We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, comfortable, home; plus incredible food!!!”
Review of Red Rocker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Rocker Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful, comfortable, home; plus incredible food!!!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Doug and Jenny and Bonnie are wonderful and gracious hosts. Coffee, hot tea, and superb macaroons in the evening capped each day of our visit. We enjoyed conversation with really nice folks there as well.

Room Tip: We were fortunate to have the room above the kitchen - no noise; just the most delightful subtle aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    27
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
35
133
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Everything about the Red Rocker Inn smacks of hospitality. It is clear that Jenny and Doug have a passion for providing an excellent, memorable experience for their guests. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. The room, which had every bit of character you would expect at the finest bed and breakfasts, was both well appointed and sparkling clean. Given the quality of both the accommodations and the overall experience, we consider the Red Rocker Inn to be not only an excellent stay, but an excellent value. The rooms are very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Our second visit. This time we stayed in Elizabeth's Attic, our first choice. We expected a little challenge with my wife's knees, and we met it. The room is on the "3rd floor" but that's only 2 steps higher than the 2d floor. There are only about 5 to a landing, then a right turn to another 5 stairs, then a turn and 5 more, so there is plenty of opportunity to rest enroute. Outside Temp got to 20 degrees, but with the gas fireplace we were cozy. Yes, the heating system seems to circulate cool air, but the fireplace more than covers it and the owners furnish a portable heater for the oversize shower and separate elevated tub. King size bed comfy chairs and even a Christmas Tree in our room.
The thing we appreciate most about Red Rocker is being welcomed into their extended family at every visit.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettered4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was our second annual visit to the Inn for Thanksgiving. They have three sittings and we chose the earliest 1:00 so our food would settle since the meal has several courses and so delicious. Breakfast is also delicious and there is something to please everyone with a lot of variety. Our room was on the second floor and a bit chilly, but we had warm clothes and left our door open because it was private and it was warmer that way. It was very cold outside teens and 20's overnight and 30 - 40 during the day. The Inn is over 100 years old and to be expected. The first floor rooms can be a bit too warm with the kitchen nearby for us. This is definitely not a negative and when making reservations you can state a preference. They have a very nice online site where you can view the various rooms. The Innkeepers have become like family and are very warm and welcoming. For Thanksgiving you should make your reservations early and make sure you state you want to have dinner since they serve to the public besides the guests. We made our plans in the summer to make sure we got the room and dinner time we wanted. A wonderful place to visit anytime of the year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nokesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was our first visit to Red Rocker Inn and we stayed three nights. This bed and breakfast Inn is exceptional with gourmet food and wonderful rooms and surroundings. We felt welcomed immediately and Doug and Jenny were especially helpful in regard to anything we needed or wanted. This was a really memorable visit worth a detour. We can not say enough about the quality and choices of food for breakfast or dinner. You will not go away hungry! We will go back which I believe is the best recommendation one can make.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a Bed&Breakfast.

Our room was adequate . The Inn served dinner to a rehearsal party of 70 plus the night we were there and they were there until after 10 pm
The breakfast buffet the following morning was the best. Everything was delicious but the Caramel pecan French toast dish was the best ever.
My wife asked if they shared recipes and we were shown the cook book the had with the recipes for most of the dishes they serve.
Don't miss this opportunity if you are anywhere near the area for the evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jscott11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hello! Thanks for the nice review! You are not the only one who loves our Caramel-Pecan French Toast. In fact we've sold more cookbooks for just that recipe than anything else. It happens that you were here on a very busy night! It is unusual for us to host a party of 70. I'm curious about your rating for our location. Many guests like staying in a residential neighborhood and being able to take an easy stroll downtown or to the lake. We're always trying to improve, so let us know if there's anything we can do. We have a lot of renovations planned for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights while passing though. Nice rooms(bed a bit soft for a bad back), with 2 awesome breakfasts. Ate one evening meal and it was exceptional with about 8-10 homemade dessert choices, WOW!
A bit expensive, but my wife says I don't get out enough to know these things! Doug and his wife are great cooks and hosts. Love the prayer before breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GLewis53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hi! Thanks for posting your review! We're so glad you had a good time, but I want to remind you and future guests to ask about the bed in the room you've selected. We have a range of mattress firmnesses so please ask us if you have any preference for a softer or firmer bed. We want you to wake up with a smile on your face!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
501 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
0.2 mi away
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Hotel
#4 of 8 in Black Mountain
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rocker Inn

Property: Red Rocker Inn
Address: 136 N Dougherty St, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Black Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Rocker Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Rocker Inn is an 1896 Victorian Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the charming town of Black Mountain, North Carolina. Brand new renovations enhance the elegance of this beautiful inn. Each guest room features private in-room bath, AC, and free Wi-Fi. The sumptuous buffet style breakfast is complimentary for house guests. And don't forget to plan for dinner as well. Our casual fine-dining restaurant is open nightly except Sundays. The menu features grilled rib-eye steaks, crab cakes, mountain trout, roasted stuffed chicken and more. Save room for one of our many home made desserts! You may want to visit the nearby Biltmore Estate, drive the Blue Ridge Parkway or challenge yourself at Chimney Rock Park. Pleanty of shopping, hiking, antiques, music, art and historic attractions are all nearby. We look forward to YOUR visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Rocker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Rocker Hotel Black Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing