We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Rocker Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Apple Blossom Motel(Black Mountain)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Black Mountain(Black Mountain)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Black Mountain)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Friendship Lodge(Black Mountain)
View Hotel
Assembly Inn(Montreat)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
196
28
10
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
196
28
10
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchcheese gritsb bapple butterbreakfast buffetbiscuitsattic roomhomemade dessertsblue ridge roomhummingbird cakeelectric fireplacesave room for dessertseven sistersowners and staffthemed roomsfeel right at homefrench toast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Everything was scrumptious and homemade....super fluffy biscuits, fresh granola with yogurt and fruit, gourmet breakfast casserole, orange cream-cheese french toast with maple cream (had to have 2 of those!) and much more. Everything cooked to perfection. Coffee was robust. Definitely worth the $12. They fit us in even though we hadn't spent the night there.

Room Tip: Didn't spend the night at this quaint B&B....just ate their wonderful breakfast buffet in a beautifully restored historic home with rocking-chair (red!) front porch. The dining room was spread out but yet cozy and inviting, looking out over shady private yard.
Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We try to get up to the Red Rocker a few times each year. It is a wonderful getaway, plus it feels like we are at "home." Doug is an exemplary innkeeper. The rooms are wonderfully attended, bed comfie, good blankets, lighting, towels, soaps, hot water, etc.... The coffee and cookies keep rolling out during the day, and you will not want to miss dinner at the Inn's restaurant. We have NEVER had a bad meal, and we ALWAYS end our meal with a slice of Bumbleberry pie. The last time we were there it rained ALL day, but the guests were friendly, talking, exchanging stories, laughing, and rocking on the porch, it seemed like an afternoon spent at your Grandma's house. Doug kept the coffee pots coming out that day, and there were constant fresh cookies. ou will love your meal, your room, and you will not wait to get up for the fantastic breakfast the next morning. We can't speak highly enough. We adore the Red Rocker Inn.

Room Tip: We've only stayed on the second and third floors and they were quiet as mice.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Called last minute & was lucky enough to snag the Old North room for an impromtu mother/daughter trip to the mountains. The owners Jenny & Doug are very welcoming and gracious hosts - - they were friendly and very accomodating, made us feel right at home. Our room was on the smaller side but the bathroom was quite large and had a whirlpoool tub. It was a perfect setting for us to enjoy some quality time together before she heads off to college next week! It's an easy walk to the downtown shops & restaurants of Black Mountain and the front porch is the perfect place to relax in the evenings. It's a short drive into Asheville if you want to to go exploring there, or to hop on the Blue Ridge Parkway for some sightseeing. The complimentary breakfast at the Red Rocker Inn is awesome and offered a little something different each morning - - my favorite was the carrot cake pancakes (and I don't even like carrot cake!!). We had dinner one night in the restaurant and it was quite good as well - - the food was delicious and the service was excellent. I really don't have anything negative at all to say about the Red Rocker Inn. We loved it and hope to plan another trip there during one of her school breaks!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank emkaymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Came for breakfast after being highly recommended. Lovely setting, great hosts, and delicious food. I could eat that bacon every day! Well prepared, very relaxing, and amazing good. Will be back next year!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have had our eye(s) on RED ROCKER INN for several years. Just this past weekend we made it up to Black Mountain and it was all we expected and MORE! The inn has seventeen (17) rooms, varying in decor, size and price. As we arrived a little earlier in the afternoon than other guest we were able to view many of the rooms, ALL were lovely, or quaint depending on what you are looking for.
The location is quite nice, as you will be just two blocks from the downtown area of Black Mountain which you will find a Kelwin's candy/ice cream shop, the cute "Hey, Hey Cupcake" shop and lots of other interesting restaurants and shops. The loop around town will make a nice little jaunt before the dinner hour heading back to the Red Rocker Inn.
This visit was the beginning of our 40th anniversary celebration and what a wonderful place to start the month-long festivities. We are already looking forward to bringing friends back for a couple's retreat in the fall. If you are looking at this venue as a weekend getaway, don't pass it by! You deserve this treat of peace and quiet ~ and beauty.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KimFink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews