We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only rustic but cold”
Review of Cabin Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Black Mountain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabin Creek Lodge
Reviewed 28 December 2013

While we were expecting our cabin to be rustic, we were not prepared for it to be cold and drafty. Perhaps a summertime stay would be Ok but spending Christmas wrapped up in our coats to ward off the chill left us disappointed.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Cabin Creek Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We recently spent a night at Cabin Creek Lodge and found it to be exactly what we were looking for. The cabin was simple, serene and comfortable. Because we had our dog with us, we couldn't stay in one of the cabins right by the mountain stream, but there is a screened gazebo there where we had a casual dinner and listened to the water. Anyone looking for an old- fashioned-feeling cabin that is also clean and tastefully furnished will like it here.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank beaufOrt_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in one of the cabins along the creek while attending a conference at Montreat. Montreat is five minutes away and accommodations here are more inviting and peaceful, although we had little time to enjoy due to time constraints. We were able to cook breakfast and have lunch in the cabins and went out for supper. The cabins are not modern, did seem to be clean and had two bedrooms, living room, kitchen and bath. They were fully furnished except for food you might want. If you are looking for modern motel type accommodations, this is probably not for you. If you like to drive up to your front door, be peaceful, have your own space and like to relax with the creek beside you at night, this will be fine.

Room Tip: There are four cabins along the creek and a couple of cabins and the lodge away from the creek. Choo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed here for a weekend...way over priced ...moldy smelling...low door ways( hit my head)...shower was great and nice to hear the creek...couches were uncomfortable...dark inside...grounds were well kept but tacky...inn keeper waas absolutely lovely- best thing about the place...nice little kitchen...great location...dogs barked much of night from neighbors across creek.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I've stayed at this property twice and I am always happy. I first stayed here in July 2010. We stayed in the Lodge because we had multiple family members. It was wonderful. Just be aware that the main office is in the same building so you do hear some noise (but not much) from that area. We were not bothered, but we are not fussy people at all.

Carol (manager) and Steve (night manager) work very hard to keep the property looking good, adding new features every year. They are always around and available to answer any questions or help with anything. They are warm & cheerful and clearly care about the happiness of their guests.

One unique thing about this property is that although there are multiple cabins that all face the same direction, you never feel crowded. It really feels private and woodsy. The cabins are just as described - rustic! But their charm can not be matched. I loved staying in Pine Lodge in 2011. We could hear the babbling water of the creek passing by the back of the cabin - so relaxing!

I also stayed in Moose Lodge by myself for three days before my whole family arrived in 2011. It was wonderful having the quiet time to just sit and read. This year, we're staying in the lodge again as there will be a big crowd of us again. We're looking forward to trying out the new

Room Tip: The key to booking the right space is to tell Carol exactly what you need. How many beds? How much s...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaptainJack58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed in one of the cabins for a long weekend. The setting is advertised as rustic, but we found the accomodations to be shabby, and poorly maintained. The towels smelled moldy, the bed linens were ancient and the pillows smelled like they hadn't been washed in years. The curtains in the "master" bedroom did not completely cover the sliding glass door. The screen did not slide properly and the bottom of the screen was torn out. The microwave did not properly heat a frozen dinner and the TV was absolutely micoscopic - 12 inch screen. The cheap plastic shower curtain was obviously cut from a larger shower curtain. The grounds were a mess - untended flower gardens, leaves everywhere, plastic chairs that were chipped and broken. The owners were nice (when you could find them) but they really need to upgrade a bit and pay attention to the details, especially for over $135.00 a night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My husband, sister and I stayed in a two bedroom near the creek to attend a wedding in Swanannoa. These are rustic cabins that are pleasant and clean. We could hear the water rippling by. Nice areas outside also for reading, grilling, etc. The host and owner are very friendly and helpful and know a lot about the area. The location is great. We enjoyed our stay and plan to go stay with them again.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Pine Lodge" next to the creek and it is one of the more private cabins.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
547 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
2.0 mi away
Black Mountain Inn
Black Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Black Mountain
66 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Hotel
#4 of 8 in Black Mountain
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabin Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabin Creek Lodge

Address: 1130 Montreat Rd, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3232
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Black Mountain
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing