We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Smoky Mountains”
Review of Red Rocker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Rocker Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Planning my husband's first visit to the Smoky Mountains included a two night stay in Black Mountain at the recommendation of family in Oak Ridge TN. After researching online, we picked the Red Rocker Inn and called to make reservations because we would be arriving late. We have stayed at numerous B&B's worldwide and this one is a gem. Our hosts were a pleasure, accommodated our late arrival, and even offered an upgrade to a larger available room (we preferred the cozy double bed in the Seven Sisters room). Breakfast was spot on, with delicious homemade granola, the best biscuits I have ever had, and a buffet breakfast that would satisfy every appetite. The location made it easy for us to walk around town and enjoy the area shops and close enough for an afternoon drive along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Like another reviewer, we also stopped at the visitors center and learned the best dinner in town was at the Red Rocker Inn Restaurant. So, our one dinner while in town was their delicious panko breaded Trout, on the same night they were serving 60 people from a tour bus, and they managed with ease to make everyone feel special. This is truly a place to stay for both the comfortable accommodations and delicious food and if you enjoy the charm and warmth of an historic home, you will appreciate all the restorations the Bowman's are continuing to make to bring this lovely home back to its deserved beauty.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I have stayed at The Red Rocker Inn many times, most recently with nearly 50 of our closest friends & family for our daughter's wedding. The Bowman's went out of their way to host us all in the most gracious manner... Though they assured us that their desire is to make all who visit them feel right at home.
The accommodations are elegant and the food, exquisite.
But don't take our word for it...
Go enjoy it for yourself; relax in one of their 17 romantic rooms, rock the red off one of their front porch rockers, and fill your tummy with a wonderful breakfast or evening meal.
Then you can write your own 5 star review instead of just wondering if this one is for real.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasProject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hello! Yes, it was a BEAUTIFUL wedding, so perfectly situated right here in our own backyard. Thank you so much for bringing all your friends and family. We could tell how much fun everyone was having. I think we enjoyed the weekend as much as you did! Blessings to the happy new couple!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have been staying at the Red Rocker for years! It is beautifully positioned for my drive from Virginia Beach to see family in Memphis. The property is lovely, gracious, and idyllic. The front porch rockers are an oasis of tranquility, the breakfasts are superb, and the ambiance truly wonderful. Would not stay anywhere else in this area. Larger resort type properties cannot compare with the personal attention one receives at the Red Rocker. I keep coming back.

Room Tip: I loved all the rooms I've been given, but I prefer the ground floor rooms just for the convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This trip, we are traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway from Fancy Gap VA to Linville Falls & on to Ashville. The Red Rocker was our stop before going on to Ashville. What a find! We had picked the Inn for its accommodations, but what a surprise in their restaurant. Not just for breakfast which was over the top but what a great dinner. Fried green tomatoes to die for.
Great menu. One of the first things we do when going into a new town is visit the visitor's center to found out about where to eat. Of course the visitor center gives you a list of all the places in town and said they all are great. We were however given inside info that the best for dinner was the Red Rocker (they did not know we were staying there). For us to stay eat and relax this was the place.

Room Tip: We like first floor. All in the back very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hi! We're so glad you enjoyed your dinner while here at The Red Rocker Inn. Did you know that our chef happens to be our daughter? We think she does a great job and our guests seem to think so too. We hope to see you again, but green tomatoes will be out of season soon, so you might hurry!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Spent the holiday weekend for Labor Day at one of the best short holiday getaways we have ever had at the Red Rocker. The staff is incredible, the rooms fresh and quite, even in an old pre 1900's house. More importantly, the food is to die for. We ate every dinner meal there we could. My wife and I have traveled the world extensively, and this is the best B&B we have had the pleasure to stay in. So much so, we booked season passes for the Biltmore, and are returning for Thanksgiving. The family is humble and gracious, and they make you feel at home, only draw back, during football season, it is a real small TV, lol, for the guys.

Room Tip: Love the Blue Ridge, will stay in that room again, but stepping it up for T-Day to The Attic, the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCLOVE62161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Could not have been better. The room was outstanding, the was great, the owners were there to make you feel at home. The inn was beautiful, the landscape was well kept. The food in the morning was great and well prepared. The food at night, was outstanding, great selection.

Overall outstanding visit. We wil be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is our favorite Bed and Breakfast. The innkeepers treat you like family and you feel like home. The breakfast is so delicious that you don't have to eat for the rest of the day, but go take a long walk and be prepared for a dinner that is most outstanding. Dinners are a separate fee and well worth it. Some rooms may be a bit small for some people, but there are larger rooms. Nice rockers on the front porch too. You can walk into town and visit many shops and can always drive if you aren't ambitious. Many stores filled with interesting crafts, pottery and just about anything you might want to purchase. There are many nice restaurants in town also. It's our special occasion place to go and Thanksgiving they serve a wonderful meal.

Room Tip: We prefer upstairs but all the rooms are very nice and they promote a quiet inn which is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Black Mountain hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Hotel
#4 of 8 in Black Mountain
218 reviews
1.2 mi away
My Place Inn
My Place Inn
#5 of 8 in Black Mountain
9 reviews
0.8 mi away
Black Mountain Inn
Black Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Black Mountain
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rocker Inn

Address: 136 N Dougherty St, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Black Mountain
Price Range: £75 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Rocker Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Rocker Inn is an 1896 Victorian Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the charming town of Black Mountain, North Carolina. Newly made renovations enhance the elegance of this beautiful inn. Each guest room features private in-room bath, AC, and free Wi-Fi. Most rooms have king or queen beds. One room has two queens. Several feature fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Afternoons see complimentary fresh homemade cookies, coffee, and tea Buffet breakfast is included for house guests. And don't forget to plan for dinner as well. Our casual fine-dining restaurant is open nightly except Sundays. The menu features grilled rib-eye steaks, crab cakes, mountain trout, roasted stuffed chicken and more. Save room for one of our many home made desserts! You may want to visit the nearby Biltmore Estate, drive the Blue Ridge Parkway or challenge yourself at Chimney Rock Park. Plenty of shopping, hiking, antiques, music, art and historic attractions are all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Rocker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Rocker Hotel Black Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing