We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel was one of the highlights of our trip. We stopped because the property was unique and well-maintained with lovely landscaping. Once we met the charming owner, we knew we had found our home for the night. Our room was very small and nicely decorated, full of character - wood walls, a queen bed, two chairs, and an armoire. Our friendly and thoughtful hostess was full of great tips for dining, and suggested several local places to check out. There was also a binder in the room with some history of the town, suggestions for entertainment and dining, and a map. The small downtown was within walking distance, and once we finished exploring it was wonderful to come back to a cozy room that felt like home. Needless to say, we slept very soundly and comfortably, and will definitely return if find ourselves anywhere near Blowing Rock in the future.

Room Tip: The little room on the end closest to the cabins has two rocking chairs and a small table on the por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    74
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
108
249
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Mountainaire Inn is just that......a wonderful spot for a mountain getaway! It is a very comfortable motel, with 50's charm, and many upgrades. The hosts are most hospitable, and take great care of their guests needs, Deborah even assisted with the mopping of rain water which flooded my open car !! The property and gardens are charming, and it is a wonderful stroll to the center of Blowing Rock, where restaurants abound. A perfect getaway!

Room Tip: Room 2 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We can accross this motel by accident and were immediately drawn in by the beautiful gardens. It set the tone for the rest of our stay. The owner could not have been nicer and we immediatley felt like family. The rooms are perfect! (keep in mind this is a 1950s motel and that's the way they built them) With such lovely touches as benches, rocking chairs, fire pit and beuatiful plantings - who wants to spend time in the room anyway. One of the best touhes is the information book in the room. Tells you everything you need to know about the town, the area and the attractions. Read it! The location is also perfect, just around the corner from the commercial street. You basically get to walk all the way thru town and right back again to the motel. I cant wait to go back again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

The room was very cozy, clean and the bed was super comfortable. We remarked several times on Sunday morning that it was the best night of rest we've had in a long time. The Inn is in a perfect location to walk & explore town & an easy walk back. We will be back sometime soon, especially once Winter arrives. When we do, we'll probably look into renting a cabin as well since we love roaring fires when it's cold outside - although we'd also be perfectly content with staying in a room again as well. Deb and her husband were both really nice and we both appreciate and thank them for their hospitality. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fisherman1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Mountainaire Inn is literally just a few steps from downtown. Park your car, walk to dinner, get ice cream from Kilwin's, and go sit in the park and enjoy the evening. Back at the Mountainaire, there's a firepit going. Debbie, the owner, provides wine glasses -- bring your own wine. Rooms are small but clean, beds are comfortable, and the service is cheerful. Always my first choice in Blowing Rock but reserve ahead of time -- it's a small place, and gets booked up.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and enjoyed out time there. Room was rustic, small, but nice and clean. The location was quiet and comfortable, and we enjoyed relaxing in the courtyard with the outdoor fire. Bed was a little uncomfortable, but we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogger21348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kununurra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Entering the blue ridge parkway just south of sparta we were coming in blind with one night to stay over on the park way. We calln The High Country and ask them to recommend a two bedroom cabin on route in the forrest where we can feel a bit alone. They recommended the mountainaire inn and cabin which we booked. The cabin was lovely however the location was not at all what we asked for. it is in a built up area with immediat, ten metre, views of traffic and several other buildings. There are many lovely isolated cabins in the forrest in the immediate vicinity, this is not one of them.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoatBreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.1 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins

Property: Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins
Address: 827 Main St, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-8331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Mountainaire Inn & Log Cabins. We pride ourselves on our hospitality, with eleven delightful rooms, and thirteen cozy, inviting log cabins, accompanied by our well maintained gardens and landscaping. We are a charming boutique hotel unique among Blowing Rock's lodging accommodations, offering convenience to downtown Blowing Rock, nearby shopping, exceptional dining, and the arts. We are a short driving distance to all of the diverse outdoor activities the high country provides. Also, for all Appalachian State parents, alumni and visitors, Boone is only a short eight miles down the road for all to enjoy its diverse culture and activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountainaire Inn And Log Cabins Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing