We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Meadowbrook Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$299
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boxwood Lodge(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliff Dwellers Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green Park Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$103
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westglow Resort & Spa(Blowing Rock)
US$294
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveller rating
501
98
14
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
501
98
14
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitromance cabinmorning glorybear cub cabinriver cabinwine glassesshops and restaurantsgreat cabinwithin walking distanceowners and stafffront porchgreat place to stayget awayhome away from homeking roommain streetdowntown blowing rock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
549 - 554 of 616 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night in March. They were very accommodating to us since they only had a room with two double beds left. The staff are very helpful with local recommendations for dining. The room was very clean and had a nice flat screen tv with DVD player. They have DVDs and games to check out in the office. You can easily walk to downtown Blowing Rock.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iluvnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Cabin # 5 marketed as the Signature Romance Cabin is very clean, and the custodial staff delivers fresh towels every day. They also bring a small bundle of firewood each morning as they tidy the cabin and open the blinds. The cabin is aesthetically charming, and the front porch is pleasant. The living room / kitchen area looks cozy with the exception of the Jacuzzi. The Jacuzzi seems awkwardly appointed in the space sharing the TV and the fireplace. The furniture is not very comfortable ( cushions in the sofa are not dense, so the back support is lacking). The dinette chairs are in need of repair (glue is needed in the joints).
As we prepared for the once in a lifetime trip to the mountains of NC, we noted that there was a coffee maker on the kitchen cabinet. So we packed our own coffee and creamer. However, we were pleasantly surprised that coffee, sugar, and creamer are stocked in the kitchen cabinets. Cups, glasses, plates, flatware, along with some cooking utensils are also provided for the couple who wishes to eat in the cabin. There is a studio- size stove and a microwave. We did use the kitchen to increase the value of our stay there. Paper towels are provided in the kitchen, and toilet paper is provided in the bathroom, along with soap and shampoo.
Ice is provided in a small room adjacent to the lobby. Canned carbonated beverages and bottles of water are also available from the lobby for 50 cents each. When we checked in, we were cautioned about the small chimney in the cabin and the possibility of a "smoky mess." When we entered the cabin, we could see evidence on the face of the hearth of a former guest's errors in using the fireplace. But we did not have any problems starting and maintaining a pleasant fire.
Since we stayed in the cabin for many of our meals, we could have used much more wood than the daily allotment included, but the guidance from admin states that all wood must come from them. We did enjoy the fireplace, as that feature was one of our "must have's" for our 25th anniversary.
We enjoyed our retreat in Blowing Rock. The village-like town is friendly, and the pace is restful. We knew that the cost of the Mountainaire accomodations were much more than we had budgeted, but we wanted a cabin, and most of the reviewers claim that the experience charmed them into a dream of returning. So we agreed to the off peak rates of $185 for weekday and $235 for weekend days. The 12.85 taxes added could have paid for one night in an average hotel. The time spent away was good, but next time we hope to find more economical accomodations, so we can experience dining in a few of the local restaurants.

Room Tip: We did not see the interior of the other cabins. Ask about having a larger firewood allowance.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lydia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a very clean and cozy establishment. The staff were extremely friendly the entire stay. The location is great! Slopes are close by. Eating and shopping all in walking distance. Highly recommend.
We will go back!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlee4chase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The cabin was fabulous! Very charming. Went skiing for the first time with my family of 4. My kids (17,&18 yrs) loved it! The people were so friendly, and gracious. Would recommend the Mountainaire Inn 1,000 percent! Can't wait to come back! Thank you much, the Mangiafreno family:))

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Staying at the Mountainaire Inn was very delightful. The owners and manager treated us like family. Very cozy place to stay. The location is perfect for walking to town to shop and have dinner. Only minutes away from a ski resort. Bass Lake is only a short ride away beautiful landscape, ducks, walking trails, etc

Room Tip: Hopefully next time we will plan to stay in the two bedroom Cabin with our entire family.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkalava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews