We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Inn”
Review of Red Rocker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Rocker Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Inn in located right on N Dougherty St in historic downtown Black Mountain. It is walking distance to all the shops, dinning and local museum.
The desert is to die for. Make sure you have a buddy to share, since portions are very generous!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at the Red Rocker Inn, and found the experience most enjoyable. We would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a bed and breakfast. The location is excellent, in that you can make day excursions to local attractions.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Doug and Jenny took care of all of our needs. The breakfast buffet cannot be beat and the dinners were outstanding. The servers were very polite. We will definitely come back again this Fall. GO NOLES :)

Thanks,

Gordon and Sue
Ormond Beach, Florida

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Found this Inn last minute near my daughter's camp, and they were incredibly friendly and welcoming! Breakfast was very good, and while wireless wasn't exactly spot-on in my room, they were gracious enough to let me use a side-room for privacy during my meetings so I can more continuous wi-fi.

Overall a very positive experience and well worth the price!

Room Tip: If you need wi-fi try to get on main floor or right above kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JacksonvilleItalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redrocker07, Owner at Red Rocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Thanks so much for your review!!! We too have discovered a glitch in the WiFi and we are fixing that this week, so when you come back it should behave much better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

For the past four years and friend and I stay here on the way back from Whitewater Rafting. This place is comfortable and quiet. Every area is kept in the best condition. The food is excellent, both the dinner and of course the breakfast. The family hosts are extremely nice and interesting. For quality the price is a bargain.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

At the Red Rocker, owners Jenny & Doug know how to run a B&B. My wife and I just returned from a 2-night stay for our 15th wedding anniversary, and we could not have had a better time.
We ate at the inn both nights. On Tuesday night, our server Rebecca made several recommendations, and they were all perfect. Grits, catfish, and roasted squash were perfect as were the steak, chocolate cake, and blackberry cobbler.
The second night brought a different waiter, Mike, a delight. Mike loves sports as much as I do, if not more, and we talked about NY Yankees, Mickey Mantle, Babe Ruth, and the designated hitter. The food this night was just as good. We feasted on Mountain Trout, BBQ Ribs, Goat cheese mac & cheese, Hummingbird cake, and Reese's ice cream pie.
Dinners were delicious, and breakfast were as much so. Suffice it to say that pancakes, cheese grits, bacon, and scrambled egg casserole are only a portion of what we saw on the morning buffets.
No TV? No problem. The inn provides a TV in a family-type room, but I didn't care for it. Two days away from the internet, phones, and the ole' rigamarole were just what the doctor ordered for me.
We had but one complaint during our time at the Red Rocker. My wife and I are voracious readers, regularly reading 1-2 hours nightly in bed before we turn the lights out. We stayed in the Anniversary Room, which is quite dark and has a lack of floor lamps. Once I mentioned this to Jenny and Doug on the first morning, Doug brought us a bright floor lamp that enabled us to read in the room over 2 hours on Wednesday night.
Thanks so much for such a delicious, relaxing anniversary. We WILL return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rodney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I stay at the Red Rocker Inn each year for our anniversary. We have been very pleased with the location, service, rooms and breakfast provided. This is not a hotel. It is a quiet, old time bed and breakfast in a quaint town outside of Asheville. You will not find things like a television in your room but there is one in the parlor. If we wanted to spend our time watching tv we would stay home. Check-in has always been efficient and the staff friendly and accommodating. Over the years we have stayed in 5 different rooms and each has been comfortable and clean with our favorite being the Old North. Other rooms we have stayed in are the Molly Bear, Primrose (which has no shower, only a jacuzzi tub that works perfectly after a long day), Music and Seven Sisters and each has looked just like its online photo. The inn is kept clean, things are run efficiently and the owner's love of the old home and hospitality is evident everywhere.

The breakfast is served buffet style and there are always a variety of treats available. There are homemade biscuits, coffeecake or muffins or banana bread, an egg dish, bacon or sausage, cheese grits, Gravy, home style potatoes or hash browns, specialty pancakes or french toast, homemade apple butter, toast, fresh fruit, homemade granola and vanilla yogurt. If you don't like their egg dish they will make you scrambled, fried or poached eggs to order. My husband loves coming here for their breakfast.

The Red Rocker B&B was recommended to us 10 years ago by a dear friend who came with her husband several times before he passed. When we married she suggested we try it out. And she was right we love it as much as they did. If you are looking for a modern hotel, don't stay here. But, if you want a quiet and quaint bed and breakfast for a romantic getaway that is close to everything but not on the main path look no farther.

Room Tip: Go through the descriptions and photos closely before choosing your room. If you don't see it in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leilani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

we went here to have a birthday/anniversary celebration for my dad/parents. We call a couple of weeks ahead because I read somewhere they had a room available for "private parties" but when my sister called they said it was either booked or they didn't sorry I can't remember. Anyway, they allowed us to come early to decorate (they put us in a far corner) and they allowed us to bring a cake. I spoke to a few people waiting on a table that were also staying at the B&B and they told me I had made a mistake bringing the cake that the place has fantastic dessert. I just loved the atmosphere and that night they had over 100 people coming to dine with them. Our server seemed new compared to some of the others that I observed but even so she was fine and very accommodating. I don't like tomatoes and their fried green tomatoes I thought were very good. The side order of cheesy grits was fantastic. I didn't love my trout which was disappointing. Several in my party had a special of tilapia and everyone said it was very good. I wish I had been able to try the dessert. The location of this establishment was in a nice little neighborhood and I would say anyone that stayed here would probably be quite pleased. One couple I spoke to say they go every year for their anniversary. I don't think anyone would be disappointed. GO NOLES!! F-L-O-R-I-D-A S-T-A-T-E Florida State Florida State Florida State WOOOOO!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Black Mountain hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Hotel
#4 of 8 in Black Mountain
218 reviews
1.2 mi away
My Place Inn
My Place Inn
#5 of 8 in Black Mountain
9 reviews
0.8 mi away
Black Mountain Inn
Black Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Black Mountain
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rocker Inn

Address: 136 N Dougherty St, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Black Mountain
Price Range: £75 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Rocker Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Rocker Inn is an 1896 Victorian Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the charming town of Black Mountain, North Carolina. Newly made renovations enhance the elegance of this beautiful inn. Each guest room features private in-room bath, AC, and free Wi-Fi. Most rooms have king or queen beds. One room has two queens. Several feature fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Afternoons see complimentary fresh homemade cookies, coffee, and tea Buffet breakfast is included for house guests. And don't forget to plan for dinner as well. Our casual fine-dining restaurant is open nightly except Sundays. The menu features grilled rib-eye steaks, crab cakes, mountain trout, roasted stuffed chicken and more. Save room for one of our many home made desserts! You may want to visit the nearby Biltmore Estate, drive the Blue Ridge Parkway or challenge yourself at Chimney Rock Park. Plenty of shopping, hiking, antiques, music, art and historic attractions are all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Rocker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Rocker Hotel Black Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing