We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go out of your way to stay here.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arbor House of Black Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go out of your way to stay here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Beautiful location on a lake. Room was large as was the bathroom. Breakfasts were delicious. Hosts Dave and Carolyn are delightful people. They know a lot about the area and willingly share what they know. Carolyn is an accomplished artist. She has decorated this place beautifully.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arborhousebreakfast, Owner at Arbor House of Black Mountain, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Arbor House this fall. We hope you had a pleasant stay in Black Mountain and enjoyed the mountain views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
148
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

If you are looking for a great place to stay in the Black Mountain area, you have found it! My husband and I come to Black Mountain/Ridgecrest area for a weekend every October to attend the Festival of Marriage that is offered by Lifeway. In previous years we had always stayed on campus at Ridgecrest, but this year I waited too long to book, and there were no rooms available. My husband and I had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before and were somewhat reserved about it, but after MUCH research I was lucky enough to find an open room at the Arbor House and decided to take a risk. I am SO happy we did!

The house is BEAUTIFUL! Everything is clean and well maintained. I will admit that I am a FREAK about hotel rooms. I always take a can of Lysol and spray almost every inch of the room. In addition to that, I often take my own sheets and blankets. After reading reviews on Arbor House, I knew that this would not be necessary. I actually forgot to pack my Lysol, and never even missed it. This speaks volumes, people! That is how clean this place was. Everything still looks brand new.

We stayed in the Pinnacle Room. It was decorated beautifully with a blue and white theme. The grounds had colorful fall decorations and flowers planted everywhere. My husband and I walked down through the garden and onto the path around the lake. That's right, Tomahawk Lake is just right beyond the yard and there is a great half mile path that goes all the way around the lake. We weren't at the B&B very much, since our weekend was pretty packed with activities, but we enjoyed it so much, we talked about booking a weekend in the spring just so we could enjoy all the things that Black Mountain had to offer.

The breakfasts were AMAZING! The first morning we had a fresh baked local apple with cranberries on top, smoked breakfast sausage, and the most amazing pumpkin pancakes I've ever tasted. Portions were generous and the quality of food was more than I could have hoped for. My husband was so impressed, he actually took pictures of our food :) Our second morning we started with a fresh raspberry, yogurt, granola parfait. I don't know where they found the raspberries, but they were the biggest, juiciest I've ever seen or tasted. We were also served a breakfast strada that was delicious, along with grits. I don't normally eat grits, but these were served with freshly grated cheese and they were actually very good. We also received 4 freshly baked cinnamon rolls, which we were too stuffed to eat, so Carolyn gave us a bag so we could take them home with us.

There is a little foyer type area off from the kitchen that is open to guests where you can make coffee or tea. There is also a little fridge stocked with a variety of sodas as well as bottled water for your refreshment. They also put out fresh baked cookies daily.

Carolyn and Dave are delightful and very friendly. They are helpful when needed, but they didn't hover and we felt very comfortable during our stay. It was not awkward at all, like we initially thought it might be staying with "strangers" in a bed and breakfast. I'm so happy that we took a chance on staying at a B&B. This was such a great first experience, that I really feel like we were spoiled. My husband and I have decided that we will now include the Arbor House as part of our annual October stay and skip the so so lodging on campus at Ridgecrest. Thank you Carolyn and Dave for your hospitality. We hope to see you again next year :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsTashaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arborhousebreakfast, Owner at Arbor House of Black Mountain, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for taking a chance and staying in a B&B. I am happy that you found it most pleasant and plan to come back. We enjoyed having you and look forward to seeing you again.

Carolyn and Dave Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Arbor House delights from the moment you turn into the driveway. Beautifully tucked away from the street, it welcomes you into an oasis of sweeping open views across Lake Tomahawk to the mountains beyond. The landscaping, the hillside garden with multiple plantings of flowers - dahlias, roses, zinnias, hydrangeas, and dozens more, the apple tree, the bench swing under the pecan tree, the bountiful beds of mint from which clippings sometime adorn breakfast fruit in crystal bowls, the crisp table linen, the paintings, the shelves of books and stacks of magazines ... there are so many good things to tell about it is hard to do it justice. Dave and Carolyn, the hosts, are welcoming and quick to respond to questions and special needs. A truly special place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arborhousebreakfast, Owner at Arbor House of Black Mountain, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for your glowing review of Arbor House. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and loved our B&B as much as we do.
Hope to see you again soon.
Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed two nights and on returning from a day out on the first day found that the room had not been serviced. Checking this out with Dave (the owner) he advised that this was normal practice - I challenged this saying we had stayed in many B&B's in the US and this was the first time we had experienced this. He was adamant that this was the usual policy. I cannot believe this and feel that he was just trying it on as his wife had gone away for a few days and he just couldn't be bothered. I can understand towels not being changed but for the waste bins not to be empied this is just not acceptable at the room rate being charged. All in all, a disappointing stay in a lovely area.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rekrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have stayed at various b&b's in Asheville in the past and enjoyed them all. This time, however, we decided to stay in Black Mountain. Black Mountain is a quaint city 16 miles west of Asheville and offers a quiet, beautiful mountain experience without all the busyness of Asheville. Our experience at Arbor House was delightful!! The setting is fantastic and overlooks Lake Tomahawk with the mountains in the background. We stayed in Lookout which is spacious and has a little balcony where coffee in the morn or a glass of wine in the evening can be enjoyed in a peaceful setting overlooking the lake. The hosts are very welcoming and not intrusive. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This was the most peaceful, relaxing place I have ever stayed at. The rooms are clean and beautiful, the views are breathtaking, and the people are SO kind! This place is just so warm and inviting, I wish I could live there!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

The Arbor House was everything we had hoped for when we decided to celebrate our anniversary. The scenery was amazing, from the beautiful gardens right outside to the scenic lake beyond the deck and the mountains stretching into the distance. Carolyn was such a gracious host offering a sumptuous breakfast each morning and going out of her way to make us feel at home. Each room is beautifully decorated, spaciously furnished and is adjoined by a large well appointed bath. We could not have hoped for anything better than this truly lovely B&B. KR

Room Tip: Greybeard has beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
17.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
12.7 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
11.7 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#31 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbor House of Black Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor House of Black Mountain

Property: Arbor House of Black Mountain
Address: 207 Rhododendron Ave, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Black Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arbor House of Black Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be amazed at the beauty at Arbor House of Black Mountain Bed and Breakfast; our craftsman transitional style home. Enjoy impressive views of the Blue Ridge from our back deck and the convenience of being a short stroll from town. Seasonal gardens and a half mile walk along Lake Tomahawk borders outside our door. Prepared to be pampered by Innkeepers, Jim and Theresa who want to make you happy during your stay. Arbor House in North Carolina offers four uniquely decorated bedrooms for you to choose the one to fit your needs. The spacious rooms are named for the area mountains that surround the B&B. Feel the fresh Blue Ridge Mountain breezes that flow freely into each guest room through the large windows. Whether you choose a room with king, queen, or twin beds for that romantic weekend or getaway retreat to NC each includes plush, deep mattresses for you to enjoy a great night's sleep. When you awake, slip into provided soft robes. Each room is decorated in a unique style, featuring an eclectic collection of art, boxes, and pottery. Three rooms have European style armoires and the fourth has built-in cabinetry. All are equipped with TVs and DVDs and guests are invited to choose a movie from our collection for their entertainment. Consider the luxury travel accommodations at Arbor House of Black Mountain, NC, for your North Carolina vacation. The rebuild of this 20th century home was designed by Thomas Lawton Architect. During your stay at Arbor House, you are invited to sit by the fire in the living room with its comfortable large sofa and overstuffed chairs and enjoy a good book from our extensive collection. Spread out your maps and brochures and plan your day at the large game/reading table. There are also DVD's and games for your entertainment. A few steps down the hall, you enter the dining area with its wood-burning, stone fireplace. Here you can enjoy a full, cooked breakfast with each day's menu featuring an entree such as stuffed French toast, Belgian waffles, or muffins with delicious omelets. For the convenience of our guests, a double-butler pantry is complete with a selection of teas. After breakfast, you can start your activities for the day or simply relax and enjoy the gardens of Arbor House with its stone walls and arbor. Walk Sit at the wicker setae on the Verandah, rock gently in the swing on the lawn, or take in the beautiful views from the back deck. You'll be surrounded by gardens of azaleas, rhododendrons and dogwoods in the spring or large shady oaks and roses in the summer and fall. Don't forget the binoculars since nature provides an assortment of songbirds and waterfowl around the lake. The mini-fridge is stocked with water and sodas and after your day's activities relax on the deck or around the table with freshly baked snacks or sweets from the kitchen. We serve coffee, tea, juice, season fruit dishes, breakfast pastries, meats, and a variety of creative entrees. We can cater to dietary needs and cook for our gluten-free, vegetarian, and vegan guests. After breakfast hours, a complimentary- self-service stocked butler's pantry is provided along with an afternoon sweet or snack. Samples of entrees served are; Shrimp & Grits Sweet Potato Kale Hash Belgian Waffles -regular or gluten free Pancakes - Oat or gluten free Stuffed French toast with fruit Vegetable Tarts and Frittatas Various Strata Baked or scrambled eggs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Arbor House of Black Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing