. You can walk into town and visit many shops and can always drive if you aren't ambitious. Many stores filled with interesting crafts, pottery and just about anything you might want to purchase. There are many nice restaurants in town also. It's our special occasion place to go and Thanksgiving they serve a wonderful meal.

Room Tip: We prefer upstairs but all the rooms are very nice and they promote a quiet inn which is nice!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My first experience with a Bed & Breakfast was extraordinary. From the first step in the door it felt like home with a warm and friendly geeting from Jenny. Our room was beautiful, roomy, comfortable and so, so much more appealing than any hotel I've ever stayed at. I like the fact that every room is different (Jenny said we could explore all empty rooms, so I did) and each has its own bathroom. The hospitality at this B&B can't be beat. If we didn't like the eggs on the breakfast menu, Doug or Jenny would make ours to order. I would rate this breakfast as the best I've ever eaten. Spinach quiche, blueberry bread pudding (pure heaven) and the best bacon ever! I'm sorry we didn't get a chance to taste dinner. Sitting on the front porch in the red rockers make me feel that Andy Griffith would walk by at any minute. I really hope I get an opportunity to stay here again. I highly recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I have stayed here several times. We love the location, walking distance to town. Doug and Jenny make you feel right at home! They are gracious host and try to make your visit very accommodating. Food is delicious, especially desserts. Breakfast is wonderful, very tasty, especially pancakes , French toast, all different favors . We will return. I highly recommend staying at this gracious B&B.


Sally A.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We are blessed with having this wonderful inn just less than two hours from our home, so we take advantage of it every few months. We have always felt at home and very pampered there. The innkeepers and their staff are very attentive and run great B and B. We always enjoy the wonderful breakfast, and we do eat dinner there every time we come. It is not only our home away from home/getaway, but is truly our favorite restaurant as well. They have a great menu, plus they always have great specials, appetizers and entrees. Their desserts are out of this world! Our favorite is the bumbleberry pie! We love that there are no TVs in the rooms-makes for a very restful and quiet time. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed, everything from their GREAT towels to beautiful quilts. There's nothing like a cup of hot coffee on the porch rocking on the red rockers. We highly recommend the Red Rocker Inn!

Room Tip: We've stayed in Elizabeth's Attic, Very romantic and private! Azalea, a great room! and the...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
547 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Hotel
#4 of 8 in Black Mountain
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rocker Inn

Address: 136 N Dougherty St, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Black Mountain
Price Range: £78 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Rocker Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Rocker Inn is an 1896 Victorian Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the charming town of Black Mountain, North Carolina. Newly made renovations enhance the elegance of this beautiful inn. Each guest room features private in-room bath, AC, and free Wi-Fi. Most rooms have king or queen beds. One room has two queens. Several feature fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Afternoons see complimentary fresh homemade cookies, coffee, and tea Buffet breakfast is included for house guests. And don't forget to plan for dinner as well. Our casual fine-dining restaurant is open nightly except Sundays. The menu features grilled rib-eye steaks, crab cakes, mountain trout, roasted stuffed chicken and more. Save room for one of our many home made desserts! You may want to visit the nearby Biltmore Estate, drive the Blue Ridge Parkway or challenge yourself at Chimney Rock Park. Plenty of shopping, hiking, antiques, music, art and historic attractions are all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Rocker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Rocker Hotel Black Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing